We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great girl holiday !” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Koulouris Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Koulouris Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Koulouris Beach Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 49080, Kavos 49080, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 13 hotels in Kavos
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“great girl holiday !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Stayed at koulouris beach from 6th august for a week with 3 girl mates, we were pretty worried when we saw the reviews of the hotel but it was nowhere near as bad as we'd expected! Arrived at the apartment and it was really spacious and clean, yes it is very basic but we had everything we needed to be honest. The pool area is great, good atmosphere throughout the day, good music etc, and easy to meet new people as everyone is together, however towards the end of the week we decided to go to the beach instead as it is right outside the hotel and a little bit quieter, also there is a nice breeze on the beach and sunbeds are only 2 euros. There is a deal for air con and security box at 50 euros, which we did, definitely worth it as i lost my purse while i was there and was really glad i'd left my card and passport in the security box, the air con was a bit unreliable but we knew it would be, in one room we just had a fan which was good but not really cool enough for two people, in the other was the actual air con but it only really worked half the time.
The staff are really friendly if you're friendly to them, also there is a scary security guy at night who you definitely wouldn't want to get on the wrong side of but actually he does make you feel safe when you are a young group of girls surrounded by drunk lads !
We were surprised to see families at the hotel as I would definitely not come to Kavos with my family! It is definitely a resort for young people. Would recommend eating at the oven pub and terry's which are restaurants on the strip, both meals came to around 10 euro each for 2 courses and drinks. Watch out for the dodgy alcohol!! everywhere seems to give away this free champagne but don't drink it you can buy it for 2 euros in the supermarkets and it's basically just chemicals, also you will ask for a particular spirit beware!!! it probably wont be the right one everything is either watered down or a cheaper version of the genuine stuff ! Definitely bring insect repellent everyone was bitten!'
Watch out for the reps ripping you off especially the resident rep at the hotel, we decided to pay 30 euros for this beach party we ended up not being able to go because it finished at 1! ridiculously early and apparently it was exactly the same as the usual free club night, so we lost 30 euros! However, do listen to the deals on the strip because they can be quite good especially the ones at the restaurants, don't be rude to the reps it is their job after all.
Would probably stay here again if I came back to Kavos, good choice if you're there for a cheap party holiday! Don't let the bad reviews put you off!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    29
    7
    8
    18
See reviews for
10
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Stayed in the Koulouris Beach Hotel from 4th - 11th August 2012 and had an awesome holiday! It shocked myself (25yrs old) and my friend (40yrs old) the amount of people who had booked a holiday in Kavos not realising that it is mainly a party resort, so please just do some research before booking to make sure it's what you are looking for.

HOTEL
The hotel is very basic but we also paid basic prices and didn't expect a 5* hotel. As previously reviews have mentioned you will be dropped off and picked up from their sister hotel 5minutes down the road. It is just a short minibus journey down a bumpy track to the Koulouris hotel. The hotel itself needs some updating but overall it's not a bad hotel/base. Take your own towel with you as the ones provided are hand towels. The staff are very helpful, for example we didn't have a kettle in a room - we told Maria and we had one delivered by the maid the very next morning (word of warning: the maid knocks and walks in so make sure you have a towel handy at all times ;) )
We also had an issue with our shower as the head broke off from the hose - this was fixed quickly too. Food at the bar was good, our favourites being the bacon buttys and special pizza. The location of this hotel is perfect! 5 minutes along the beach and up a path to the strip and restaurants. Take a torch with you as the beach can have its hazards in the dark.

NIGHTLIFE
The nightlife is awesome! Even being older than most, Kavos caters for everyone. The bars in Kavos are like UK clubs. The bars that we mostly enjoyed were The Barn, Rodney's and Crashes. You must visit Rodney's for a cocktail in a watermelon! The Barn has an amazing DJ and a great chilled out atmosphere. You will get hassled by PRs but they are all fighting for your custom. Don't be rude to them, if they are asking for food just say you have already eaten and for drinks say you are not drinking that night and that soon gets them off your back. Prices - most drink offers are 2 cocktails and 2 shots for 5 Euros. Good places to eat are The Oven Pub,Tex-Mex, Garden of Eden (3 course + free drink 8.90 Euros) and Steak House (opp Rodney's). A must see is the Hypnotist show by Kev Bee in the Genesis Bar (opp Vibe and The Barn). This man is amazing! It's a free show that lasts 2.5hours!

The beach was good, a little bit of rubbish but nothing too bad. Wasn't over crowded so plenty of space and the sea is so so warm! Watersports are available just behind Koulouris on the beach too.

Overall brilliant holiday!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

I stayed with my 14 year old son and was a little concerned about it being so close to Kavos. The hotel is far enough away so that any noise from the town was totally unobtrusive, yet you can walk along the beach into town within 5 minutes. It is right on the beach and the pool and bar area is clean, extremely good and the staff very friendly. However, if you walk into town you can find food and drink about a third cheaper, most with free wi-fi that will include free use of a laptop. Our accommodation was bed and breakfast and this is where the 'hotel' let itself down the 'continental' breakfast was very poor and I would bother paying in advance for it. Also don't expect any kind of maid service in the room. The room was not cleaned nor the sheets and towels changed for our entire stay. Expect to pay 40 Euros for airconditioning.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Just got back from Kavos on a girls holiday for 10 nights!! It was the best holiday ever! The hotel rooms were basic but that is all you need, however the pool and pool bar was amazing! The staff were very welcoming and made the holiday much more enjoyable! Maria, Alex and Tom were fantastic and wil definitely be going back! The hotel is on the beach which made the holiday even better and the hotel is very close to the nightlife!
The food at the hotel pool bar was amazing and without the lovely staff, the holiday would not have been half as good!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

I was more than a little concerned about taking my 8 year old son here and had read many reviews that said the hotel was awful, but I have to disagree. It is by no means a 4* hotel, but then that's not what your paying either, so didn't expect it. The rooms are basic but ours was clean. Sheets and towels were only changed once in 2 weeks, but no doubt had we asked they would have done this for us.
The staff were very friendly and obliging. The food at the poolside bar was good quality and huge portions and reasonably priced.
Despite the fact that the majority of the people staying at the hotel (especially the first week) were large groups of teenagers, we had a great time. The beach is on the doorstep and there are plaenty of great and cheap places to eat.
While the resort is not really family orientated, we had a great holiday and would consider going back again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

Great place to stay, stayed here twice now and keep coming back for more! The staff are excellent and friendly, The rooms have everything you need and it's just a short stroll down the beach to the main strip! I would deffinitaly stay here again. Top holiday accommodation!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

I have travelled many places never have I seen a room so horrendous. No hot water shower broken exposed electrics bed not fit for purpose. Unhappy with the room the only person on duty swore at us. Regular fights in the daytime constant noise loud music thoughout day and night a REAL PLEASURE for us.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Koulouris Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koulouris Beach Hotel

Address: PO Box 49080, Kavos 49080, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Kavos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 hotels in Kavos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Koulouris Beach Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Koulouris is a hotel complex comprising of 5 buildings (Bungalows and Hotel rooms) situated just outside Kavos on the beach in the Aspro Kavos area.It is surrounded by 16.000 m² of beautiful natural landscape gardens on the sea of Asprokavos.The excellent location and good on-site facilities attracts young guests who want to be at the centre of the action in early and late season families will also enjoy the pool, beach and facilities at the Koulouris.A 300 metre walk down the beach will reveal the resort centre of Kavos, which offers the liveliest nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Koulouris Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koulouris Beach Hotel Kavos, Corfu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koulouris Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.