We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jac & Peg Make This a Memorable Place to Visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bagh Alluin

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North Uist
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bagh Alluin
Save
You added Bagh Alluin to your Saves list
21 Baleshare, HS6 5HG, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 North Uist B&B and Inns
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Jac & Peg Make This a Memorable Place to Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

A great place to stay and the floor to ceiling windows in the spacious bedroom mean that you almost become part of the scenery - with beautiful sunsets as an additional FREE extra!
Jac who is an artist and from Holland (now an established "son" of North Uist) is keen that you enjoy your stay - breakfasts are excellent and he is very helpful with his knowledge of the area.
Peg also makes you most welcome and likes to be made a fuss of - a very well behaved collie!
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
76
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Bern, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

This place is absolutely fabulous and inspiring! Spacious, modern, bright and very clean rooms. A rich and tasty breakfast buffet. And above all, Jac, the most kind and helpful host. We will return for sure!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ullswater
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

On our recent walking trip to the Outer Hebrides we fortunately booked to stay at Bagh Alluin the home of Jac Volbeda. Jac a Dutch artist warmly welcomed us into his architect designed stylish home on his croft on the Island of Baleshare and he looked after us very well. The spacious, well lit, beautifully appointed accommodation with uninterrupted views over the croft towards the Atlanitic was extremely comfortable and we could certainly recommend a stay here. Jac is very knowledgeable on the area and in particular the wildlife.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Situated in a wonderful location with excellent hospitality and very helpful knowledge of the islands. Room was very comfortable with wonderful views of area and lambs grazing on my doorstep! spent my time doing wonderful walks around the islands and lochs. I have stayed in few better B+B's over the last 30 years - i will return to sample more of friendliness of this B+B and the islands

Room Tip: both rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I haven't quite got the words to describe this place....

Jac is a wonderful, fun, fascinating, generous host - and a fabulous artist. (I'm saving up to go back and buy a painting!!)

He is living the dream in Bagh Alluin - which he built himself with passion and perfection. It's gorgeously warm, ultra modern, light and roomy, spic and span - and set in a stunning location.

The island is overwhelmingly beautiful, the colours don't look real, there are endless nooks and crannies to discover and secret beaches that are as good as anything I've seen in the South Pacific - but with fewer people (and more otters!) One particular beach we were on was photographed by the Thai Tourist Board to promote Thailand!! And if you do happen to be lucky enough to meet any of the locals you'll find they are an incredibly friendly, welcoming lot!

If you go - be prepared - it's very hard to leave....and the whole experience could change your life forever! It has mine!

Be warned Jac. We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble, France
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Jac’s a wonderful host, full of insight on where to go, what to see; a good cook, including Stornaway Black Pudding for breakfast.

His place is unique, and the time spent in Bagh Alluin after days outside on the machair, beaches and hills is very restful and enjoyable. Balvenie, Ledaig and Chilean wine with local scallops take on a special flavor in these surroundings.

White-tailed eagles on top of Burrival, deer and stag, seals in South Uist, fishing boat trip from Berneray to Grimsay, dips in the Atlantic Ocean … yes even in March thanks to the Gulf Stream … all with amazing weather and blue skies …. make for an amazing break in a place which does not seem to be fully connected to the rest of the world.

Thanks Jac for your hospitality and generosity, the conversations, your local insight and a welcoming, luminous, clean and restful place to stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are well appointed, luminous and comfortable. No need to worry about noise, comfort ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, England
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

If you're the sort who enjoys interesting places and meeting interesting people whilst on your travels, a stay with Jac at Bagh Alluin is a must whilst on North Uist.
If you're into art, or architecture, or archaeology, or birding, or diving, or design (especially chairs), or local legends or beaches or islands or.. there'll be plenty to talk about and Jac will probably have an interesting book about it too.
Not only was our human host extremely welcoming but his canine and feline (and even ovine) companions also treated us like family.
After seeing the dozens of fantastic reviews already here (you'll already know the food is delicious, house is beautiful, rooms are huge and beds are comfortable) we were keen to stay during our trip and thankfully Jac had room - needless to say we stayed an extra night and would happily have stayed longer. We met some fascinating characters during our travels through the Uists and the stay with Jac was the highlight of our trip.
We will come back to North Uist one day - in the spring next time! - and we'll definitely stay here again! Thanks!
p.s. and we loved the chairs

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bagh Alluin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bagh Alluin

Address: 21 Baleshare, HS6 5HG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > North Uist
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in North Uist
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Bagh Alluin North Uist, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bagh Alluin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.