We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Relaxing Holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Summer Dream Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Summer Dream Hotel to your Saves list
Summer Dream Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Theologos, Tholos 85106, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Tholos
Bridgend, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous Relaxing Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We have just come back from a two week holiday and i have to say have had a wonderful time. Dont listen to the people who are complaining. This hotel is small and friendly and all the staff give you a warm welcome. They love kids and always make a fuss of them. Hotel rooms are spacious, ok, basic but clean-what do you want when you are on holiday. My main concern is that we have regular change of towels (which we did every day), maid service who made the beds and swept through and emptied the bins. We always had hot water every night to shower and free Air-con. Food is good. Alot of pork chops, chicken, pasta and salads, chips,pizza all buffet style. It was only me and my 11 year old daughter who i have to say met loads of friends from all around the UK and Europe who played safely every day in the pool which was relaxing for me to be able to chill out and read my books. Plenty of free sun loungers, pool side drinks all free from 10.15 to 17.30. Dont need to worry about cost of drinks for your kids they just keep going up to the pool bar as all inclusive.(real coke,orange juice,fanta) Local bus service just down the road to get to Rhodes 20 mins away or adequate car hire in the town if needed. The weather was boiling hot. What more can you wish for. Very quiet at nights just a little taverna area in the bar area where drinks are served free til 10.30. I really like it as it is excellent value for money and there is no noise at nights - really this is for people who want a nice relaxing holiday without any frills and you tell me where you could stay anywhere in the UK for this sort of money and guarantee the sunshine. The beach only down the road where water sports are offered if required. I agree with some of the reviews, people mourn, but in my opinion if they want the Ritz then go and pay for the Hilton down the road. When im on holiday i dont want to be worried about what im going to wear, i have enough of that when back home in work. Im happy in my shorts and flipflops. Hey we have a lovely home back in the UK , but who are the fools how much time do you spend in your room???More importantly we met loads of families who were down to earth from the UK who made our holiday a really pleasureable experience. Will definitely go back. Well Done Summer Dream! PS. dont listen about the bugs we saw only 1 cockroach all 2 weeks we were there and you have to understand we are in a tropical country with temperatures over 40 some days! Only 10 mins from airport!

Room Tip: Ask them for rooms over looking pool if required or ground floor(only two floors) in case of prams o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    55
    58
    35
    58
See reviews for
100
93
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
durham
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We were really worried about this holiday after reading many reviews on here, but we had one of the best holidays we've ever had, so much so, that we will return and we have NEVER done that before. The hotel was basic but clean,ALL the staff were fabulous and so committed to the hotel and their guests and the air con was free. Food was plentiful and a good variety - a lot better than many places we have stayed in. The public transport was great (although very packed - not for the faint hearted, but all part of the Greek experience!) and meant we could get around when we wanted, but we spent a lot of time at the pool and the beach and just relaxed. It was very quiet but if we wanted entertainment there was plenty to do in the town.
I have to say that some of the photos on here paint the hotel in a bad light but take note - they are not in context and do not always relate to the hotel, but its surrounding areas. Greece is not the cleanest country and it does have bugs - it is the middle of summer and very hot - what do people expect?
If you want five star treatment then pay for it (but in my personal experience that is not always what its cracked up to be either) however, if you want a relaxing, cost effective holiday with lovely staff who create a really welcoming atmosphere, then Summer Dream is for you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

hotel was bad, food wasn't great same stuff every day. Wasnt too far from the beach tho and had some good bars and resturants near by with friendly people, get what you pay for really but could be alot better staff at the hotel were quite rude and grumpy apart from the receptionist...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We've just returned from a weeks stay at the Summer Dream. After reading some of the reviews on here we were a little worried how it would go, but we neednt have been. We were greeted by a lovely receptionist who bent over backwards to help whenever we needed it. We have 3 kids, one of which is a 9 month old baby, the staff doted on them! They were showered with kisses, cuddles and non alcoholic cocktails daily. The food is traditional Greek, which we love, not great if your kids only eat chicken nuggets and chips, but ours were happy to try anything there was there so it wasnt an issue for us. The ice cream is to die for and drinks available at the touch of a button. The room was basic, but just what was needed, air con was free and was a godsend! Great having a bath too to bath the kids instead of sticking them under a shower. The hotel was clean and pleasant, if a little dated, but all in all a nice place to stay. The chlorine in the pool is a little on the strong side!! Your swimming costumes will come home with a yellow tinge to them, which wont wash out, but hey ho. I'd recommend hiring a car to get to see the other side of the island, Tholos is a bit dead and not very traditional Greece, but Lindos is a 40 min drive and well worth a visit, Ladiko bay is also excellent for kids, very shallow warm waters :-) Dont listen to the bad reviews, I suspect a lot of the people who wrote them were expecting 5* luxury for £300 per head, which just isnt going to happen. For a cheap holiday, this place was fab.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We have just returned from 5 nights at the Summer Dream Hotel, where we had an excellent holiday.

Service;
Every member of staff at the hotel was brilliant. They honestly could not do enough for you and always greeted you with a warm smile.

Location;
The hotel is in a quiet location, however within a 5 minute walk you have a brilliant beach which is never crowded, great beach bar serving food and drink, ice cream, then you also have a strip near the hotel with a few restaurants, bars, hotels and souvenir shops. Everything you could need! On this road you will also find the bus stop which has buses to the airport and Rhodes town. Rhodes town is an excellent evening out. Be warned the buses only run until 10pm weekdays and 11pm on a Saturday. However the service was very good and always bang on time. It takes about 40 minutes from the hotel to Rhodes town.

When you arrive at the airport it is probably best to get a taxi to the hotel because it is very close.

