We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hamersay House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in North Uist
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hamersay House
Save
You added Hamersay House to your Saves list
Lochmaddy, HS6 5AE, Scotland (Formerly Tigh Dearg Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in North Uist
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Guildford
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

This was our first trip to Uist and we booked Hamersay House after first being recommended to the Langass Lodge and being disappointed because Langass was fully booked for the nights we wanted. Hamersay was until recently the Tigh Dearg and painted Cherry Red. I mention this because the old name is listed in the current editions of several guides and the hotel is now painted a strong blue! We agree with other reviewers that this is a friendly place. We enjoyed two very good breakfasts. Our room was very well appointed with chairs for relaxation and plenty of electrical sockets. The bathroom let the room down a bit and could benefit from some pointing work round the bath. We also noticed a bit of noise from other floors and corridors although this did not worry us.

Room Tip: Noise from other floors and corridors could be a problem so ask about soundproofing if you are a lig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    55
    20
    11
    1
See reviews for
17
103
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

The accommodation had EVERYTHING this Tripadvisor reviewer wants . In fact I want the Hamersay to be everywhere I go – it was that good ! The room was really spacious with everything you need – plenty of laying out space, hanging space and a large and roomy bathroom and shower . Power points in abundance, bedroom chairs, a place for your suitcase and a gigantic comfortable bed.
Yes I was a happy person when I saw this accommodation and the standard and quality. The rest of the place is equally as good – this is without doubt the single best review I have ever given as a senior Tripadvisor reviewer. We dined in the restaurant and enjoyed a lovely meal served by a great cohesive team of 3 waitresses . Our pre-dinner drinks, menu selection and ordering was taken by Emma(!) who was bright, cheery and happy !
I cannot rate this high enough – in my opinion I thought it brilliant – I am serious when I say everywhere should aspire to this level !

Room Tip: The BEST place in the whole geographical are of The Islands
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

My husband and I stayed here on the night of our wedding. We were able to check in prior to going to Lochmaddy Hotel for our Wedding reception. Room was ok, went down for breakfast in the morning. Considering that this Hotel is owned by the same people as Langass Lodge I assumed it would have the same quality of food and service. How wrong I was... there was one waitress to serve probably around 18 people. I noticed that one woman complained about her food, we soon realised why...After waiting around 15minutes for our food it arrived. To say we were shocked is an understatement.... why on earth give customers half a slice of haggis?? The scrambled eggs looked like they'd been cooked in oil and had burnt bits through them. The black pudding was so dry it was falling apart. The only plus side was the bacon was burnt which is how we like it!! If only we'd been able to stay at Lochmaddy Hotel at least we would have got value for money in relation to the food!!! Hamersay you need to provide better breakfast for the amount of money people are paying per night.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Stayed here one night prior to catching the ferry. The welcome from the staff on arrival and then during our entire stay was very friendly. The hotel is a short distance from the rest of the village but it is a pleasant walk down to the harbour either before or after dinner.
The room was comfortable and well furnished and with a nice view. The only negative point was that the soundproofing is not that good and people in other rooms and the corridor can be clearly heard.
The menu at dinner had a seafood bias that suited us really well. However we did over hear the staff offering dinners other options that were not on the main menu and felt this was extremely accommodating.
The cod starter along with mains of Plaice and Sole were very nicely cooked and presented and thoroughly enjoyed.
Breakfast the next day had a really nice buffet selection and apart from the normal cooked had again more fish (brilliant). Overall a very nice stay and would definitely stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

The restaurant serves non-resident customers.

Our welcome was warm and appropriate and service good. The meal was very well cooked and presented and over the three courses well balanced. The menu is strong on local produce and the fish dishes are particularly successful.

Desserts are a bit predictable but can provide an attractive way of completing the meal.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

We had escaped from our booked accomodation, arriving at the reception desk at 7:30pm. We received a warm welcome, a choice of rooms and were pleased to find a range of local bottled beers, all of which were hauled out for perusal. Good supper, very good breakfast, charming and helpful staff- thank you all for a very enjoyable visit

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Booked 2 nights, by phone for 20-21st May. Upon arrival found our restaurant booking was there, our deposit had been taken, but rooms had not been booked, and the hotel was full. What should have been special ended with 2 nights in a B &B miles from anywhere. This is not the first report of such mix ups. Given a free meal as an attempt at compensation, where the waitress tried hard but offered a wine list without any content, and having requested the desert menu had to repeat the request after 15 minutes because she was more intent on chatting to another couple. The food was good.
Overall disorganised, poorly trained and a huge disappointment.

Room Tip: If only we had experienced a room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hamersay House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamersay House

Address: Lochmaddy, HS6 5AE, Scotland (Formerly Tigh Dearg Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > North Uist
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in North Uist
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Lochmaddy Bay, this new stylish hotel offers 8 designer bedrooms, a contemporary restaurant and comfy lounge bar. Enjoy the finest local seafood, game and beef while sitting outside on our decked areas admiring our landscaped gardens and panoramic views. The hotel also offers a Leisure Club which includes a fully equipped Gym, Steam Room and Sauna for ultimate relaxation. The hotel is non-smoking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Tigh Dearg
Hamersay House North Uist, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hamersay House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.