We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star hospitality at 3 star prices” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Filoxenia

Save Saved
You added Filoxenia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Filoxenia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Theologos | 19 Klm Rhodes-Kamiros AV, Tholos 85106, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
€16 (EUR)
Ranked #1 of 12 hotels in Tholos
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“5 Star hospitality at 3 star prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I am currently sat by the uncrowded pool , in the immaculate grounds,using the free WiFi to write this review.After 4 days here I'm happy to say the reviews on here are not wrong..this place is a real find..so much so I don't want it to be spoiled by other's finding out how good it is!!! But that's quite mean as I wouldn't have booked the place if it wasn't for the reviews on trip advisor.

We arrived at 1.30 am and were greeted by Nicks and his son who warmly welcomed us and settled us in to our room. The room has everything you need , the beds are comfy, immaculately clean, enough space to put suitcases,clothes etc. There are cooking facilities , hob and fridge..but who really wants to cook on holiday?? Our room was no27 on the first floor with a large wrap around balcony, great views of the sea and pool area..you definitely don't need a top floor room to enjoy the views. The room has been cleaned daily, and tidied. The cleaning service works around us and us and is not obtrusive. We have paid an extra 5 euros per night for air con, which I wouldn't say is wholly necessary as the room doesn't get overly warm as there are heavy curtains which will block the sun coming thru the patio doors. So air con is a nice to have , but if your budget won't stretch , you won't be boiled alive!


The hotel itself seems to have a big mix of people , from all over Europe. All guests seem to be courteous and there's no anti social behaviour or people reserving sun lounges, you can always
get a nice spot. The pool area is very well maintained, pools very clean, loungers all in a good state..tho it would be nice to have cushions on the loungers.There is no music blaring out by the pool so you can truly relax by the pool.

The food, well I'm delighted to say it's delicious, all meals are served from 9am to late..maybe even midnight! The family are so hospitable and accommodating they don't seem to impose strict rules, they will let you stay in the bar til late, serve food late and the feeling is very relaxed and friendly. I ordinarily prefer big luxury hotels as I hate the idea of being stuck in a foreign country in a grotty room, without home comforts, with an upset tummy from the food. However this hotel has totally changed my view, I have never eaten in the same place more than a couple of nights on previous holidays, as I like to get out and about and try local cuisine.Yet here the home cooked foods is so good.. I don't feel the need to go elsewhere, one night we had cod with garlic sauce and baked veg, another night Stifado...all delicious and very reasonably priced. Grandma's cherry ice cream sauce is yummy as is the pomegranate liquor..free at the end of the meal.

This is not the kind of hotel where you get big groups all being riotous around the bar at night, it's a friendly family place with lots of couples and I'm so happy it's like this , it makes for a lovely , comfortable, relaxing break.

Location is pretty good, it cost €13 from the airport and this is a set charge. However, you could get the bus for a few euros each.. not at the time our flight arrived tho. Rhodes town is a 30 min bus ride away and costs €2.80 each way. Make sure you buy a bus ticket from any of the shops in Tholos or they won't let you on the bus. The bus stop is immediately outside the hotel. Tholos itself is fairly small and the shops and a few bar/restaurant s are with 5 mins walk.. you can get all necessary things here..sun creams , food, toiletries, alcohol, even fake Gucci purses..
The beach is about 5 mins away, tho I haven't made it there yet, so cannot comment other than saying the pool area is so comfortable , it makes you too lazy to go and see the beach.

Overall I would recommend this hotel to anyone, it's perfect for nice clean accommodation,
somewhere close to Rhodes town, great food, a truly friendly welcoming family , who are there for your questions, but leave you alone to enjoy your holiday. This has been the cheapest holiday I've had since leaving uni, but the best! It shows big and flashy isn't always best. Small and unassuming , 3 star prices, with 5 star hospitality.

I hope this place stays the same as I will definitely be coming again in the future.
Don't hesitate to book here, aside from young groups looking for lots of nightlife, I think most would have a brilliant holiday here.

Room Tip: First floor and second floors have great views,corner rooms big balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    111
    15
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
31
69
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

We travelled as a family of 6 and booked this hotel the day before arriving as our original holiday had been cancelled due to an air traffic controllers strike. Arrived at 3am and was welcomed by Nicos and his son Panos. The agency had only booked us one room and not the three we requested but this was not a problem for Nicos even at this unearthly hour. We were given three excellent rooms with super views. As is already well documented the cleaning staff are excellent and rooms were always spotless. Evangelia and other son Michael greeted us the next day and throughout our stay were a joy to meet. Facilities around the pool and in the restaurant are first class and the entire experience made for a relaxing family holiday we will always remember. The family are the nicest people you could wish to meet and are passionate about their hotel and making your holiday stress free and enjoyable. Food is fresh and of good quality and you must have the BBQ on a Saturday night. Will definately be returning in the near future. Thank you Nicos, Evangelia, Panos and Michael. X

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorkshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I wanted a hotel for myself and my daughter to chill, after reading the reviews i decided to book, I'm so glad i chose this property. The owners Nicos and Evangelia not forgetting their two sons are so passionate about making every detail of your holiday special. The rooms are spotless and cleaned daily with fresh linen and towels. The views from the room are lovely, you can see Turkey on a clear day. The hotel grounds are well maintained and the pools area is kept immaculate. Now I must go on to the food which is home cooked and very nice at reasonable prices. They treat you to nice homemade sweets and liquor made by the grandmas! The resort is quiet and peaceful, but you can make a trip into rhodes town by bus for 2.80 euro each way, the bus stop is outside the hotel. Overall i will return, i feel its a safe place especially for lone travellers also for the hospitality of the family.

