We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Rowan Tree

The Rowan Tree
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North Uist
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Rowan Tree
Save
You added The Rowan Tree to your Saves list
4b Middlequarter | Sollas, HS6 5BU, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 15 North Uist B&B and Inns
glasgow
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed here on a cycle tour of the Outer Hebrides. Everything you could ask for - welcoming, comfortable with a wonderful evening meal. Stunning views from my window where I could also see the chickens providing my breakfast. The only thing Linda could not organise was the weather! I stayed mainly in hotels on my trip and this classy B&B was far superior to all of them. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: A trip to the local co-op about half a mile away will let you buy wine to go with your evening meal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
32
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Prestwick, Scotland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights inThe RowanTree and had a great time. We were made to feel very welcome by Linda. Rooms were both of good size & ensuite. However, the twin room has amazing view over to the nearby beach. The advantage of this guest house is they offer dinner. Thoroughly recommend it - 2 courses for £14 incl tea & coffee. The food was of very high quality and home made. Linda does let you know what the dinner will be so gives you a opportunity to say if you do not like it etc. Breakfast is also of very high quality & lots of choice to suit everyone's taste.

We would recommend this b&b to anyone who is travelling to the Uists & would definitely visit again.

Room Tip: The twinroom is the bigger of the rooms on the 1st floor with a fab view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales UK
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

A pleasant B+B with a friendly host who makes you feel most welcome.

Restaurants and eateries are few and far between on the island. We, therefore also booked an evening meal at the Rowan Tree. No choice offered ....it was Spagbol or starve with banoffie pie to follow.

I thought that the evening meal was a bit on the pricy side for what it was. There was nowhere else to have a meal. We could not be very choosy. They have a captive audience when it comes to Evening Meals

We had bedroom 2 which was spotlessly clean. It has good en suite facilities but no bath

Bedroom 2 was quite small but held the World Record for the number of draws. There were twenty draws in all. I did not have that amount of luggage with me. Come to think about it I don't have that many clothes at home.

Breakfast was well cooked and well presented. The breakfast was too much for me

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights during our trip through the Hebrides, and were made to feel very welcome, Our room was comfortable and clean, containing everything we required. The breakfasts supplied were excellent and the coffee machine a real wonder of the world. We took advantage of an evening meal one night and were pleased with it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We arrived at 8pm Sunday evening on our first visit to the Western Isles and Linda welcomed us in and provided us with an excellent meal. We only realised later how exceptional this was since almost everything is shut on a Sunday on the isles. We stayed three nights and found the ensuite bedroom comfortable, quiet and very well equipped. The location near to Lochmaddy is convenient being the ferry port and only town on North Uist. RSPB Balranald reserve is 20 minutes drive away and well worth a visit. The dining room, for breakfast and evening meal, looks out to the sea past the chickens that provide eggs for breakfast. We had a second evening meal which was also excellent and the owners are quite happy for you to bring wine to drink with the meal. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We stayed at The Rowan Tree twice in the autumn going to and fro from Barra and we couldn't have been more pleased . Our hosts couldn't have been more helpful, we had very restful nights and the food was great. We would particularly recommend the evening meals which are beautifully cooked and very reasonably priced beyond the fact that it's a long days march to the nearest restaurant ! You're not far from lovely beaches and the peace is well worth experiencing.
We wouldn't think of staying anywhere else on Uist.

Room Tip: They're all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

What a delightful B&B with very helpful hosts, Linda and Alistair the chef. The room was spacious as was the bathroom, bed was more than comfortable, and the view out towards the water was spectacular.
We had requested evening meal here, knowing we would arrive very late: it was an excellent smoked haddock fish pie which had been prepared by Alistair. Breakfasts were also very satisfying.

Room Tip: The room with the king size bed faces the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Rowan Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rowan Tree

Address: 4b Middlequarter | Sollas, HS6 5BU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > North Uist
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in North Uist
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Rowan Tree North Uist, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rowan Tree, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.