We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rhodian Sun

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Rhodian Sun to your Saves list
Rhodian Sun
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Butterflies Rd | Paradeisi, Tholos 85106, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Tholos
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A fantastic retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

This was my second visit this summer! I continue to be shocked by reviews from people who say its too close to the airport and too far from anything else when you can get all of the information on the internet!!!!!

Close to the airport? Yes. Great I hate long transfers.

Quiet Area? Yes. Perfect for me but if you want busy stay in Faliraki or Rhodes Town/Ixia.

Public transport is great you can get to Rhodes town and then on to anywhere from a bus that stops just 2 minutes from the hotel and its cheap. However a car is a great way to explore. They will even arrange to bring one to the hotel for you!

The hotel offers All Inclusive LIGHT which is free beer and wine only and yes my travel agent got it wrong the first time too. However I have witnessed the staff telling the travel agents to correct this on a number of occasions.

As I have said previously the rooms are basic, usual in Greece (unless you pay for 4* plus) the bathrooms are actually wet rooms i.e fully tiled with a drain in the middle of the floor so no problems with them getting wet!!!!

Food is FANTASTIC cooked by a world class chef and fresh so I would rather wait than eat buffets that have been standing for hours.

The family who run the hotel are wonderful and can't do enough for you, I feel like I have a new Greek Family.

So if you want a quiet and relaxing holiday then this is a definite gem. I am already planning to return with family next year.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    45
    12
    8
    21
See reviews for
26
85
25
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in September 2012 and selected the holiday baised on the reviews already posted on trip advisor. I have never before left a review but feel some of the previous reviews do not give travellers a true picture of this hotel.

First location I would say that the hotel is a little far from local amenities such as shops without car hire the hotel is very isolated.

The hotel

This hotel is in massive need of updating overall it looks shabby rooms are small and shower/ toilet tiny. There are issues caused by the size of bathroom as it floods every time you have a shower. The hotel has nice outdoor space around the pool however it is poorly used and in need of some attention. Pool was nice although a little green on the sides no issues with infections so would assume pool is cleaned, we never saw this take place.

Staff

The staff were all friendly and happy to talk however there were issues at certain times with getting served at the bar.

Food

Food was cooked fresh however took between one and a half and two hours to be served. Quality was ok but menu was same every night except one special dish, this same menu was also uses at dinner time. Breakfast was laughable most people don't bother after the first day. Couldnt even get hot coffee or tea Billy's bar down the road does a great breakfast menu

Issues

The holiday was sold to us as all inclusive light and we were told this Included spirits including vodka wiskey and gin upon arrival we were told spirits were only included after 9 then 2 days into the holiday we were refused and spirits this continued until the last couple of days when the hotel decided we could drink ouzo or brandy. Seemed like the rules were only for some people and not others

Other issues around the bar were the stock as they consistently ran out of things and took days to replace them

Cleaner worked really hard but hotel was to big for her so cleanliness is an issue our balcony had dirt on it when we got there and was never cleaned, beds were made daily but not changed in the week we stayed

There wa also a large number of asylum seekers staying at the hotel durring our stay, I understand they need somewhere to go but not nice when u have paid a lot of money to be there.

Overall the hotel is basic and in need of love, the family are hardworking and friendly.

Would I return possibly if it was unbelievably cheap it is best discribed as a hostel with free beer and ok fresh food

Tip if u do want to go book direct with the hotel and make sure u negotiate hard as they will give the best deals this way but don't expect luxury

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

The one thing we would recommend is car hire! We arrived last week to realise that the hotel was a good 1.5 mile walk away from any local amenities and the nearest beach was not really worth swimming so we needed to explore the island. We got a little jeep for 160 euros for 4 days which was great value, but compare prices, as you can whittle them down a bit in tholos, the nearest town. The hotel itself is in need of some tlc. The photos online are dated. The bedrooms are very basic and showers are rubbish, but do the job. As everyone else says- the food is good in comparison to the buffets you get at most all inclusives, although breakfast isnt anything special- just bread, ham and cheese or cereal.

If you are looking for a quiet retreat though, this is spot on. In August there were only about 5 other couples and family staying, all English.

Worth exploring: Rhodes old town, the kite surfing at the south of the island, st Anthony quins bay and ask the guys who run the hotel, as they will advise you on what to do and see...... Over all - lovely week and enjoyed our stay :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Close to the airport, picked up off the ferry, taken to the airport, very friendly staff, decent bar, good food, little pool, away from the heat of Rhodes Town. We liked it a lot and will use it again because we often need a hotel when out flights & ferries don't work out well. It is only a 2 star and thus doesn't come into the luxury class but we immediately felt at home. Nice big reception area so for a day or two it suited us down to the ground. It is family run and made a nice change from the hotels that are dominated by the big holiday companies.

Room Tip: Ask for a good room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

You could not find a more hospitable family than the one that run this hotel. Their level of customer service was incredible, absolutely beyond all reproach. You will go far to find such hard working and welcoming staff. Where else on an all inclusive would the chef ask you what you wanted for dinner, and then get it and cook it to the highest standard possible?
Yes the rooms are tired but the beds are comfortable, with sheets regularly changed. The bathrooms are small, but there is plentiful hot water and clean towels every day.
We had such a lovely holiday here and made some great friends. If you want a quiet holiday where you are likely to have the pool to yourself, and will eat extremely well, then the lovely Rhodian Sun is the place for you.
Thank you to Mama, Stavros, Nikos, Panos, Panos and Marta for a wonderful holiday that we will always remember.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Although I stayed in only for one night, due to my travel plans, I had a really positive experience in this budget hotel run by a local greek family. Nikolas picked me up in the airport on my late-night-arrival flight (no extra charge - but I tipped). Even though the restaurant was already closed, they cooked a nice meal for me. The common areas are big and spacious. The staff was nice and the room was ok. I would say only to install a curtain shower in the bathroom. The AC was perfect and the balcony had a very nice view in the morning to the greek hills of Rhodes. I would recommend if you are looking for a peaceful place to stay, out of the city center, for a low cost. And if you have a rental car you can go all main spots around. Rhodes island is beautiful!

Room Tip: Have a rental car to fully enjoy the Island. Public transportation is so so.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
212 helpful votes 212 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

It was my 4th visit to this hotel, on my way to and back from Karpathos. I cannot say enough about this hotel it is fantastic and so are the family. Stavros is lovely and will go out of his way to make sure your needs are meet, love him. George what can I say, 'Jamie Oliver ' of Greece food fantastic, Nikos you have to meet him he is great and so welcoming. Mum and dad want to adopt them. I was so glad to read the positive reports on here that this hotel fully deserves, it is a great place for families, couples and singles. Rooms are basic / very clean, but you only sleep in them and rest of the hotel, grounds and food make up for that + room price is cheap compared to rest of Greece. I would highly recommend this hotel, whether for short stay or longer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rhodian Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhodian Sun

Address: Butterflies Rd | Paradeisi, Tholos 85106, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Tholos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Tholos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rhodian Sun 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the Aegean countryside, this hotel near the Butterfly Valley is just 2.5 km from the airport. Enjoy a relaxing holiday just 15 km from Rhodes Town.Sit back and unwind under Greek sunshine around the outdoor swimming pool, soaking up both the rays and the traditional Rhodian hospitality.You will have free use of the Wi-Fi internet in all public areas. A frequent public bus service allows you to travel with ease anywhere on the island. A free airport transfer is also available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Rhodian Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rhodian Sun Tholos
Rhodian Sun Rhodes/Tholos, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rhodian Sun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.