We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bayside Bistro

Bayside Bistro
Keel | Co. Mayo, Keel, Achill Island co. Mayo, Ireland
09843798
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Keel
Price range: $14 - $32
Cuisines: Bakery, Seafood, Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Sea food restaurant with scenic views in the heart of village of Keel, Achill Island.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We ate here during the first week in Sept 2012 - close to the end of the season so the restaurant was quiet. We were warmly greated, seated where we wanted and the specials board brought to us straight away. Orders were promptly taken and freshly cooked food arrived quickly. Someone running this restaurant knows and understands good service and the importance of fresh, wholesome food. We had just completed the Greenway cycle route and were in need of nourishment! I would totally recommend the Bistro and we certainly will be back when next in Achill.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    32
    16
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
“Reasonably good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

The Bayside Bistro is centrally located in Keel. When we visited on a Sunday evening it was pretty empty with only a few covers.

Service was prompt initially, but dropped off during the meal and towards the end with forgotten items and the need for repeated requests.

The food was reasonably good. The mussels were plentiful and the lamb shank was huge although a little overcooked in my opinion. The salmon millefeuille sounded better on the menu than in real life, where it was simply several slices of smoked salmon with thin toasts in between. In fairness though, the salmon was delicious and there was lots of it. Kids' meals were good value and pretty standard offerings.

Overall, not a bad place with reasonable food and service, but the lack of atmosphere dampened the enjoyment and the constant slamming of the door was really annoying: a simple hydraulic dampener would make all the difference.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone, Ireland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Could be so much better...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Had dinner here in July 2012, arrived in without booking at 8.20pm and the place was busy , waited for a table and the menu looked nice, the staff were busy and some inexperienced, had a little wait until the main course arrived others had fish and chips , can't go too far wrong and i ordered the steak it was served in a bowl!!!, i tried to get to get the attention of the staff , eventually got up and told her i couldn't cut my steak in a bowl , i prefer it was on a plate, with that five mins later she arrived down with a plate and asked would i put in on myself, that would be ok if i was on the beach at a bbq but not in a "bistro" paying €24 plus for it. Anyway ate it and left , prob no point in complaining, not many dining options in Achill near the campsite so will prob return!!!, hopefully things will have improved!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Something for Everyone in Keel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We hadn't been to Achill for many years. Our B&B proprietor recommended Bayside Bistro for our family dinner. (We used to like The Boley House which has been closed for years we'd been told.) There were plenty of choices to suit all in our party of 6 that included granny and 3 kids aged 9 through 17. Most popular were the fish & chips and the mussels. Nice atmosphere, nice view of the fun fair along the strand and service with a smile.Great way to end the day on Achill.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Time!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Nice meal but length of time between courses soured experience. Two and a half hours between starter and dessert unacceptable. Others who arrived later were finished before us.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bayside Bistro also viewed

Keel, Achill Island
Dooagh, Achill Island
 
Keel, Achill Island
Dugort, Achill Island
 

Been to Bayside Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayside Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.