We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ignore bad reviews” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oula Maisonettes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Oula Maisonettes to your Saves list
Oula Maisonettes
Kavos, Kavos, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Kavos
liverpool
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Ignore bad reviews”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Went for a week had an amazing time. Rooms cleaned everyday, staff lovely n very friendly, food great, drinks and food very cheap. Pool was nice n cleaned throughout the day. Wasps n insects abit annoying but thats not the hotels fault. Met really lovely people n had a ball. Would defo go back like.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    29
    8
    8
    14
See reviews for
37
31
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I have just come back from a week's stay at Oula Maisonettes. We stayed from 20th August, weather was hot every day. I went with my friend both in our 40's. After reading reviews before we went I was dreading it. I was wrongly mistaken,There was a mixed age group of people staying and met some lovely people. No noise, we had a fab time.Transfer from airport is an hour to 2 hours away depending on drop off points. Reception is available 24 hours which is a bonus, staff are very friendly and will go out of their way to assist you. We paid 5 euros for a safe box in our room and 60 euros for air con which I recommend. The room is basic, but was ok, cleaners empty bins every day, change bed in week and towels, though take some of your own too as they are small, I asked for extra and next morning extra were put in room. The bar is great, food and snacks are cheap and very nice. Mini breakfast was 2 euros then extra for drinks, substantial enough. The gardens are well kept and lovely, The pool is maintained well, staff always using net to remove any insects or leaves that may have gone into pool. I recommend you have insect repellants, there were many wasps but aslong as you go prepared its fine. No stings for us but a few mozzie bites. There is 3 internet pc's at 4 euros for an hour, which you dont have to use up at once, a code given enables you to use it as and when. The walk is only 10 mins to the supermarket which is well equipped, bars and restaurants all along the strip. The restaurant I highly recommend is The Great Britain. Food is excellent , 9.95 euros for a 3 course meal and a fish bowl drink. They have a greek night of entertainment which we went to twice, this is fab .we went an excursion to Paxos, Anti Paxos and Gaios. This I would recommend 32 euros each, you can buy snacks on board boat with a bar on board for all drinks that you pay extra for. The blue lagoon that you anchor into for a 40 minute swim is like paradise, a wonderful experience. Over all this has been a wonderful holiday, you get what you pay for, plus you are visiting another country so you would expect to live their culture. We will go back and take our children next time. :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

I have just returned from the Oula maisonettes with a couple of friends.(ages 20-25) The Oula is situated about 5-10 mins walk away from the beach and about the same length of time from the beginning of the strip. The largest supermarket in Kavos is also situated about a 5 minutes walk away which is handy.
We all believed the complex to be perfectly situated for what we wanted from the holiday. IE we wanted to get involved in the bars and action in the evening but didn't want everything to be in your face during the day time. The Oula is perfect for this. The pool is a good size and very clean and plenty of deckchairs available. As mentioned in other reviews the poolside does serve cheap drinks/food and plays music at a sensible level during the daytime. Reception and security is 24 hours which is also handy. Reception also sells bottled water, crisps, icecream noodles etc etc. All of the staff are helpful and friendly. The rooms are clean and tidy but very very basic. The beds are uncomfortable and we personally had trouble with our cooker. Even when it did work it was almost useless ( 2 hours to boil water .. and everyone we talked to said the same about theirs). Based on this I would not really say that you could cater for yourselves in these rooms. This being said this didn't bother us too much as lets face it we had drank a fair amount of alcohol by the time we eventually got to bed and it is so cheap to eat out anyway cooking for yourself seems stupid.
Other things you may like to to know : Take your own towels. The ones provided are thin and very small ( hand towel size ). Aircon is 60 euros (which is very good by the way). Safety deposit is 10 euros.

Overall we had a fantastic holiday in Kavos staying at the Oula. This holiday was cheap and therefore the Oula was what we expected ( however the pool and location to the strip was much better than we had originally thought it might be ). My advice would be if you bare this in mind during your stay and make the most of the weather, location, cheap drinks and food you will have an amazing time.

Enjoy your holiday.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Well I just returned, pool, staff, food, sun loungers, not too mention the weather all great. Room as what you would expect however the two rooms that sleep 6 do not have air conditioning upstairs which means they can get very stuffy at night. We had 3 children in tow 9,13,16 and it was fine. If you plan to self cater keep it simple, cereal and sandwiches, to hot to cook in the room I have mentioned. Better to go for two rooms if four of you (adult, child in each). I would go again and would recommend this to anyone who wants a great pool area and access to a more lively night life. Can be a little noise in the early hours but not too bad. As other have mentioned the food at the complex is good value especially the 2 euro breakfast.

