We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heimat Gardens

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ko Yao Yai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Heimat Gardens
Save
You added Heimat Gardens to your Saves list
83/3 Moo | Tam Bon Pru Nai, Ko Yao Yai 83000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Ko Yao Yai B&B and Inns
HUESCA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

I do strongly recommend Heimats Gardens if you are looking for warmth welcomed, tasty food and lots of peace and relax time. We have been so happy in this little paradise. The rooms are spotless; the beach is like a private place, the people are always smiling and ready to help you. We wish we could stay longer as the host Yamalia is a wonderful lady, hard worker and always with a smile on her face. Her staff is friendly and there are no words to describe the beauty that comes out of this magic place.
Yamalia, thank you again for making this holidays so unforgettable. You are the one who makes this place so special. Hope to see you soon.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    8
    4
    5
    1
See reviews for
1
20
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights and wish we had stayed longer!Yomalia is the perfect host, nothing is too much trouble-she even got up early on our last day to make us breakfast and took us to the pier to catch the 730am boat. The rooms are one one of the cleanest we have ever stayed in, nice and spacious. What can i say about the food?-fantastic,traditional thai dishes and everything is fresh,yomalia asked her father to catch crab for my wifes meal the following day. :-) If you want pubs,clubs,restaurants then dont come here,if you want peace,empty beaches, and a real taste of thailand then come here, all the people we met whilst travelling on a moped were so friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them(not that we ask for much i add).
Would we go back?-definately,a holiday memory i will never forget.Thanks Yomalia!! :-)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

A friend and I read the reviews of Heimat and stayed as it sounded like just what we needed - peace and quiet and no large touristy resorts.
Indeed that is what we got at Heimat, plus more! The guesthouse is located off a delightful road that leads down to the beach. No loud music, no late-night bars, no shops, no sunburnt tourists, no sleazy backstreets and beautiful nature. Yai is the perfect place to unwind for a few days - lovely local community, no crime, deserted beach, picturepostcard woodland - and Heimat provides the best food, hospitality and value for money. It is also incredibly clean - Yamalia works hard and delivers an immaculate service : crisp ironed sheets, plenty of towels for beach and bath, large rooms and air con that would put many 5* hotels to shame.
Food was also delicious - the green papaya salad is a must! Service was friendly and the staff delightful.
Sadly we wandered off one of the days and made the mistake of eating at the touristy looking hotel on the beach. Horrid food (tasted like it was cooked in ketchup and our of a tin), rubbish service and unpleasant looking bungalows. We went running back to Heimat in relief that we were staying there!
Thank you Yamalia for a great stay - I hope your business continues to flourish.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

Yamalia runs a really neat, clean little modern guesthouse with 5 spacious rooms close to Lo Paret beach on Yao Yai. Longtail excursions organized, scooters for rent, Great food in the little restaurant. Nothing more needed for a great beach holiday chilling out on a quiet rural island. No jetskis no disco, no crowds, no noise. Heaven. Thank you Yamalia.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

I stayed here with my partner, in fact this is where we got engaged...just down on the beautiful local beach. Beautiful sunsets, no tourists, bliss.

Heimat Gardens is a simple accommodation, although by Thai standards for budget accommodation, it was well equipped with a nice little shower and a nice terrace to sit out on. It was also really clean, which for us is a must.

The lady who runs this place is friendly, but busy. This is her family home as well as her business and she tries her best to keep everything running smoothly. At times, when she is busy, she can be a little direct, but she i generally very friendly.

There is a nice breakfast/lunch/dinner area which is very understated with it just being picnic benches...but there is a tv and a small collection of books in there too, for guests to use. The food is good. We had breakfast there every day for reasonable prices, and really enjoyed out morning coffee.

Lunch and dinner were usually simple affairs, but home cooked food. The food we tasted was fine, and we certainly were never ill.

By the way, having looked at other reviews, my partner and i must point out that there is one review on here - the only really negative one - that seems to have been written by another owner of tourist accommodation on the island. Please ignore this review - read all the others. Simply just sabotage. The owner of the bungalows down on the beach who we think wrote the awful review has even put a notice up in his reception/restaurant telling his guests not to eat at Heimat Gardens, or if they do, it is at their own risk!!!! He even said, he knows a good doctor if guests do decide to risk it. NONSENSE. IGNORE THAT FALSE REVIEW!!!!

Okay, so Heimat Gardens is not 5 star, not even 3 or 4 star....but it is a nicely run, family guesthouse, that offers clean, comfortable accommodation on a very lovely (very low key) Thai island.

We also hired a moped here for a day or so, and it was great taking a ride around the island.

We were in Phuket before staying here and hated the place with a passion. Skip Phuket and head to a real Thai island.....Koh Yao Yai, and do yourself a favour and stay at Heimat Gardens.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2010

Heimat Gardens, In my eyes is a piece of Paradise. I can truly reccommend this as a sanctuary to rest,unwind and charge your batteries.The location is very tranqual with a majority of local ,friendly and happy family people .The accommodation is only a few years old so the rooms here are very clean and modern,serviced every day by the local staff,who have always been so helpfull and pleasant to us.
The owner," Yamalia" has excellent language skills and is a true proffessional host, offering as much help as possible to make the stay as marvelous as you would expect.
The vegetable garden next to the restaurant provides fresh daily food and you can ask Yamalia to order fresh fish direct from local fisherman with a days notice.
The kitchen offers a superb variety of classic traditional Thai food , not all spicy. Just ask how to use the spices, thats a great compliment to the excellent cook os chef here.
Finally, i can highly suggest at least 3 days to explore this Wonderfull Island
Koh Yao Yai . A Huge thank you to all the staff and especially the boss Yamalia for being so kind to us all ,we will be here soon again.
Roger,,Leif and Dang from Goteborg Sweden..

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ao nang
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2008

I went to Koh Yao Yai on a break from Koh Phi Phi, and ended up staying 8 months!
It is an amazing island, and made even better by the hospitality Yamalia offers.
She is happy to show people 'her' island, from rice fields to rubber plantations she will guide you through the local culture and traditions.
A definitely welcome break from the hustle of Phuket or Krabi.
Heimat Gardens is only 5 mins from the beach, which actually helps separate your beach time (sandy) from your relaxation time (not sandy).
The restaurant is fantastic, with fresh everything. In my time there I never tired of the variety of food.
Yamalia is a great host, and she seems happy enough joking in English, German or Thai.

  • Liked — Hospitality
  • Disliked — I finally (after 8 months) had to leave
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Heimat Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heimat Gardens

Address: 83/3 Moo | Tam Bon Pru Nai, Ko Yao Yai 83000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Ko Yao Yai
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Yao Yai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the west of Koh Yao Yai, Thailand, Heimat Gardens comprises of a newly built Guest House and Restaurant. The accommodation is nestled in a stunning location, with a 2km sandy beach only 5 min's by foot. We offer plenty of activities on this paradise island. Contact us; we can arrange transfers both to and from Phuket or Krabi International Airports. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heimat Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.