We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great mountain with something for everyone” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hemsedal Ski Centre

Hemsedal Ski Centre
Skiheisvegen 1, Hemsedal 3560, Norway
815 56 300/320 55 300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 12 Attractions in Hemsedal
Type: Ski/ Snowboard Areas, Sports
Attraction details
NYC Metro
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great mountain with something for everyone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Spent a weekend in mid April at Hemsedal and was treated to the best riding of my life. Woke up to a foot of fresh powder one morning and a beautful day with no clouds and perfect temps the next day.

Loved the variety of terrain and the incredible amount of freedom you have to go where you want.
The t bar and disc pulls are something I have never used in the US, but after a few tries I was comfortable using them,

We rented a slope side cabin and paid a lot less for lift tix and lodging than we would have at any place in the states. It is a bit difficult to get to, but if you are in Norway it's a great place to ski/ride. The after ski was also a major highlight....nothing like dancing on tables after a long day on the slopes.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    11
    1
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavik, Iceland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Perfect family vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I went with my family the weekend before easter. It is a 4 hour drive from Bergen and the scenery on the way was beautiful. We rent a cabin 5 minutes from the skiing area so during lunch we could go home to eat and relax and then back out again. The opening hours are from 9-16.30. The slopes were wide and enough space for every one. The kids really much liked all the small parks with lots of hills and swaying between trees. Tip: They rent out helmets for free.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Not your run-of-the-mill ski holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Hemsedal will appeal to a specialist taste and a big wallet. First, it is not easy to get to, four hours on the bus or five hours on two trains from Oslo Airport to Gol, second it reflects Norway's high price culture and third it can be very, very cold. That said the ski-ing was excellent for an intermediate - wide slopes, not too steep, and a fair choice for a few days and no queues. The season runs for almost six months and it offers snow guarantees - this is because the slopes are mainly North facing and it can get unpleasantly cold. There are added extras for children - bumps loops and jumps. The local website (www.hemsedal.com) is informative and the tourist office has details of taxi-buses to Gol. Most visitors drive there, many from Denmark.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greve
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Norwegian ski resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We have visited Hemsedal twice - it's a very good skiing area. I do not ski anymore, but in Hemsedal this is not a problem, there is this beautiful path leading to Hemsedal along the river. Last year we brought along our grown up children and grand children. We had a large house with room for everyone. The skiing area for young children in Hemsedal is just perfect - a covered "band" pulls up the children, there is a little house, in which you can go, if it gets to cold, to see a movie or just to play, there are a lot of activities, too.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great skiresort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We visited Hemsedal January 25. - 27. We had a great time! Perfect skiing. A bit cold :-) Good variation of slopes.

Afterski at 'Skistua' was terrific :-) with live music.
The food at 'Skistua' was good and so was the beer.. Very service minded staff.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hemsedal Ski Centre also viewed

Eastern Norway, Norway
Hemsedal, Hemsedal Municipality
 
Hemsedal, Hemsedal Municipality
Hemsedal, Hemsedal Municipality
 

Been to Hemsedal Ski Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hemsedal Ski Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.