We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This must be the best hostel in the world” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nunton House Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Benbecula Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nunton House Hostel
Save
You added Nunton House Hostel to your Saves list
Nunton, HS7 5LU, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Hay-on-Wye, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This must be the best hostel in the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

It is rare that you find such comfortable mattresses, such a clean and well stocked kitchen, such a warm and inviting sitting room with a peat fire every night, gifts of fresh eggs and goose breasts, a welcome beyond the norm and a feeling that anything that one could possibly want will be provided. Centuries ago Bonnie Prince Charlie was reputed to have stayed at this house, he cannot have possibly had such a magical experience as we did. Catherine and Don are the best of hosts, the Uists, Eriskay and Benbencular the most welcoming of Islands with beaches beautiful beyond, excellent food everywhere and the hill-walking spectacular. We spent a very happy week here and will return again with friends and family. Recommended are the scallops from the Callin factory, the smoked salmon and gravalax from the North Uist Smoke House, the wonderful café and shop at the Claddach Kirkibost centre but the stars of our holiday were the Islanders themselves, always friendly, always helpful, always informative. The walks and the wildlife are not bad either!

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely but the owners let us choose as they were not full that week.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
7
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I stayed for two nights at Nunton House Hostel. After researching hotels in the area decided to go with the hostel and wasn't disappointed. Much more than a hostel, lovely peat fire within a big common/dining room, on suite bedrooms with the dorms beds warm and welcoming. Many will visit to escape the modern world, but if you want to reconnect there is sky TV and broadband Wi-fi available free. Donald is a wonderful host and is the epitome of highland hospitality, you will be informed that Bonnie Prince Charlie dressed up as a woman to escape the redcoats after the battle of culloden within these walls. Additionally free tea and coffee and continental breakfast is provided. This hostel fully deserves 5 stars I would stay here again before booking into any of the local hotels, truly a one off.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomich, Highlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Just got home after a three night stay at the Nunton Bunkhouse and though I'm a rare tripadvisor reviewer, thought I should let you know how fab it is! We were a large party, 14 of us in total and I think I speak for all of us when I say that this bunkhouse is top quality and fully deserving of its 5 stars. A building with a fascinating history, which has been renovated to a high quality.The comfortable living space has an inglenook fireplace with wood burning stove (and never ending peat stack!), comfy chairs, window seats and large kitchen table, and is the perfect way to end a day out. Mattresses were very comfortable, showers were strong, kitchen was well equipped and even had some of Alaisdair's mum's homemade jam and marmalade in the fridge. Alaisdair couldn't have been more helpful. A perfect stay in every way. And five minutes walk from a fabulous white sandy bay, which you'll probably get to yourself. Highly recommended. Can't wait to return. Thanks Alaisdair!

Room Tip: Apparently the upstairs rooms are bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Just back. This is much more than a hostel. The place is finished to a high level, comfortable, plenty water and comfy beds. The greatest asset is the generosity of the owners, fresh Machair tatties and goose meat. Thanks so much it was a great stay and we'll all be back :) the rspb gang

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

After 33 miles biking into the wind, this was just what I needed - such comfort home from home! Great chat with the hosts and fellow travelers too. You won't be disappointed if you make a stop here. A well deserved 5 Star Hostel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Clean, ensuite rooms, continental breakfast included, comfy kitchen / living area with peat stove. Free pasta / rice / breakfast items. Great host who is a local and can tell you so much about the area. Best hostel yet

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

The hostel has a peat stove, comfy en suite rooms, and great facilities - definitely the best hostel on Benbecula (and the Uists!). The McPhee's (who run it) were great chat and made us very welcome...

Room Tip: all are a good size with only 4 beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benbecula Island
0.0 mi away
Polochar Inn
Polochar Inn
#1 of 2 in Lochboisdale
4.5 of 5 stars 327 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Hotel Hebrides
Hotel Hebrides
#1 of 2 in Tarbert
4.0 of 5 stars 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Grimisdale Guest House
Grimisdale Guest House
#21 of 28 in Isle of Harris
4.5 of 5 stars 147 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ceol na Mara Guest House
0.0 mi away
Amhuinnsuidhe Castle
Amhuinnsuidhe Castle
#3 of 10 in Isle of Harris
5.0 of 5 stars 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nunton House Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nunton House Hostel

Address: Nunton, HS7 5LU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Benbecula Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Benbecula Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nunton House Hostel has a capacity for 16 guests in 4 dorm rooms, which are all en-suite. There is a Common Room with a fantastic original inglenook fireplace, and fully equiped kitchen! Self-serve continental breakfast is included. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nunton House Hostel Benbecula Island, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nunton House Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.