We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doreta Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Doreta Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Doreta Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   on the beach, Tholos 85106, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Tholos
Jerusalem - Israel
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for five nights with the wife and the kids. The hotel is good, swimming pools are a little small but not bad, the beach is great and is just 10 meters from the pool. However the rooms are very old and out fashioned. I stayed in room 206 & 207 and they are very old. Each room has one double bed and one two floors bed, and the second floor bed is very difficult to reach. I know there are some renovated rooms, but we were not lucky enough to get those.
In general the vacation was great and overall the hotel was worth the money.
There is also several other things for kids such as a kids club, small engine operated cars.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    228
    180
    149
    164
See reviews for
357
222
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed recently- The rooms are not finished in some parts of the hotel, and as we arrived in the middle of the night- as usually happens, we were given a silly room, no view, and only I bed for all 3 of us!!! BUT.... In the morning The French manager (lovely man) sorted is out a great room with a view, reception staff are
The pool and beach were fabulous, more than enough sunbeds, a great feeling of hospitality, clean pebbly beach, gorgeous breeze,tennis courts,beach bar with excellent smiley staff - whatore could you want.
Food was tasty, fresh and well presented.
We didn't pay a lot but we definatly got what we paid for and more- I'd go again anytime I need a cheap break. Terrific find.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Was an amazing vacation!!!
A very nice place for families and children
Lovely staff!
Especially:
Evdokia Mastrotheodorou, in charge of Doreta's Kids Club.she was so Sweet
We fell in love with her!!!!
thank u Evi!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I know the hotel has been getting a bit of hard time review wise for a while, and rightly so, stories about people being put to other hotels continued while we were there this week. Having said that, I think the rooms were all near completion as we left (ours was getting the final touches while we stayed there!) and so I imagine that people will get their booked room fairly soon.
As for the fascilities etc, I enjoyed the buffet food, even more than the a la carte resteraunt and onsite taverna actually, there was good range and it was very tasty. The pool is fantastic for adults and kids, and the beach is literally right at the hotel with dedicated free sunbeds. Maybe wear sandals when you enter the sea as it's a bit pebbly (the beach itself is sandy though!) I had a massage in the spa, really nice, and the staff generally are fantastically friendly and helpful if you are polite and friendly too! There are some real star staff, the pool bar for example and the restaurant manager, who loves to say hello and shake your hand. The shop in the hotel is good for all odds and ends and there are also other supermarkets nearby (a few bars too!).
I think for the price (as long as you get your room, which I hope people will now) it's a great option for some guaranteed sun and sea, really can't complain. The only thing I'd say is make sure your air con is working because otherwise it's difficult to sleep for the heat.

Room Tip: 'B' rooms (bungalow rooms) are right on the beach, with the balcony facing the sunset - gorg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We travelled as a family and on arrival at the Doreta our hearts sunk when we where informed that due to our rooms being renovated we had to move to another hotel 6 miles down the coast for the night. Not what you want after a long day travelling/flights etc.

I insisted on a meeting with the manager (Dimitreas) and was assured the hotel would retrieve the situation during our 2 week stay and to be fair he was true to his word. The situation with customers having to move to other hotels shouldnt be happening though.

Once in our adjoining rooms (1st floor) we could see they had been renovated and we had a partial seas view which was appreciated. During our stay we had to request clean towels in our rooms on three seperate occasions, still not recieving them before showering to dress for evening dinner. Its not really acceptable that there appears to be a shortage of towels.

OK, thats the negative aspects of our holiday out of the way. Now for the many positives !!
The Doreta Hotel is blessed to have some great staff, the girls on the reception are so helpful and genuine and helped to smooth out the problems that i have highlighted, they are a credit to the hotel. The manager and assistant are also very nice people and approachable, if you encounter any problem dont sit and moan about it have a word with the people mentioned because they will rectify it.

The restaurant was busy and the little fellow who runs it does a great job, the food we all found to be very good. If you like traditional greek dishes you cant go wrong. There is a salad bar, tasty soups, pasta, meat, roast potatoes, veg etc and also daily fish dishes. The Taverna is ok but hit and miss with the service (understaffed) and the medditeranean restaurant is nice but watch out for the wine prices (you pay for drinks). The snack bar by the pool serves food all day long and is a good option for grabbing a sandwich/spaghetti/chips etc. We really enjoyed all the food.

The bar areas are all ok and in the eating places you serve yourself if you want wine/beer/ soft drinks. The guys in the pool bar juggle bottles and glasses at night and put on a show. I wasnt keen on the wines or beer but enjoyed ther gin and tonics. Its a case of finding a drink that you like.

Now we come to the animation team and i will give them 10/10. From 10am to 11pm they never stop and there is always something going on at this hotel the kids will love it. The evening shows are also good compared to others we have seen over the years. You wont be bored around the hotel because these guys have everything going on from exercise and stretching to organised walks and volleyball/football/dance lessons etc. They are a great bunch of lads and lasses.

