We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Choice in Lochmaddy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Redburn House

Redburn House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North Uist
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Redburn House
Lochmaddy, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 15 North Uist B&B and Inns
Bozeman, Montana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A Good Choice in Lochmaddy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

Don't be fooled by the exterior. It rather looks like a hostel from the street, but it isn't. Our room, in the back and just off the kitchen was spotless and tastefully appointed. The owner (she doesn't live in the house) arranges a cold breakfast on plate and you get to help yourself in the mornings - nice actually, as we don't always like the B&B drill of being downstairs in time for the hot breakfast.

If I had to complain, I might suggest new matterasses. It isn't dirt cheap either, but it is nice. I would stay there again

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    5
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
2
6
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010 via mobile

Great room and lovely owner. We made our own breakfast in the morning which was provided, but we thought this made it more like a hostel so therefore rather expensive.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

As a company, we use Redburn house weekly in the winter and fortnightly in the spring/summer months.Each and every visit, the rooms are spotless, warm and comfortable and the continental breakfasts are just spot on. Opportunity to fill the flasks with hot water for the awaiting days' work, sandwiches made from the cold meat selection, fresh fruit as required and we're off. If only more establishments took a leaf out of Donna's(housekeeper) book, what happy chappies we all would be! marks out of 5, i would give this guest house ...6. This review is genuine and unsolicited. I would recommend this house to one and all. Staff of Hebridean Hygiene/Watercoolers. 01851 701414. Book now but leave out Tuesdays, thats when we need the rooms..just joking!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

We stayed in the annexed studio apartment, to the B&B actual. An amazing bespoke area with sunlounge/ dining area leading into a well equipped cozy front room with ample storage, amenities, lovely kitchen which came with complimentary bread, milk, tea n coffee etc, ideal for self catering and we cooked there every night. The local store is practically next door and there is a larger Co-op about 8 miles away which surprisingly is no more expensive than mainland shopping. The bathroom was an excellent modern and clean shower room, heated towel rails, separate WC, both with fluffy towels and toiletries. The dazzling feature was a mezzanine bedroom with a stairs leading from the living area to an amazing wooden roofed sleeping area with underlighters, bed, storage and a roof window. Really special and comfortable for a couple or two friends sharing. We cannot recommend this place highly enough. We did mention that the mattress had seen better days- despite the previous guests having written in the visitor book that everything was very confortable. This was excellent news to the care-taker who said she would get onto the owner straight away to replace it. Well, they never sleep in there do they? It's only right to let people know when something needs replaced or fixed. This is the only tiny negative we could find with this place [and this will presumably be fixed by now]. The caretaker Donna could not be more helpful and even accomodated our early arrival. A true reflection of this wonderful hamlet on a beautiful Outer Hebridean island. We loved, loved loved this place! The leaflets provided were really helpful in directing us to local attractions and restaurants and the green approach to recycling was a brilliant touch. Great prices but please, book well in advance as we were lucky to get the week we got.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Redburn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redburn House

Address: Lochmaddy, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > North Uist
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in North Uist
Also Known As:
Redburn House North Uist, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Redburn House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Redburn House to your Saves list