We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good price and lovely location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Uist Outdoor Centre Hostel

Uist Outdoor Centre Hostel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North Uist
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Uist Outdoor Centre Hostel
Save
You added Uist Outdoor Centre Hostel to your Saves list
Lochmaddy, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Kendal, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“good price and lovely location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

would stay again, however a little (lot) dirty. Kitchen was well equipped but not clean and tidy. Rooms were great though a hoover would be nice, showers etc very good but again, need a clean. staff lovely. needs a good tidy outside but all in all good and would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    6
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
3
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Stayed here with girlfriend for one night during summer in a dorm room. We had access to a shared bathrooms (one for each sex).

Rooms were comfortable and warm, not the most spacious but quite perfunctory.
The hostel has a very nice common area with lots of comfy sofas and a large dining table. Great big kitchen available for use too, all expected utensils plates cutlery you might need.
As an outdoor hostel it also has a drying room, very useful.
Owner was friendly and welcoming.

Just a tiny walk from the town/village centre and ferry terminal. There’s a shop in the town/village selling basic supplied.

Room Tip: Further down the corridor away from the common room may be less busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

Currently staying here as part of an educational visit to the Outer Hebrides.

The hostel is in a very quiet location, and is run by 2 very nice people.
We are in a medium size group (around 20) people of both sexes and have struggled for room space - one occupant is having to sleep on the sofa-bed as a result. The rooms are designed as mixed sex rooms, although with a young group like ourselves we keep in separate rooms.

The rooms are small, and have 2 bunk beds in each. The matresses on the beds are like mats and are pretty uncomfortable. The bedding though seems clean. The rooms are painted bright yellow, which may put some people off sleeping, but its not really too much of a concern.

Despite this, the bathrooms seemed clean on arrival, and it was lovely to finally find a hostel that has clean washing facilities. However, the shower curtains don't fit the cubicle so well, so water does end up on the floor. The ladies have 2 toilets and 2 showers.

There is a well equipped kitchen with enough appliances and utensils/crockery ect to meet everyone's needs, there is also a large dining and living area too. The kitchen was clean on arrival with complementary cake. The fridge-space however was limited for a group like ourselves, with only one fridge-freezer between 20 of us.

Other notable things include: no mobile phone signal is available in or around the building BUT there is free wifi on request for the password, so anyone who is travelling with a smartphone or laptop can easily access and communicate with the outside world again.

Probably wouldn't stay here out of choice in the future (pre-booked by university this time around) but is not bad for those who are travelling around the Western Isles for a night or two.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

I have stayed at the hostel a few times now over the past 4 years. I always go off season so the hostel is usually very quiet. It also doubles up as the North Uist Outdoor Centre who run canoeing/kayaking courses etc. there is parking for about 6 cars

The hostel is a 10 minute walk from the ferry terminal at Lochmaddy. There are 5 bedrooms each with 2 bunk beds. the rooms are a little tight especially i would imagine with 4 people in each room. As far as i can make out if the hostel is busy some of the rooms may be used by both sexes, which may not be suitable for all.

My main complaint with the hostel is the matresses in the bedrooms. They must have first seen the light of day in world war 2 and of the 20 matresses about 18 of them are worse than dreadful, no support whatsoever

there is a large kitchen with 2 cookers as well as an electric hob and 1 fridge freezer. Now if the hostel was filled to capacity there would be insufficient space i would imagine to store items in the fridge

The large communal space and dining area is OK if a little dated, some of the sofas are in poor condition. there are books and games available as well as a CD radio

There is a lovely view across the water where you may be lucky to see an otter (which I have not yet see) or some red deer which I have seen from the window

Cost is great value at £12 per night or if you need to hire bedding, quilts etc it is £14. When I was there a member of staff was also there staying painting the place so it should be nice and fresh

I go off season, March or October and have been lucky to have the place to myself on occasions, so I enjoy the space and the quiet. In high season with the canoeing courses running etc I would imagine that it could be a bit of a squeeze

The Outdoor centre can organise trips for you to St Kilda and the Monarch Isles and in all dealings I have had with them they have been excellent. very friendly and very quick to reply to phone calls or emails

If it were not for the dreadful matresses this could be a really fantastic hostel

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Uist Outdoor Centre Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uist Outdoor Centre Hostel

Address: Lochmaddy, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > North Uist
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Specialty Lodging in North Uist
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Uist Outdoor Centre Hostel North Uist, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Uist Outdoor Centre Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.