Room Tip: Go for two rooms with an air con unit in each to keep cool, There are rooms set further back from po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Me and 4 friends have just come back from the Oula.We had an amazing time in kavoz and the hotel made the experience amazing!! the hotel is outstanding value. The pool is clean and a perfect size to chill out and recover in. The bar by the pull is cheap and offers english food such as "english breakfast" for 2 euro 50 and strongbow and pot noodles etc. The rooms are very clean and a maid comes in daily to clean it change the sheets and change the towels. Theres a tv a decent size lounge area a nice balcony and the rooms are big and of a very high standard. It is about 2 minutes walk from the beach and about the same distance to the strip. We left no deposite and if we ever had any troubles the reception was open 24/7. Over all the Oula Club hotel is the best place for groups of lads or girls 18-25. It is the best value hotel in Kavoz.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Just come back from a week in Kavos, we were a group with multiple rooms, arrived at Oula Kavos Gardens at around 1am, staff quickly got us sorted which was great. we did have to pay 60 euros for the air conditioning however this is usual across Corfu. The rooms were what was expected, well maintained hotel, pool clean, cheap bar and snacks - 1.50 euros for a pint and 2 euros for a full english. 10 min walk to Kavos strip which was ok as you were away from the noise when you came back to sleep! Found a great place to eat called Annes Garden - 3 course meal, Drink and shots for 8 euro! Overall would definatly stay again and recommend Oula to young groups. Very Pleased.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

I have just returned from a week's holiday at Oula with 4 of my friends (group of 5 girls). Originially we had booked to stay in Daskalos Apartments in Kavos, but the day before we got an email from our travel provider saying that they had changed us to this hotel (NEVER BOOK WITH LOW COST HOLIDAYS!). After reading the reviews, it was safe to say that my friends and I were absolutely petrified about staying here as it sounded so horrific.
But we needn't have panicked. When we arrived at Oula at 11pm the man on reception was very helpful, showed us to our room and found that our bathroom light wasn't working. He said there wasn't much he could do about it then, but would send someone round in the morning, which was absolutely fine. However, 5 mins after he had left, another man came round and fixed the light. We were very impressed for somewhere that was supposed to have awful staff.
We had a maisonette, fit for 6 people. We paid for the aircon and safe (60 euros for the week) and unfortunately as the maisonette was two stories, the air con only occupied the bottom floor. So yes, a downside of the room was that the two bedrooms upstairs were like saunas. There is a kitchenette, but it was poorly equipped. We noticed that there was 24 hour security, which made us feel in a safe environment.
The walk to the strip is along a lane lit by few street lamps, but as there are hotels further along the road, my friends and I didn't feel too unsafe walking late at night/early morning as there always seemed to be people about.
During the day, around the pool there was music played all day which we really enjoyed. I would highly recommend the mini breakfast for 2euros when feeling a bit tender in the mornings! At first we were dubious to get in the pool, but soon realised that there was nothing to worry about, and there was no signs of too much chlorine and people's hair turning yellow!
Along the road from Oula is a restaurant called the Rose Tree Taverna, run by Dimitri, serving traditional greek food and sea food, as well as all the stuff the Brits like. We loved this restaurant and went every night. Dimitri is so lovely and he looks after everyone.
The beach nearest the hotel is about a 10 minute walk, past the Rose Tree Taverna. It isn't a very nice beach, but we did watersports there nearly every day. Very reasonable prices and a variety to do. My group did jet skis, the rings, crazy sofa and hired a pedalo. We also went on the excursion that this company offered, on a speedboat called the Black Pearl. The trip took us to Paxos and Antipaxos. Getting to drink champagne on a speedboat and swimming in caves... what more could you ask for?!? A DEFINITE MUST if you go to Kavos.
Overall, we had absolutely no problems with the hotel. The cleaners were friendly (and didn't steal anything), there were no issues with trying to charge us for equipment we asked for i.e a tin opener and bottle opener and were actually very accomodating giving us extra, and the pool and bar area had a good atmosphere.
If i stayed in Kavos again, I would stay at Oula but make sure you have individual rooms as then you will definitely get air con in your bedroom, that is a must!! Overall, good hotel, nice staff and not too far from the strip. Don't listen to the people complaining, they're obviously extremely fussy and the only reason I can think of that that staff were horrible to them is because they were probably rude towards the staff!

Room Tip: Don't go for a maisonette on two floors as the air con doesn't reach the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Oula Maisonettes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oula Maisonettes

Address: Kavos, Kavos, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Kavos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Kavos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated amongst olive trees and flowers, the Oula Maisonettes offers an excellent standard of accommodation in an attractive, peaceful and relaxing area. The beautiful pool is the ideal place to spend those lazy days and a twelve minute walk will bring you to the resort centre with an array of bars, restaurants, tavernas and nightlife. The resorts excellent sandy beach is approximately a ten minute walk away. Tudios sleep 1/2 & 1/3 people with twin beds, an open-plan kitchenette, a private bathroom with shower and a balcony. One and two bedroom maisonettes sleep 2/4, 3/5 and 4/6 people with twin beds, an open plan kitchenette, air-conditioning (payable locally), a private bathroom with shower and a balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Oula Maisonettes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oula Maisonettes Hotel Kavos
Oula Maisonettes Kavos, Corfu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oula Maisonettes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.