We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class B & B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Borve Guest House

Borve Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Benbecula Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Borve Guest House
5 Torlum, HS7 5PP, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
scotland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“First class B & B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stayed here for one night at short notice, booked by Tourist Information in Tarbert (who were very helpful). It was a very lucky find - everything was spot on. A nice modern house, spotlessly clean. Excellent ensuite room, friendly welcome from Mr and Mrs Campbell, wifi, TV, nice lounge. Breakfast was very, very good - you can choose the night before what you would like from the menu in your room. Difficult to fault in any way.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    8
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
11
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed here as he had a job interview on the island. We found this B&b met our needs perfectly. The owners were friendly and warm without being overbearing and the room itself was beautiful. I would not hesitate to recommend that people stay here if visiting the islands. (He didn't get the job so next time we come it will be for pleasure!)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Welcoming and well maintained, room clean and well furnished, bed very comfortable, free wi fi, shower room stocked with everything you may have forgotten - razor, toothbrush ect. Ample tea and coffee + bottle opener and glass for those who must. Excellent breakfast and friendly service a credit to the B&B trade. Would stay again with no hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Greta was very friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was excellent. House was warm, bed comfy, room clean and stocked with everything you could need and more. Free Wifi (a lot of hotels could learn from this). Only down side was the shower cubicle was very small and the water temperature fluctuated a bit from luke warm to scalding. The toilet which is in with the shower (basin in main room) was sandwiched between the shower wall and outside wall so not much room for manoeuvres!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

We arrived late due to the ferry and were warmly welcomed and shown to our room. The room was very clean and functional and although room 3 doesn't have en-suite it has its own private bathroom just a few steps up the hall which was also spotlessly clean!! The beds were very comfortable with all items such as a Kettle etc available.

The breakfast was excellent and lots of choices which suited my Fiancee as she doesn't always want a full-scottish breafast but likes something more than cereal.

On checking out we were pleasantly surprised how reasonably priced our stay had been as I would recommend to anyone visiting this beautiful area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

This was a lovely B&B, very clean and had a guest area with sofas TV and computer etc. Excellent breakfast and friendly helpful owners. Lovely peaceful location. I had a perfect stay.

Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flanders
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

Indeed a strange title for a review, but rating this guest house is really not an easy task.

On the one hand, Borve is conveniently located to explore this part of the Outer Hebrides. You get a nice bed, the room and ensuite bathroom give an old impression but are immaculate. What could one ask more for?

On the other hand, of the 15 years we holiday in Great Britain we experienced our fastest check-in / check-out ever. And this record will be near impossible to beat ;-) A 2011 / 2012 copy of Explore, the free tourist brochure of the Outer Hebrides, was not available. Other leaflets were out of date as well. Also, our host did not seem very knowledgeable about what to see and do.

So it all depends on what your personal priorities are ...

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Borve Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borve Guest House

Address: 5 Torlum, HS7 5PP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Benbecula Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Benbecula Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
Borve Guest House Benbecula Island, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Borve Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Borve Guest House to your Saves list