We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class B & B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Borve Guest House

Borve Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Benbecula Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Borve Guest House
Save
You added Borve Guest House to your Saves list
5 Torlum, HS7 5PP, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
scotland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“First class B & B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stayed here for one night at short notice, booked by Tourist Information in Tarbert (who were very helpful). It was a very lucky find - everything was spot on. A nice modern house, spotlessly clean. Excellent ensuite room, friendly welcome from Mr and Mrs Campbell, wifi, TV, nice lounge. Breakfast was very, very good - you can choose the night before what you would like from the menu in your room. Difficult to fault in any way.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    11
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
16
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed here as he had a job interview on the island. We found this B&b met our needs perfectly. The owners were friendly and warm without being overbearing and the room itself was beautiful. I would not hesitate to recommend that people stay here if visiting the islands. (He didn't get the job so next time we come it will be for pleasure!)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Welcoming and well maintained, room clean and well furnished, bed very comfortable, free wi fi, shower room stocked with everything you may have forgotten - razor, toothbrush ect. Ample tea and coffee + bottle opener and glass for those who must. Excellent breakfast and friendly service a credit to the B&B trade. Would stay again with no hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Greta was very friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was excellent. House was warm, bed comfy, room clean and stocked with everything you could need and more. Free Wifi (a lot of hotels could learn from this). Only down side was the shower cubicle was very small and the water temperature fluctuated a bit from luke warm to scalding. The toilet which is in with the shower (basin in main room) was sandwiched between the shower wall and outside wall so not much room for manoeuvres!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

We arrived late due to the ferry and were warmly welcomed and shown to our room. The room was very clean and functional and although room 3 doesn't have en-suite it has its own private bathroom just a few steps up the hall which was also spotlessly clean!! The beds were very comfortable with all items such as a Kettle etc available.

The breakfast was excellent and lots of choices which suited my Fiancee as she doesn't always want a full-scottish breafast but likes something more than cereal.

On checking out we were pleasantly surprised how reasonably priced our stay had been as I would recommend to anyone visiting this beautiful area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

This was a lovely B&B, very clean and had a guest area with sofas TV and computer etc. Excellent breakfast and friendly helpful owners. Lovely peaceful location. I had a perfect stay.

Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flanders
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

Indeed a strange title for a review, but rating this guest house is really not an easy task.

On the one hand, Borve is conveniently located to explore this part of the Outer Hebrides. You get a nice bed, the room and ensuite bathroom give an old impression but are immaculate. What could one ask more for?

On the other hand, of the 15 years we holiday in Great Britain we experienced our fastest check-in / check-out ever. And this record will be near impossible to beat ;-) A 2011 / 2012 copy of Explore, the free tourist brochure of the Outer Hebrides, was not available. Other leaflets were out of date as well. Also, our host did not seem very knowledgeable about what to see and do.

So it all depends on what your personal priorities are ...

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benbecula Island
0.0 mi away
Polochar Inn
Polochar Inn
#1 of 2 in Lochboisdale
4.5 of 5 stars 325 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Dark Island Hotel
Dark Island Hotel
#1 of 2 in Benbecula Island
3.0 of 5 stars 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borve Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borve Guest House

Address: 5 Torlum, HS7 5PP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Benbecula Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Benbecula Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Borve Guest House Benbecula Island, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Borve Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.