We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alkmini Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Alkmini Hotel to your Saves list
Alkmini Hotel
5.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Tholos 85106, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Blackpool
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

I stayed at the Alkmini Hotel in May 2012 and absolutely love the place. Mike and Alkmini are lovely people and nothing is too much trouble for them. The apartments are great and are cleaned every other day. If self catering is what you like to do then here is the place to be. I do recommend hiring a car so you can get all over the island but the bus service is good too. Tholos is a nice quiet area and as a veteran self caterer in Rhodes this is definitely my favourite place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    7
    3
    2
    4
See reviews for
15
14
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reading, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Me and my family went on holiday to Alkmini hotel last week for 10 days and had an amazing time! The owners Alkmini and Mike as well as their daughter Rita were lovely and incredibly hospitable and friendly ensuring we had a relaxing, enjoyable stay throughout.
The rooms were basic, but kept very clean- the cleaner came every other day and made the apartment spotless! Towels and sheets were changed regularly.
The pool was always very clean and we spent quite a few days simply relaxing by the pool on the sun loungers! The bar by the pool was always open to get food and drinks from.
Although there wasn't an actual restaurant, they do serve food at Alkmini and it was very nice.However, we did go out most nights and eat at different places nearby.
All the locals were very friendly and welcoming! We went in to Rhodes Town and saw the old town twice during our stay-there is a bus stop at the end of the road! This is a good day out and I would recommend it!
Mike also took us to Faliraki and the Butterfly Valley for less than a taxi would cost!
There are many shops and places to eat along the road near the hotel as well as a great bar/cafe called the Lemon Tree! I would highly recommend this place as the owners are lovely and drinks are good.
Due to only certain rooms having air conditioning in the hotel, we had rooms without it. At night it was very hot but freezing bottles of water and sleeping with them in bed with you kept us incredibly cool and the heat wasn't much of a problem at night because of this! Also, buy plug in mosquito repellents or spray as there will be mosquitos- as there would be in any place.
I would highly recommend going here for a relaxed, friendly atmosphere and a fantastic family who treat you like old friends!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We went to Rhodes for 3 weeks and stayed the 1st week at the Alkmini as we wanted to see that side of the island for a change. We loved it there - a lovely big clean room with 2 balconies. On arrival we were met by the friendly Ritsa who showed us to our room. Going to the bar we met Ritsas mum Alkmini and her husband Mike - they are so friendly and sit at the back of the bar, always being available for guests. The food was lovely and the drinks a reasonable price. The pool is big and when we were there it was very peaceful and quiet. There was always a cheery hello from Mike each morning. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from the beach and a short walk from the small village. It was nice sitting with the family late one night at the bar with their family and friends - made us feel part of them!! Thanks all - a lovely hotel with fantastic people!! Ian and Lindsey x

Room Tip: We had one of the room furthest from the pool and facing the road - lovely views of olive groves and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We booked the Alkmini just a week before departure and had a lovely time. The family run hotel is very welcoming our apartment was clean, large (two balconies) and bright. The pool area large and relaxing boasts a childrens' pool as well as a large pool for swimmers. Nothing was too much trouble for Mike and his family, we would definately return if holidaying in Rhodes again.
Chris and Graham Love, July 2012

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Alkmini apartments the last week in June and booked as a last minute holiday so no transfers were arranged. Taxis were plentiful at the airport and cost 13 euros.
.On arrival at Alkmini's Mike was there to greet us and show us to our room. we were delighted with the size of the apartment compared to normal Greek accommodation it was very spacious 2 good sized rooms double balcony typical Greek shower with shower curtain (bonus) and typical Greek sink/fridge combination with the added luxury of an electric kettle. The apartment was spotless. We arrived quite late so abandoned suitcases and went down to the pool bar for a drink. We asked if there was anywhere we could get food but it was really too late but Mike offered to make us something but in the end he phoned a cousin who dropped off 2 Souvlaki pittas for us which was very kind and most welcome.
Mike and his family are really the most hospitable and kindest people we have encountered in our many years of Greek holidays nothing was too much trouble the food was delightful and tasty and very reasonably priced .
Mike also offers a minibus transfer back to the airport for 10 euros.
I would recommend these apartments if you want a relaxing holiday by the pool with good food and excellent hospitality

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

I have been on holiday to Tholos in Rhodes at the beginning of June 2012 and stayed at the Alkmini Apartment. I must say that I was very impressed with the lovely apartment I was given. Clean, tidy and very comfortable, i must report. I travelled alone so was a bit apprehensive but was put at ease immediately on my arrival. Mike and his lovely wife Alkmini were so kind and made me so welcome I was sad to leave. The atmosphere and surroundings are so peaceful and very safe I would recommend this to all. The bar and swimming pool area is also really lovely and a treat too. They definitely get a 12 out of 10 for hospitality, quality and value for money. REALLY ENJOYED MY STAY. THANKS TO MIKE AND ALKMINI and my best wishes to them for a very prosperous future.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely with balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

We had two wonderful weeks at Alkmini Hotel in August 2011, we had read all the comments before we arrived. But were pleasantly surprised to find a warm welcome and spacious accommodation and an extra large balcony. The owners Mike and Alkmini were very generous hosts who couldn't do enough to make our holiday a relaxing and enjoyable experience, the food was traditional Greek recipes that were tasty and delicious!!! At very reasonable prices and good sized portions, we also mostly had the pool area to ourselves to our grandchildren's delight! We would definitely return and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to others! The rooms were cleaned every other day and linen and towels changed too. The locals were friendly and many amenities were within walking distance and the beach was a 10 minute walk away and popular with wind surfers, we had a lovely time!

Room Tip: its worth paying a little extra to have a family room as it is much more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alkmini Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alkmini Hotel

Address: Tholos 85106, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Tholos
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Tholos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Alkmini Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Alkmini Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alkmini Hotel Rhodes/Tholos, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alkmini Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.