We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Retun visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meliton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Meliton Hotel to your Saves list
Meliton Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Theologos | Theologos, Rhodes, Dodecanese, Greece, Tholos 85106, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Tholos
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Retun visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

After the wonderful holiday last year we returned in September this year, the welcome we received on arrival was wonderful the room was spotless as before and the public areas were once again immaculate. The staff ( the same as last year ) were as before attentive and friendly. The food was appetising and freshly prepared but would not suit someone that prefers English style food , but then it is a Greek Island.

The only two faults I would mention was firstly the television in the room had no English speaking chanel which was very frustrating and secondly even taking into account it was near the end of the season the endless football nearly every night on the large screen in the bar area became somewhat tedious ( it was the bundesleague a German league I believe )and felt that the cancellation of the film night to watch German football was unnecessary however the staff and owners appeared to enjoy it.

All in all it was as we expected a warm welcome, friendly staff and good food and even greater weather.

The niggle about the tv and football is a personal thing others probably loved it
I would definitely recommend the hotel for a relaxing holiday we like the semi remote location but this would not suit everyone , basically if you book and stay in the hotel you get what it says on the can so don't expect five star for a two/three star price.

Should we go to Rhodes next year we would without hesitation book and stay at the hotel again it is great value for money

Room Tip: We prefer rooms at the front of the hotel as we feel they are quieter as they are away from the bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    112
    61
    37
    49
See reviews for
90
164
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Alloa, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Back again for another holiday. Couldn't get the room we requested due to being very busy but got a super room inside. However within 2 days we got our garden room. The food as always was very good , freshly made and tasty. Staff are excellent so friendly and welcoming. Dimitri and Katerina as always look after us and Olympia, Toti, Vasillis, and Beqa look after our every want. Were devastated to hear about Giorgio when we came home. He will be sorely missed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Just back home on 3rd October had a lovely relaxing time food good staff was lovely. Met some nice people and it was very clean only not much entertainment at night but u can get taxi 2 the pubs along main road .we will go back Alison and jim. Dundee

Room Tip: Sunny balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worksop, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

~Been to the Meliton Hotel twice before on a self catering board and it was brilliant,10 years later we went in September 2013 and it wasnt good as all inclusive,night one arrived at 9pm told no food,drinks were only allowed if u took your glasses back emply,all inclusive should mean from 10 to 11pm but it was not.Food cold and crap,had to eat at Dundees most nights which was brilliant,good karaoke nite at meliton,and good greek nite,but still had to go to Dundees for more entertainment. Weather fantastic,would go again but only on sc basis
We were put next door to 2 older ladies on our first nite and they partied till 5 every morning,so now were ready for an holiday.

Room Tip: ~Front facing rooms are quieter,as no noise from pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Meliton in September. A wonderful family run Hotel, nothing is too much trouble, Good fresh food and plenty of it, with drink's flowing freely, one of the best beers I have had in a long time. We made friends with new guests Jill and Carole and returning guests Maureen and Allan and had good day's and some fab nights, the Greek night was excellent and good fun.....DO NOT be put off, would we go back ? try and stop us, for the money you pay its just perfect. Thank you Dimitri and Katerina and Your lovely family for a wonderful time, You all work so hard, see you next year.

Room Tip: We had room 13 which got the sun all day long.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We have just returned from 2 weeks at the Meliton Hotel and we're with those who enjoyed their stay. We found the staff very polite, friendly and helpful. The food was perfectly fine and the chef comes out of the kitchen regularly to see what needs replacing. There is always plenty of food available with a good choice for such a budget hotel. I think some of the earlier negative comments were perhaps overlooking the very low cost of staying here. The hotel and gardens are kept spotlessly clean with sheets changed every other day and clean towels every day. The bus to Rhodes Town comes right to the hotel at 9.30 every day and there are also some nice walks from the hotel itself as there are fields and olive groves all around. It's easy to walk into Theologus itself and to the beach although you can also get the free minibus from the hotel to the beach. There are some very cute cats at the hotel and at night the frogs come out and sing to you. Our room was at the front of the hotel and we didn't experience any disturbance apart from one extremely loud lady who didn't speak but just shouted all the time, including when she rolled back to the hotel in the early hours. We spoke to a couple who were in the room above hers and they actually asked to be moved to another room which they were. The hotel can't prevent guests behaving badly but they certainly tried to accommodate everyone so they were happy. As it's off the beaten track, there is no passing traffic so it is really peaceful and quiet. We would definitely go again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Arrived here as a last minute getaway was nervy having read differing comments regarding this hotel, but decided to form our own opions,and what a suprise, hotel was a little off the beaten track but that suited us as we like a stroll before or after our dinner,it was only a short walk to the beautiful village(1km away 15-20 minute stroll) or 5 mins walk to the local bus stop that took you into Rhodes town were you could catch further local transport to places all over the island, if you like to explore on your own rather than an organised tour ( cheaper too)Hotel was very good friendly staff, owners always on hand if you needed them nothing and i mean nothing seemed like too much trouble to them, even joining in the dancing on their Greek Night themed evening, very good hosts it is a family run hotel and after a couple of days you actually feel part of their family. Rooms were well presented and very clean, cleaned each and every day clean towels (although a little rough, but no softner in Greece wherever you go ) yes shower floor got wet (but again where ever you are in Greece it does) but there were enough shower mats to make sure you were safe when stepping out of the shower Food was good and wholesome lots of salads couple of choices for mains lovely breads enough of everything that you would certainly not go hungry ( remember it is a little family Hotel and meals are made with a big family in mind that way very little waste if you make lots of different meals then they dont get eaten then its a waste and Hotel cost go up) Drinks were always available and saw no restrictions the barmen were always there ready to serve so no waiting and always with a smile we never experienced any negativity from any member of staff as said all were always willing to help,To sum up, A good friendly family run hotel that hasnt over streched its self by going too big and losing the personal touches and will do everything possible to make you have a good relaxing holiday so as you return ,a fact bourne out by way we met and spoke to several couples who had be returning for several years ( a club we will be joining) If you want big hotel experience of loud music lavish food numerous choice on the menu free flowing drinks till all hours of the day and night then this hotel is Not for you But if you still value being looked after with personal touches then Go visit the Meliton Family run hotel relax unwind let them take the strain we are glad we formed our own opions and can garentee wil wil be returning Well done Dimitri and Katerina

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Meliton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meliton Hotel

Address: Theologos | Theologos, Rhodes, Dodecanese, Greece, Tholos 85106, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Tholos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Tholos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Meliton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very close to the Valley of Butterflies, the ancient city of Kameiros and just 10 minutes drive from the "Diagoras" Airport of Rhodes, Meliton Hotel is situated in Theologos, combining the tourism of the area with the tranquillity, the nature and the breeze of the west coast. Since 1989, this family-run hotel with affection provides their guests with comfort and genuine Greek hospitality. The hotel is perfect for relaxing holidays and that is why it attracts many repeated customers. The 3 building complex hotel features a total of 50 rooms, divided in the Main Building and 2 side Buildings. All rooms are elegantly furnished, in order to provide an accommodation as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Meliton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meliton Hotel Tholos
Meliton Hotel Rhodes/Tholos, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meliton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.