Hotel services;
The rooms are clean and tidy with nice balconies or patios which look out onto the grass. The rooms are very basic but this shouldn't matter as you're only sleeping in them. The air conditioning in the rooms is free in the peak season,which is very rare in hotels now. The temperature outside was incredibly hot but the room was always cool. We had zero complaints about the food. There is always plenty of it,even if you arrive 10 minutes before they close. The selection was good with meats, fish, salads to choose from. A good mixture between British favourites and more Greek dishes. You can help yourself to beer, wine and soft drinks throughout the meal. For desert there is always ice cream and some sort of cake or fresh fruit.

We must admit that we are not pool people, more beach people, which is why we only went to the pool once. However the pool was large, clean, good showers/toilets and lots of sunbeds. The pool bar served drinks all day and some snacks such as pizza. (The snacks were not very exciting but it didn't matter as the large meals were very filling.)

The bar in the evening was brilliant. It had a great atmosphere and all the staff were in good humour. Excellent selection of free drinks to choose from including beer, wine, ouzo, other common spirits and cocktails.

Overall the holiday was incredibly cheap and we feel we received far more in service than what we paid for. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a quiet, relaxing and cost efficient break!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

You want 5* accommodation
You are not happy to eat traditional Greek food for 2 weeks
You are expecting the same standards as Sharm el Sheik or Spain (This is Greece)

If you meet the criteria above then you will have a great holiday here is my feedback:

Accommodation

Reading some reviews you would think that this was awful however we were pleasantly surprised, as ive stated above this is Greece and accommodation is always basic. The rooms are spacious the beds fairly comfortable, Bathrooms do the job and you have free air con in summer months which if you take the filters out pumps out endless cold air. Ok so you get a TV in the room which only has foreign channels or the awful BBC world news channel but do you go on holiday to watch TV?? They would be better taking them out of the rooms. We stayed in room 259 so would recommend this room and block as no noise and nice view of pool area.

The dinning room block is ok it serves its purpose but does get hot when there is no breeze, try to sit next to a window and open it wide!

The evening bar is relaxed, If you want entertainment every night go somewhere else, we were just happy to chill and talk to other guests and make our own entertainment. There is Karaoke on a Sunday night and although not my sort of thing both of these nights were great fun.

Pool Area

Big winner for us having a 3 year old who loves swimming, pool is clean and surround is ok. Pool bar is basic but does the job. There are reports of bugs etc in pool, yes you do get bugs in the pool but this is Greece and the accommodation is rural what do you expect?

Food and Drink

For what you pay the food is excellent, it is traditionally Greek which causes some people to complain, generally you get the following:

Breakfast

Bread, Cheese, Ham, Salami, Eggs, Bacon (Greek Bacon), Frankfurter sausages, Tomatoes cereal and a few other bits.

Lunch

Changes daily but generally Salad selection, Pasta selection, potatoes in one form or another, a meet dish or 2 a fish dish, occasionally chips, vegetables etc etc

Evening meal

Same selection as lunch but never the same as that days lunch selection

Personally ive been known to be a fussy eater but had no problems with the food, we only ate out twice in the evening and this was due to being out exploring.

Pool snacks

To be honest a bit of a let down some days ok others not worth bothering, generally at 10.15 you get either pizza, sandwiches, lovely cheese pies or whats left over from breakfast. however if you eat breakfast lunch & dinner you wont need to snack!

Drinks

All inclusive drinks are fine, usual soft drinks, beer, wine, rum, ouzo & cocktails all free and NO RESTRICTIONS until 10.30pm It has been mentioned that it is only one drink per person but we never saw any evidence of this, as long as you don't take the mick and load your table up like some russians the staff will be friendly and happy to serve you unrestricted until 10.30pm, some nights if the bar was quiet the manager gave drinks free after 10.30pm as well.

We bought wine from the local supermarkets to drink on our balcony as we ofter retired to our room at 10.30 due to our 3 year old.

Staff

Melina on reception is lovely and so helpful however in her effort to help she can overload you with information. Everone else was great and made us feel welcome. If you talk to them and say please and thank you you will get the same service back.

Location

Tholos is a village with around 3 small supermarkets 3-4 very english tavernas, car hire centres and a few other larger hotels. The village has been hit hard by the all inclussive market so dont expect a big night out. for us it was perfect. The hotel is 5 min walk from shops and first taverna. set in the middle of fields and a few local houses on a quiet road. If you want entertainment and pubs it wont be for you.

Overall I was very pleased after reading some reviews and felt we got excellent value for money. Each to there own however if you understand Greece and are open minded im sure you will enjoy your holiday as much as we did.

Also I would hire a car and visit Lindos & Tsampika beach we had a car for 3 days for 5 of us for just 135 euro.

The bus into Rhodes Town takes around 45 - 50 mins and costs 2.60 euro be warned that it gets very busy the closer to Rhodes you get!!!

Enjoy you holiday!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frodsham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We have just come back from a lovely 11 day holiday at the summer dreams hotel.
This hotel is great value for money the staff could not have been nicer or done more for us. We had a problem with our flight tickets and Zoe did all she could to help (thank you Zoe) The hotel also provided us with more than enough information on day trips, taxis, buses etc. The food was great always something different at meal times. The hotel itself could do with a bit of TLC but apart from that we have had a fab holiday, met some lovely people and we look forward to returning next year.
There are quite a few bars and restaurants at the bottom of the road may I suggest the lemon tree (bottom of road turn left) for authentic Greek hospitality and such beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Summer Dream Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Dream Hotel

Address: Theologos, Tholos 85106, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Tholos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Tholos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Summer Dream Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your Summer Dream Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summer Dream Tholos
Hotel Summer Dream
Summer Dream Rhodes
Summer Dream Hotel Rhodes/Tholos, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Summer Dream Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.