We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes, it’s old fashioned & needs a refurb – but very, very helpful staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Isle of Benbecula House Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Isle of Benbecula House Hotel to your Saves list
The Isle of Benbecula House Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Isle of Benbecula House Hotel
Creagorry, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Cheshire
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Yes, it’s old fashioned & needs a refurb – but very, very helpful staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed with a group and first impressions were not good. The hotel badly needs a refurb, and indeed there was evidence of a paint job being undertaken while we were there. While it is easy to criticise – this hotel is in a position where many visitors would be by-passing Benbecula and maybe just not interested in staying as they are on their way to another location? So – the dilemma. Do you spend a fortune to update it and risk going bankrupt in the process?

The manager Marius was a joy – so helpful and a one man show. He helped us to unload the cases from the top of the mini van. He was the receptionist, in the bar, serving at table – all with courtesy and a smile for everyone. He is a gem!

We enjoyed our meals in the conservatory – a very pleasant space.

Take it for what it is – an oasis in a remote place which serves adequate food and offers genuine hospitality.

Room Tip: We had a lovely view from our ground floor room - please see photo
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    4
    2
    6
See reviews for
2
6
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Very pleasant stay,and stayed for three nights in the end due to tidal problems with the ferry to Harris. Strangely we were the only guests on the first night, but received a very warm welcome. Loads of space and it almost felt like hiring a private house! Bar area was plush with dinners and breakfasts served in the add-on conservatory at the front. Food was good pub fare and the cooked breakfast was substantial - with both white and black pudding no-one was going hungry after this ! An outside seating area allowed for the evening cigar, midges permitting.

Looked as if it had recently been refurbished but not quite completed - gents downstairs seemed to have missed the facelift.However the bedroom was nicely furnished with views overlooking the tidal estuary and very quiet at night despite overlooking the main NS road on the islands. Clean and tidy throughout and we were well looked with an excellent staff to guest ratio. Our experience would appear to be at odds with other Tripadivsors, but there was not a lot to fault our stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

Stayed here in May 2011 with friends on a 5 night tour of the Outer Hebrides and this was the worst hotel of the 5 we stayed in. We picked it for it's location on the 3rd night of our trip. When we arrived we could not find anybody at reception but a girl came through from the bar and helped us. We were then shown to our rooms which we still being cleaned. They were not particularly clean. The food was really pub grub from a freezer but served in a very right conservatory on the roadside. The hotel and bar lacked a bit of atmosphere and would have been worse if it had not been for a group of birdwatchers staying at the same time. Staff were helpful enough but we would not stay here again despite it excellent location on the route from
Barra to Lewis.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

We just dropped in for a drink and the beer was awful, there were locals having a hooley, which is no problem but the barmaid seemed more worried about them than us. The tables were sticky and unclean and the beer was horrible - hubby didnt even finish it - I wouldnt bother if I was you!!

First impressions count so they say and these are ours.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Found 4 dead bluebottle flies on the carpet as I walked into my room. Shampoo bottle had not been refilled and top was still off! Food crap. Do not stay here!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

A very quiet night we stayed here - and in a quiet location at the side of a road on a sparsely populated island.

Room was adequate for our purposes - a stop-off on our way down the Outer Hebrides.

For dinner the main course was good value with reasonably (not overly large) sized portions. Was a bit disappointed with the sweet selection at dinner as most of selections were not available due to a coach party in the associate hotel nearby.

Breakfast was good value and set us up for the travelling during the day.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

Ok I know that there are some awful reviews about this hotel but the following one is not only mine but all 18 birdwatchers who were with me.
We found this hotel a little tired and in need of some refurbishment. However our stay for 4 nights BB and evening meal was excellent. The location is superb, not only for the views but for exploring all of the Uists, the bedrooms were clean and serviced every day, the staff worked very hard to please, the restaurant located in the conservatory is really bright and gave excellent views in the evenings of the resident Short Eared Owl and the food was very good. There are two good sized bars that we managed to put to good use and sleeping was no problem.
In all a great place at a sensible price.
My party was booked through the group manager Chrisella and if you need any information don't hesitate to give her a call. She looked after us really well.
I would recommend this hotel for any birdwatching groups considering a trip to the Outer Hebrides.
A BIG THANKS to you all for giving us a memorable holiday.
Ken W Reeves www.burbagebirders.co.uk

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Isle of Benbecula House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Isle of Benbecula House Hotel

Address: Creagorry, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Benbecula Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Benbecula Island
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your The Isle of Benbecula House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Isle Of Benbecula House Hotel Benbecula Island, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Isle of Benbecula House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.