Room Tip: room 33 high floor and gets the evening sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ngianna8, Owner at Filoxenia, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Hello , hello Helene
Thank again for the wonderful review. This is very helpful for us
Greetings and hugs from all of us

Nikos - Evangeli - Panos -Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Just had a very relaxing week here staying in an apartment which was nicely furnished and immaculately clean. Pros of the Filoxenia are the short distance from the airport, the beautiful gardens which are really well cared for, the lovely pools, the wonderful home cooked food in the restaurant, the quiet location, no loud thumping music, lovely guests, the frog chorus at night, the nearby supermarket, and the biggest asset being the wonderfully warm family who own and run it. The cons...we didn't see any. Yes the planes come over but apart from peak changeover days like Saturday and Wednesdays they are sporadic and gone in seconds. The basic rooms are typically greek but much nicer than others we have stayed in. The immediate local area doesn't have that much going on if you like to be out and about all day though you can get the bus easily into Rhodes or hire a car. We did neither as we were happy to spend our days around the pool and bar area. Every other guest we spoke to felt the same about the standards and hospitality.
To write anything negative about this hotel would I imagine be upsetting to the family who work so hard to make your holiday special and probably undeserved. We loved it. We appreciated everything you did. Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Just arrived back today and cannot thank Nicos and Evengelia and sons enough for their fabulous hospitality. We choose this accomodation after seeing the previous reviews but thought they must be exagerated or the reviews of family and friends, but we found to our delight they were true and you couldn't wish for a nicer family run hotel. The food was to die for, the cleaniness outstanding, the gardens and pools immaculate and the hosts exceptional. The only drawback for us was the lack of any entertainment or nightlife outside the hotel complex. As stated by the previous review there is a bus stop just outside the front entrance with a decent bus service at a fair cost which could take you to Rhodes town in about 30 minutes. Would recomend this hotel to all family and friends if they want a quiet holiday with total relaxation.

Room Tip: We were in room 62 which has fabulous balcony view overlooking the gardens, pool area and the coastl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Stayed at the at the Filoxenia the same time as the ladies from the previous review i can only agree with everything they said . They do mention the planes which do not fly over the apartments but out at sea(do not be put off by this).The resort is very quiet with just a few tavernas,within easy reach of Rhodes town.One tip try the Drosia taverna in theologos village just ten minutes walk up the hill only open in the evenings
Thank you once again Evangilia and Nicos for your wonderful hospitality.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor super views out to sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This is a beautifully maintained family run complex, with fairly basic, but comfortable and immaculately clean, air conditioned rooms, and lovely gardens and pools. Four of us (all ladies) have just got back from here after a super - relaxing holiday. In 35 years of holidays I've never had such a warm welcome. We ended up eating at the hotel every evening apart from the day when we went on a trip, as the food is fabulous - proper Greek home cooking. The hotel is in a quiet area surrounded by fields, but conveniently on the main road with a bus stop right outside and a supermarket 5 mins away. It's near the airport and the planes pass overhead after take off, but we found them quite interesting! The front rooms at the top have wonderful views across to Turkey. Our room (65) had a very big balcony which was an added bonus. If you're a beach person the nearest beach isn't the best as it's quite narrow and stony, (ideally hire a car - we didn't but we would next time) but there are lots of walks in the country once you turn off the main road. This is one place I'd definitely return to. Thank you Nicos and Evangelia for a wonderful holiday and we wish you a prosperous 2013 - you deserve it!

Room Tip: Top floor for fabulous views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Filoxenia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Filoxenia

Address: Theologos | 19 Klm Rhodes-Kamiros AV, Tholos 85106, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Tholos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 hotels in Tholos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Filoxenia 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not just a word: a Philosophy!! Its meaning: friend (FILOS) to the stranger (XENOS)!Welcome to our family, to our home! Filoxenia!The perfect place for family holidays where relaxation, safety, culture and the feeling of traditional warm hospitality is always present!Escape to nature! Located at the outskirts of Tholos village, in the heart of an olive garden, the ideal basis for escapes in the countryside through rural paths and the most important highlights of Rhodes.Our place offersThree (3) swimming pools and free sunbeds for your relaxation during your holidays,alongside with bar-restaurant where you can enjoy delicious home-made food of the Greek cuisine, enjoy your cocktails throughout the warm days of summer or even relax under the shade of the pergola, enjoying the free wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Filoxenia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Filoxenia Hotel Tholos
Filoxenia Rhodes/Tholos, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Filoxenia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.