We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bird-finder Extraordinary!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Western Isles Wildlife Tours

Western Isles Wildlife Tours
Carinish | Isle of North Uist, Scotland
01876 580619
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Bird and general wildlife tours in Uist and Benbecula.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Bird-finder Extraordinary!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

My wife and I had two memorable days with Steve Duffield on North and South Uist in June this year. His ability to find birds "on demand", as it were, is quite amazing. He produced all our special requests - Black-throated Divers, Red-necked Phalarope, Hen Harriers and Otters, and carried on with Red-throated Divers, Twites, Little Tern, a Cuckoo, Golden Eagles, a Corncrake calling, and quite a variety of waders. He is also knowledgeable about the unusual plant life on the islands, and showed us a number of different orchids and insectivorous plants. He is a very cheerful companion, and his fee is very modest. If you want to see the wildlife of the islands, Steve is your man - we cannot recommend him highly enough.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

FANTASTIC knows where to find all types of wildlife and knows what he is looking for all the signs and movements and very quick to point things out even as driving along.

Makes you more aware of the wildlife around. The ability a knowledgeable and observant person who knows the habitats of the wildlife in the areas, where the wildlife live/play/eat is absolutely invaluable, his knowledge is incredible.
Amazing tour, well worth the journey.

Will be booking a trip next time am in the area. Thank you

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“So many birds!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We were fortunate enough to spend a full day with Steve Duffield, touring North and South Uist. His knowledge and ability to spot birds where there appear to be none is amazing. He's also got a great sense of humour and is good company. I was the non-birder in our party of 3 but was blown-away by watching, through Steve's scope, a White-Tailed Eagle sitting on a fence post, and then take off and fly. An unforgettable sight. I highly recommend!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We've had a brilliant time on our wildlife tour on the Uists and Benbecula (Outer Hebrides) on 1 & 2 September, with Steve Duffield. Despite the grey misty weather we saw upwards of 60 varieties of birds including a corn bunting (which sang for us), a rare semi palmated sandpiper, birds of prey, also delightful otters, seals and deer, as well as had a wonderful tour of the area. Steve is very knowledgeable and has a keen eye for spotting distant wildlife, and we learned a lot. He is obviously the expert in these parts and we'd well recommend a trip with him. See his website:
http://www.western-isles-wildlife.co.uk/Latest%20Bird%20and%20general%20wildlife%20sightings%20in%20the%20western%20isles,%20outer%20hebrides.htm

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Excellent birdwatching tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

If you're interested in birds and wildlife generally, you'll love this experience. We went prepared for wet and windy weather but the sun shone every day even if the wind blew too. There were 6 in our group and for five days we were treated to corncrakes and phalaropes, golden eagles and hen harriers, waders, divers and ducks galore and many others. Steve managed to track down the elusive otter for us and knowledgeably indulged our interest in plant life too. We got to see a wide range of habitats on North and South Uist, Benbecula and Eriskay.

Each of the three couples in the group stayed at a different B&B but all were pronounced excellent. Steve usually provided perfect picnic lunches so we could be flexible with where we took them. Evening meals were at a local inn and restaurant and were a little more variable in quality but always with plenty of choice. I would recommend this tour.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Western Isles Wildlife Tours also viewed

Been to Western Isles Wildlife Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Western Isles Wildlife Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.