We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rhodian Sun

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Rhodian Sun to your Saves list
Rhodian Sun
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Butterflies Rd | Paradeisi, Tholos 85106, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Tholos
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
218 helpful votes 218 helpful votes
“Another visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Not sure if this is my 5th or 6th visit. I stayed 2 nights on way out to Karpathos and 3 on the way back. Hotel was not really open for business but once again family could not do enough for you. My friends in Karpathos had to come to Rhodes as the husband needed to got to the hospital. They stayed here and the family could not do enough for them. Taking them to the hospital and making my friend feel very conforftable while her husband was in hospital. The kindness is really genuine and I love them to bits and cannot wait to go back.

Room Tip: I always have one at the back overlooking the fields, very quiet and lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    45
    12
    8
    21
See reviews for
26
85
25
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

OK having read the previous reviewers, most points have been covered. At the end of the day if you want 5* then go and pay for it elsewhere, this is a fantastic 3* value for money hotel.
I am not saying that other reviewers bad points are incorrect but as far as value for money everything was spot on.
Oriel and Tsambica kept you well fed in the restuarant with traditionally cooked Greek food, yes if its typical english buffet rubbish you want then go elsewhere.
We had gone all inclusive so local beers, wines and spirits were all included so Oozo was included, perfect!!
Stavros was always on hand to give any advice on the wonderful island and its many treasures.
So to sum up, this is no 5* Hilton and if you want to have non stop Full english and Burger and chips then this is not the place for you.
If its a quiet holiday away from the rat race with freshly cooked Greek food then pop along and become part of the family at the Rhodian Sun and just relax.
Hope to see you all again soon
Dave and Carol x

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhodes, greece
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

My wife and i booked this hotel purely because of a bad summer, plus of the reviews.Arrived late and Nikos was very accomodating.The thing is there are some items that need to be addressed.So i will put the negatives first,so here goes.the rooms are very very basic.The shower is ,well lets put it this way, don't be tall or a dwarf , because it will flood,its as simple as that.The breakfast is poor.don't expect a hot tea or coffee but heyho.Right,outside,the phrase is 'tired'.loungers'tired,sorry. not good enough.the pool was ok but needed attention.I know i am a bit negative but stick with it. I had read a lot about the food, which was nice ,but you honestly have to wait a very long time,same menu for dinner and lunch. Not good enough.right,there is another issue about asylum seekers and the only reviewer that said anything about it was Steve , from the place that is known as Manchester.....right,now the positives......the barman....cracking guy, a true plus.BUT IT WAS THE PEOPLE THAT WE MET AT THE TIME OF THE HOLIDAY THAT MADE THE HOLIDAY.I JUST WANT TO SAY A BIG HELLO TO STEVE,GARETH,SARAH,LYDIA,,,STUART.DAWN....DEAN FROM SHEFFIELD,,,,NIKKI[GREAT BUST],,,,AND LAST BUT NOT LEAST..PAUL AND TRACY .THESE ARE THE THE POSITIVES. RIGHT. NOW AN OVERALL OUTLOOK.THE HOTEL IS TIRED AND NEED OF A GOOD MAKEOVER.THIS PLACE HAS HUGE PONTENTIAL.IT NEEDS A BIT OF TLC AND MONEY AND IT WOULD REALLY DO ITS SELF JUSTICE

Room Tip: There are none!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Just returned home today, bleary eyed from a very early morning flight, after spending a week with my Fiancee at the Rhodian Sun Hotel.
Our trip was a last minute booking, we had scoured the internet for two whole weeks previous to try and find a holiday in the sun within our budget. Rodian sun hotel came within our price range when a lot of holidays to Greece seemed to be so expensive and only for self catering.
We arrived early hours of the morning and were greeted at the door and offered refreshments, although we just needed our bed. On first impressions, our room seemed quite spartan, but maybe not so unusual in Greece, but who goes on holiday in the sun to spend all their time in their room!
Breakfast was simple but very relaxed and flexible on times, and after spending a day in the sun, we were ready for our evening meal, which was home cooked traditional Greek food cooked by Mum, Tsambica, served by Oriel and was absolutely fantastic. I would say if you want to go abroad and have your traditional english breakfast, burger and chips for your dinner then maybe this is not the place for you, although Tsambica will cook for you whatever you want, its more traditional Greek food prepared by a loving family and we loved it!
The whole atmosphere of this place is very laid back and relaxed, but on the other hand, nothing is too much trouble for any of the family. We were really made to feel welcome and at home, and this is what this place has become, it feels like a home from home.
To echo sentiments of other guests, most have been here more than once and often return regularly, my fiancee has been to Greece many times, different islands and main land but has never experienced such wonderful hospitality.
The hotel is a little bit tucked out of the way but close to the airport, which is a bonus to be able to get future flights and come here for another holiday or even a long weekend. However, this holiday for us suited what we needed, which was piece and quiet and relaxation, long sunny days by the pool. There are buses down the end of the road that go into Rhodes town but are frequently infrequent! But once again, nothing is too much trouble for Stavros, as on more than one occasion we were offered a lift into town.
To sum up, we had a wonderful time, the real secret here is the family and their commitment to making guests feel as if you are a part of their ever extending family. In this day and age, that is certainly something to behold. And you can't put a price on that.
Lovely weather, gorgeous food, wonderful hospitality.........can't wait to go back.
Keith and Debs

