We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ivor & Chris's Hebridean Holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sgeir Ruadh

Sgeir Ruadh
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North Uist
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sgeir Ruadh
Save Saved
You added Sgeir Ruadh to your Saves list
Hougharry | HS6 5DL, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 15 North Uist B&B and Inns
Hexham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Ivor & Chris's Hebridean Holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

The location is excellent for visiting the nearby RSPB reserve. The Room was comfortable and the breakfast was good Scottish fare. Mrs Simpson runs a good B&B and is rather reserved in her manner but is very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    4
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
1
9
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Oosterhout, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

We stayed at Sgeir Ruadh for 4 nights in September 2011. The location is wonderful. The rooms are small and basic, but clean. We compensated for the lack of space by spending more time in the lounge, which has a lovely view. The food was good. Our only real complaint was that the matress wasn't very comfy. After complaining mrs Simpson swopped matress with another bedroom.
For three nights we were alone. On the fourth night there were other guests. I can't say that we heard much noise from them. I do suspect that if there is a noisy crowd there will be a noise problem as the walls did seem quite thin. I did notice that that style inner walls seems to be the Uist way of building homes.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton in Craven
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

Good stay, a little expensive given the facilities. Didn't find the owner very friendly and a little cold for a B&B owner.

I dont like flat pack furniture in a room.

No real complaints other than it could be better.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

We stayed at sgeir ruadh at the end of april for a couple of nights and loved it! The room was clean, fresh and comfortable with everything you need. The lounge has the most wonderful views, the breakfast was perfectly cooked and tasted great. The porridge was nice and creamy! Mrs Simpson was warm and welcoming and we will be back - great value for money.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

We stayed here for four nights and were made very welcome by the owner Kathy Simpson. The house is facing the bay and the RSPB Balranald Nature Reserve. We had a lovely stay with good breakfasts, and a nice lounge for guests where we could catch up with the TV news, read the various information on the local area and chat with the other guests.

Although we are not 'birders' we heard and saw our first Corncrake from the window of our room. Although she does not usually serve evening meals, her daughter was at home and cooked us a 3-course evening meal which we thought was good value and good home cooking.

The area is good for walking and the 'Machair' has a wealth of rare flowers and plenty of bird watching opportunities. We can recommend the RSPB warden walks wholeheartedly, although we hope you have better weather than we did!

The one slight issue (no more than that) is that the ensuite shower and WC were a bit cramped but everything you needed in the room was there.

Room Tip: They all seem similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stornoway, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

I stayed at Sgeir Ruadh recently, with some colleagues, and cannot recommend it enough.

Lovely rooms, a stunning location, and delicious breakfasts. The owners are also incredibly friendly and helpful.

I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2011

I have travelled to the Uists for many years with Sgeir Ruadh being our choice of places to stay. Mrs Simpson is extremely welcoming and helpful, making our stay very enjoyable. After reading the comment below I felt compelled to write and accurate account of Sgeir Ruadh,

Firstly- Rooms are always immaculate, fresh smelling, no dust, clean bed linen, something not found in every place I have stayed!
Breakfasts are made to order, we found our breakfast to be excellent, no request was too hard, all dietary requirements met.
Everytime we have stayed at Sgeir Ruadh, it has always been busy and Mrs Simpson does her best to interact with every guest, to make them feel welcomed and valued as a guest.

We will definitely be back this year, and for the foreseeable future as this feels like a home away from home, making our journeys to Uist complete,

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sgeir Ruadh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sgeir Ruadh

Address: Hougharry | HS6 5DL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > North Uist
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in North Uist
Also Known As:
Sgeir Ruadh North Uist, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sgeir Ruadh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.