We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Irish Hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Achill Lodge

Save Saved
You added Achill Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Achill Lodge
Bunacurry | Achill Island, Keel, Achill Island, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 12 Keel B&B and Inns
Bonita Springs, Florida
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“True Irish Hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Just returned from a weekend staying at the Achill Lodge on Achill Island. This Guesthouse is truly a hidden gem. We were so impressed by the accommodations, our room and en-suite were large, comfortable and luxurious. We had a beautiful balcony off our room as well with great views. I've stayed at a number of Guesthouses and B&Bs throughout Ireland and the Achill Lodge was by far my favorite. It's family owned and operated, and the Deery's go out of their way to make sure their guests are comfortable and enjoying their stay. Both mornings we had a great Irish fry for breakfast, and it was done perfectly. I can't say enough nice things about the family and how accommodating they were. Achill itself is a beautiful part of the country, even this time of the year. The lodge is very centrally located which makes it easy to drive to all parts of the island. There are beautiful views of the sea and mountains. We can't wait to return! I would recommend the Achill Lodge to everyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Achill L, Manager at Achill Lodge, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thanks for such a lovely review, hope to see you back in Achill again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    5
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
8
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
co tipperary
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Just had a fabulous weekend staying at Achill Lodge. We highly recommend this B&B and have come back on a few occasions over the past few years. The Deery family cannot do enough to make your stay as comfortable and pleasant as possible. Rooms are beyond comfortable with a touch of luxury. Amazing breakfast with fantastic attention to detail. Mr Deery snr provides a mini-bus/taxi service and bikes are available for rent also. Achill is a beautiful island with spectacular views around every corner. Also a haven for a multitude of watersports. It will host the Internatonal Kitesurfing competition in October 2012. We have previously spent a night in Lynotts pub where you can take a step back in time and Just last weekend we had a wonderful meal in Pure Magic Achill. We'll keep coming back! The McNamaras in Co. Tipp.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

We really enjoyed our last day on achill..found this lovely bed and breakfast which is located near lynotts pub.The owner provides a taxi service for a very reasonable price.We'll definitely be back on our next trip to achill.:-)Also found a lovely spot for food called pure magic which is a short drive away.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We have just come back from Achill, we stayed in the Achill lodge. We would highly recommend it. A very well run family business, the room was lovely and very reasonable and they were able to accommodate my 11 year old son with us for a small fee which included breakfast also. The house is lovely, very relaxed atmosphere which was refreshing and their attention to detail and service is 4 star. We will definitely be returning . Una & Neal

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

My son and I stayed in the Achill Lodge for the June bank holiday while we were diving in Achill. We were made to feel so welcome and comfortable. Tea or coffee offered every time we came back to the house. The rates were very reasonable and the house itself is lovely. It's also in a very central location for anyone driving, and for anyone who isn't, the Lodge has bikes for rent, and a taxi service. The proprietor couldn't have been more helpful. We will definitely be back!
Dympna & Gerry

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmullet, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying in the Achill Lodge B&B for a night over Easter Weekend 2012. We were a group of friends that we meeting up for some good food and to catch up.

This family run business is a real home from home. The property is 2 buildings, the original B&B (and still family home) and the new purpose built B&B spread out over a number of floors. We stayed in the lounge area for the evening chatting and having a great time. Over the course of our stay we met all four members of the family and it was very casual. Everyone was made feel at ease and the atmosphere was nice and relaxed.

Food was really nice and my overall experience was a sound nights sleep. I would highly recommend the Achill Lodge B&B.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

I was out in Achill Island with friends this week. My car broke down and Michael from the garage rescued us and showed us the way to the Achill Lodge, as we did not know where to go. Straight after we arrived we got coffee and biscuits, which we really needed. Since we had no car, the lady drove us to the pub down the road and showed me the way to the garage the next morning and drove me back again. I never got looked after so well as in the Achill Lodge. The beds are way better than my own and the shower... the pressure... it was a bit of heaven for all of us. If you ever are in the area, this is the place to stay. You for sure will get a good night sleep and a lovely breakfast in the morning with everything you wish for. Well done to the Achill Lodge and thanks again for all your help.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Achill Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Achill Lodge

Address: Bunacurry | Achill Island, Keel, Achill Island, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Achill Island > Keel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Keel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Achill Lodge is an architecturally designed, luxury boutique guest house operated by the Deery family. We are located in the village of Bunnacurry in the heart of Achill Island with beautiful bay and village views to be enjoyed from our balconies and roof garden. Our 6 guest bedrooms are all en-suite with TV, free wifi, and hair drying facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Achill Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Achill Lodge Achill Island/Keel, Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Achill Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.