The English are in the minority at this hotel which didnt bother us in the slightest but i have to admit some of the lack of manners from certain nationalities was astounding, have these people forgotten how to say "please and thank you" ?? The way some of them talk to the staff and bar servers is disgusting, they should be ashamed of themselves.

Anyway, i travelled with my wife and son and mother in law ( it was part of her 70th birthday celebration) and on refelection we all enjoyed our holiday. Regarding the Doreta they are only minor things that stop me giving the hotel 4 star, things which could easily be solved (buy extra towels) but like i stated the hotel has a lot more good points than bad ones !!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

When we first arrived at Doreta, we were very impressed with the modern reception. However when we got to our room on the 1st floor we were very disappointed as we had booked a room with a double bed, but instead they had pushed two singles together with a gap about 15cm apart due to the bed frame. There was no telephone in the room either.
We complained to reception and they said another room will be ready in 2 days.

In the meantime, the food was ok, quite bland, and not that much variation. We also spent almost every night at the beach/pool bar which was fantastic. The barmen were very accommodating and friendly (and a bit flirty! jealous boyfriends keep away!), after a few days they knew what we wanted. The drinks at the restaurant/buffet were awful! the apple and orange juice was just flat orangade/appletiser, so there was no fresh fruit juice available.

We eventually changed rooms and weren't aware that you could view the room before accepting it. We were moved to the 2nd floor which was unbelievably old fashioned. Sure enough it had a double bed, but we paid for a sea view room and could only see the sea when the tree in front of the balcony moved in the wind!!! What a joke!!

My other half went straight down to reception to try and get out other room back but it was gone after 5 minutes of handing them the key back!!!
We were offered a new room, on the 1st floor again. It had a shared balcony and a door between us and next door which wasn't great. Again, it wasn't a double bed but we'd given up changing rooms and just wanted to relax for the holiday.

The beach was more stony/pebbly than I thought, and since it was windy, the sea was really rough. If you are going to go into the sea I recommend wearing some sort of water shoes because the stones on the ground were very sharp.

The pool was lovely, had to get up at 5am to put towels down, and even then, nearly all were taken up.The slides were a lot of fun if you're big kids like us!

The a la carte restaurant was absolutely dismal! It looked great and was quiet, but the food was really not good. The flavours didn't mix well, and the drinks were super expensive! 2 euros for a bottle of water which you could get for free on the other side of the hotel.

Similar to another review I read, we had our towels taken everyday but hardly ever got new ones so had to go down to reception to ask for some. Other than this the maids did a very good job and were very thorough.

All of the staff were excellent and very helpful! The animation team were great! Wish they'd done more shows in english though.
The worst thing about the hotel was unfortunately the other people there. It consisted of mainly Russian families and French elderly who were all very rude and arrogant! English people were definitely a minority.

We traveled to Lindos for the day which was beautiful, however be ready for ridiculously high temperatures. It was at least 40 degrees when we were there. The sea is a complete contrast to the one in Tholos. It was so clear and calm. Lovely for a swim.

Overall the stay was good value for the money, however there are better 4 star hotels out there. Would not pay to go back, as it just wasn't for us.

Room Tip: Floor 2 has not been renovated so do not accept a room there unless you like old fashioned decor and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Well what to say, we came to this hotel 5 years ago and had a fab time, sadley this time it was'nt no where near the same, although they have made some renovations and updated the Doreta, the food was no where near as good, in truth we were treat like second class citizen, the Russians and the French had the best rooms best service, i really believe there trying to get rid of the English at this hotel, and that is so sad, as many people we have met have returned to this hotel for years, but will not be returning.
Rhodes is a spectacular island, so if you do go here then just use it as a base. There are some beautiful hotels here as we spent time in other's rather than using the Doreta, because of the foriegners, and the lack of beds, or should i say the greedy foriegners taking everything, including the food...

The best part of our holiday was finding Dundee's, after asking at other bars where it was, as we had heard there was a Aussie bar on trip adviser, its a ten minute walk from the doreta turning right out of the gates, fantastic food, full english 5 euro's and it is english, including lurpak lol...steaks are the best meat i have tasted, the kids loved the burgers, entertainment every night, and staff so welcoming, made us feel at home,Angelo's cocktails are to die for, Nick the owner sorted us with a hire car, and even trusted us when we could'nt get any money out of the bank, to tic up lol...Linzy is just a genuine lovely helpful lady and will go out of here way to help if she can, well worth a visit, made our holiday, we will deffinatley go back to Rhodes, Tholos too but we will stay in smaller family run hotel, where your treat like a person, not a number....Thanks dundee's and all your staff for making our holiday worth while, we will be back next year....

Room Tip: Refuse to be moved.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doreta Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doreta Beach Hotel

Address: on the beach, Tholos 85106, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Tholos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Tholos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Doreta Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 390
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Doreta Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doreta Beach Hotel Rhodes/Tholos, Greece
Doreta Beach Tholos
Doreta Beach Rhodes
Doreta Beach Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doreta Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.