We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Langass Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in North Uist
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Langass Lodge
Save
You added Langass Lodge to your Saves list
Locheport, HS6 5HA, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in North Uist
Missoula, MT
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Magnificent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We were extremely please with our stay and the great food at the langass lodge. It would appear to be the best place on North Uist. A great hiking trail nearby, large rooms, very clean and charming staff. The pub and restaurant are the best. Wonderful.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    52
    20
    9
    9
See reviews for
26
141
7
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
gosport
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

All the meals we had were excellent.Breakfast scrambled egg was the best I ever had.Evening meals in the restaurant were expensive but well worth it.It was just a shame our room was room 6 over the kitchen which made it a little noisy and smelling of cooking.We nicknamed it Harry Potters cupboard as it was rather cramped and small made to feel smaller by the dark wood walls.Would gladly stay again for the quality of the food but not in this room.

Room Tip: Rooms in the annex much the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I have eaten here 3 times this summer and every time it has been wonderful.. I first ate in a family party, secondly in a group of 4 ladies and thirdly with a female friend who was visiting. The choice, quality and presentation of the food is superb. The choice of wines - tho' not cheap - is extremely good and staff are just the best. Every one polite, courteous and accommodating. It suited everyone in every party I was with and is up there with Restaurants around the world for its' offering... do not hesitate to book... the restaurant is nicely decorated in a calming blue and a view of the garden just sets the whole ambience of the place off. You can also eat in the conservatory and it is very nice too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spennymoor, County Durham
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

After a very wet and windy ride up the Uists on our motorcycle we turned up at the Langass Lodge cold, wet, wind-swept and miserable. The lady of the Lodge made us very welcome, took us to our lovely room overlooking the loch and then offered to take all of our wet bike gear and put it in their drying room. Woohoo, no climbing into clammy bike gear the next morning!We climbed into our huge bath and soon felt human again, then put on the the snuggly Egyptian cotton dressing gowns and slippers provided for our use, before sitting on our comfy bed with shortbread and coffee watching the wind and rain we'd just escaped from.When we went down for dinner all of the staff were chatty, relaxed and very pleasant. We made our choices and enjoyed the lovely ambience before being shown to our table in the restaurant.Wow, what a meal! Everything about it was superb , the bread, the starters, the main courses, the wine, the dessert, the cheese, the coffee and the service! How can somebody make food taste that good and make a dining experience so engaging?We had a lovely night's sleep and awoke refreshed and ready for breakfast, which was spot-on too.If you're on the Uists, we highly recommend staying or eating at the Langass Lodge.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Fife, Scotland
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Found this to be a very comfortable hotel. Room had a terrific view and had an unusual layout. Nice and light as we were staying in the modern Annexe which had large windows. Privacy a bit of an issue as room also overlooked a kiddie's play area. Staff were very friendly.
Food - dinner and breakfast - was excellent. We had dinner in the bar which is slightly cheaper than in the dining room but with much the same menu I think. Just be aware that the bar can be noisy compared to the dining room.

Room Tip: Suspect all rooms have good views - maybe ask not to overlook play area if privacy matters to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights this month. It was our first time on Uist. We ate in the hotel both nights, once in the bar and once in the restaurant. The food both nights was excellent. Amanda ( the owner?) was fantastic. She gave us really good advice about what we could do while on Uist. Her advice was great. Our room was nice, the staff were good, ( but not quite as good as Amanda-sorry) the facilities were nice, and after we'd followed the advice given we thought Uist was amazing.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Very nice dinner but the illustrated example would have been better !!
When booking we were advised that this was essential a fish/seafood restaurant and only a token meat dish was available. Imagine our surprise to find 3 meat dishes and only about 2 fish dishes available ???!!!!
Having said that everything was cooked to order and was very pleasant !

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Langass Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langass Lodge

Address: Locheport, HS6 5HA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > North Uist
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in North Uist
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Langass Hotel North Uist
Langass Lodge North Uist, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Langass Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.