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frodsham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I've just returned from a week on a solo holiday at the Rhodian Sun. What can I say, I was welcomed at the door Nicos, who immediately took my bags off me and led to the bar where I was given some very welcome refreshment while he explained the workings of the all inclusive. My room was basic but perfectly adequate for my needs, don't believe what other reviews say about the showers, stay in room 217 and the shower almost pins you to the wall it is so powerful. It is the family that makes this hotel so memorable, I've never stayed in a hotel where each of the staff called me by my first name and always enquired if everything was ok and did I need anything. Some other guests that were staying at the same time as me were on their 37th visit in 20 years which says a great deal. The food was fantastic, freshly cooked and authentic, they do offer a full English breakfast if that is what you would like, but I would suggest that if that is what you want to eat this probably isn't the hotel or rsort for you. You should visit here for the genuine Greek hospitality, trust me it's worth it. I was going to be selfish and not write a review and try keep this little jewel hidden but on reflection I thought this would be unfair to the family who work so hard to make your holiday so perfect. I will say the hotel is quite isolated, it is a 20 minute walk into Tholos, and when you get there it's a bit disappointing, but it is only a 45 minute bus ride into Rhodes Town which is beautiful. All in all well worth a visit, you won't be disappointed, I certainly wasn't. Many thanks to Stavros, Tsambica, Apistoles, Nicos and his girlfriend for giving me such a wonderful holiday.
Ps The dogs were entaining too!!
Gail

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We were a little dubious about staying here after reading some of the previous reviews but we were pleasantly surprised. The hotel, yes is old and a little run down, and yes, it is quite far away from the Rhodes town, but for the price you really can't complain. The food was amazing! The place is so lovely and relaxing and the family that run it and staff are really friendly and accommodating. We spent two weeks here after back packing around Europe and it felt like a complete luxury to us! If this place could afford some modernisation it would be fantastic. As it is, the place is all about the experience and it is easy to overlook everything else, especially when you've got Panos serving you a frappe, George cooking you dinner, Marta providing great service and the whole family wishing you a great day!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

This is a small hotel run by a very friendly family, who will make every effort to ensure that your holiday is enjoyable. There is a relaxed atmosphere at this hotel, and we were able to completely unwind, and enjoy the excellent freshly cooked food, and the all-inclusive beer and wine. The pool and bar areas were clean and tidy. The bedrooms and bathrooms are clean, but a little dated, and in need of a few repairs. The hotel is in a quiet location, but good local buses to Rhodes Town, and car hire is fairly cheap. On the whole, this hotel is good value for money, and we will be returning again next year, to sample the excellent hospitality once more.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rhodian Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhodian Sun

Address: Butterflies Rd | Paradeisi, Tholos 85106, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Tholos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Tholos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rhodian Sun 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the Aegean countryside, this hotel near the Butterfly Valley is just 2.5 km from the airport. Enjoy a relaxing holiday just 15 km from Rhodes Town.Sit back and unwind under Greek sunshine around the outdoor swimming pool, soaking up both the rays and the traditional Rhodian hospitality.You will have free use of the Wi-Fi internet in all public areas. A frequent public bus service allows you to travel with ease anywhere on the island. A free airport transfer is also available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Rhodian Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rhodian Sun Tholos
Rhodian Sun Rhodes/Tholos, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rhodian Sun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.