We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel and Amazing Hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Filoxenia

Save Saved
You added Filoxenia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Filoxenia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Theologos | 19 Klm Rhodes-Kamiros AV, Tholos 85106, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
€16 (EUR)
Ranked #1 of 12 hotels in Tholos
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel and Amazing Hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed at the hotel numerous times now and Evangelia, Nicos and sons are the most amazing hotel owners. Nothing is to much trouble, their hospitality is second to non and would recommend it to anyone. Such a relaxing and warm atmosphere, great traditional Greek food, immaculately clean rooms, 2 pools to relax by. A 5 star hotel in my book. Thank you to the family for making me want to go back year after year.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    113
    16
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
33
70
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Just returned from another fabulous holiday at Filoxenia Hotel. Stayed earlier in the year with my eldest daughter Georgia (21yrs) and this holiday was with my youngest daughter Vickie (18yrs). Both daughters are usually party girls but they just slip into the wonderful relaxing atmosphere at Filoxenia. The apartments are very well looked after and are cleaned every day. The gardens are beautifully planned with mini golf, draughts, chess and childrens play area. You receive the warmest welcome from Nikos, Evangelia and sons Panos and Michael. The food is amazing all home cooked with meat sourced from local butchers, salad, fruit and veg from their own garden. What more could you ask for other than Nikos' own wonderful cooking and Grandmas liquors. Evangelia has an immense knowledge of Rhodes and its history she has some captivating stories to tell and will always find time to share them with you. What more could you ask other than a few cocktails expertly made by sons Panos and Michael. Yes definately returning to Filoxenia again and I would thoroughly recommend you go too!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stayed at this hotel in october, Lovely owners, great relaxing holiday.Would highly reccommend staying here, The family are very very nice and helpful, even the dog is nice.Cant wait to go back.The room we were in on top floor at the end overlooking the hotel and the nice veiw.The food is nice Nicos and Evangelia are a great couple.Room 65 was a lovely room.Thanks Nicos and Evangelia for a lovely holiday at your hotel.see you nxt year.Neil/sheila. x

Room Tip: Rooms on top floor for great veiw and breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Habrough, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Filoxenia is Greek for hospitality and this family run hotel certainly lives up to its name. The family (Evangelia, Nicos and their sons Panos and Michali) cannot do enough for you. All the staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are spotless and comfortable. There is enough kitchen equipment to cook for yourself but given that the hotel food is freshly cooked on the premises, absolutely delicious and very reasonably priced who would want to cook? As a single traveller I felt totally safe and very, very welcome. I highly recommend the Filoxenia for a completely relaxing, superb holiday

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We loved the Filoxenia - beautiful gardens and a great taverna style restaurant which was popular with passing tourists as well as residents. The family made us feel really welcome and worked tirelessly from morning until night while we were there.
Obviously very convenient for the airport although we had awful flight times on the way home so we would probably have been better off on a longer transfer! At least we got to play midnight mini-golf. The hotel is somewhat under the flight path for the airport but it's surprising how quickly you stop noticing - we weren't disturbed by flights at night, or at all really!
I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Rhodes.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We arrived to a lovely warm welcome, our rooms were very clean and a good size. There are two pools which are cleaned daily and there are plenty of sunbeds to go around all situated in a beautiful well maintained garden area. The most outstanding thing about this hotel is the family who run it, Evangelina, Nicos and their sons who do everything possible to ensure your stay is a great one and nothing is too much trouble. Evangelina's is happy to spend time advising you of places to visit and her knowledge of the history of the island is second to none. All our meals were excellent, the food home-cooked with a good choice of traditional Greek dishes. The Saturday night BBQ is a must as is Grandma's homemade liquor. The Filoxenia is situated in a quite villiage ideal for those looking for a relaxing holiday, however there is a bus stop outside the hotel with a regular bus service to Rhodes town. All in all a fantastic holiday which we would thoroughly recommend and we hope to return next year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Went to Rhodos and Filoxenia with my oldest daughter, 11 years old. We enyoyed a week with wonderful, organic food, relaxing by (and in) the pool and the wonderful hospitality of the Filoxenia family. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Filoxenia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Filoxenia

Address: Theologos | 19 Klm Rhodes-Kamiros AV, Tholos 85106, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Tholos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 hotels in Tholos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Filoxenia 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not just a word: a Philosophy!! Its meaning: friend (FILOS) to the stranger (XENOS)!Welcome to our family, to our home! Filoxenia!The perfect place for family holidays where relaxation, safety, culture and the feeling of traditional warm hospitality is always present!Escape to nature! Located at the outskirts of Tholos village, in the heart of an olive garden, the ideal basis for escapes in the countryside through rural paths and the most important highlights of Rhodes.Our place offersThree (3) swimming pools and free sunbeds for your relaxation during your holidays,alongside with bar-restaurant where you can enjoy delicious home-made food of the Greek cuisine, enjoy your cocktails throughout the warm days of summer or even relax under the shade of the pergola, enjoying the free wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Filoxenia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Filoxenia Hotel Tholos
Filoxenia Rhodes/Tholos, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Filoxenia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.