We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury and relax” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Koh Yao Yai Village

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Koh Yao Yai Village to your Saves list
Koh Yao Yai Village
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   78 Moo 4, Ko Yao Yai 82160, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Ko Yao Yai
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Luxury and relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

This resort is the example of a high quality resort. The resident manager, Mr Peanawan, and his very professional staff will make your stay extremely enjoyable and relaxing. The resort is very large and offers different types of accommodation. We stayed at the end of November in a standard bungalow (room 108) and the setting was very comfortable. There is a lot of distance between bungalows and you can enjoy privacy and relax on the spacious veranda outside the room. Breakfast is tasty and with many different choices. Inside the resort you can rent a motorbike to explore the island (500 BHT per day) or book a day trip. The restaurant is also very good if you decide to dine indoors. The resort is also equipped with a big swimming pool. If you choose to spend time on Koh Yao Yai you must be aware that the island is truly beautiful and relaxing but the sea itself is not good for swimming. However, if you wish to spend few days immersed in green and silence Koh Yao Yai and this resort are the places to go.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KYY M, Manager at Koh Yao Yai Village, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

thank you very much for your kind review on tripadvisor.
Your praises are an inspiration for all of our members, and Kh Peanawan is waiting for you to return to Koh Yao Yai Village.
Please let us know if we can assist you any further for you next stay, and feel free to contact us directly.

Warmest Regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    98
    23
    12
    6
See reviews for
65
152
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

They have a great pool with an amazing view of the sea. The beach has hardly anyone on it which makes it a lovely experience. It is not the nicest beach, though, and not very suitable for swimming as you need to go far out.
The hotel is a bit quaint and it does not allow you to flush toilet paper down. We stayed in a deluxe bungalow all the way on the edge. The negatives are that it is right next a rubber plantation and you get woken up by vehicles driving past in the morning, the bed and sheets are somehow a bit musty and the room doesn't seem to get aired very often. Another strange thing is that they only have lipton yellow label as hot tea. There are few options for dining out, there is a small local place outside the resort which other reviewers mention but otherwise you are stuck in the hotel where the food is passable.
However it's very quiet and great for relaxing, reading some books you never got around to.
The spa is wonderful and the massages professional.

Room Tip: try to get a room that's not too far out, otherwise you'll spend a good deal walking to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Went with a group of friends for 2 nights,fantastic ,peaceful,beautiful piece of paradise a short hop from Phuket. Rooms are large and well appointed,private and calming.The natural beauty of this resort is what makes it stand out,would really recommend this to anyone who wants to find a piece of paradise....only issue would be the food,needs to be improved a bit

Room Tip: If budget no problem,then definitely a sea front room,still very well priced
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KYY M, Manager at Koh Yao Yai Village, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

You are right, Koh Yao Yai Village is very different from any standard hotel and prides itself by its natural beauty. Thank you so much for the sweet review and kind words.

We will be looking forward to welcome you back and introduce you to our Chef who is more that ready to assist you with any wishes requested.

Warmest Regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

At present 29-11 we are staying in this resort and from the very moment we arrived 26-11, there is major construction on the beach, renovations of bungalows, building activities, a new Spa, inside dining room. It is impossible to enjoy our seaview bungalow because of this horribele, loud noise and the wonderful diesel fumes. The beach, infinity pool, everything is a no go zone !!!
We would have loved to read about this on tripadvisor, so we could have cancelled in time, but no other guest had mentioned it before. Funny because it is major construction and not something that is done in a couple of days

Room Tip: 704 and 705 right at the beach; 706 looks into the mangrove and has hardly seaview, but might be int...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KYY M, Manager at Koh Yao Yai Village, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

thank you for your review on tripadvisor.
Through the last couple of weeks and month Thailand has gone through some natural disasters and therefore were forced to do some last minute adjustments to ensure the convenience of all guest. There is now no further noise disturbance through the resort, and we hope we can welcome you back one day to enjoy the natural beauty of Koh Yao Yai Village.


Warmest Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Just returned a week ago (luckily just missing some stormy weather affecting the south!). Our fourth visit, with improvements seen each time on what was already a wonderfully idyllic place to spend a holiday. The beach has now been transformed, by shifting some sand and building a wall, into a place suitable for lying down as well as walking along (turn right and you can walk for miles along a deserted shoreline). The location is well-nigh perfect, rising up a hillside covered in mature vegetation, with large amounts of space between bungalows, all of which leads to a completely natural, unregimented appearance and absolute privacy for all. The bungalows themselves blend in beautifully with their surroundings, and are a well-chosen combination of the traditional and the modern; full of character, but also extremely well fitted-out. I am not particularly fond of swimming pools, but the infinity pool, with its interesting shape following the contour line and its wonderful view across to the islands, has won me over completely. On a previous stay, we had a terrific day out on one of their island-hopping longtail boat trips - this time we joined an adventure trip to the south of the island to see (and pick up!) giant starfish - great fun for all. We were fortunate this time in being around for 'Loy Kratong', a Thai festival for which a superb evening's entertainment, with excellent buffet, had been arranged
If you like Patong, with its burgers and nightlife, this is not the place for you. If you want to visit a thoroughly unspoilt place, full of character, yet with every comfort, friendly staff, and complete peace, you will love this resort. A good mixture of nationalities, mainly professionals, with a great atmosphere - easy to make friends, particularly when you have shared an activity or trip (starfish gathering is a fine icebreaker). A perfect honeymoon location, I would imagine, moreover.
This is my first Trip Advisor review - about time, as I always read reviews myself before booking!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KYY M, Manager at Koh Yao Yai Village, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

we are very much honoured that we can be the first Tripadvisor review you have written. Thanks for the lovely review. It would be our greatest pleasure to see you back again. We really appreciate the sweet comments, and we will make sure to pass your review onto our hard working staff.

Warm Regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

I just came back from Koh Yao Yai Village last week Nov 10,2013. I really love everything here. the bungalow was superb very clean and comfy. we had 3 meals a day at their restaurant. the food was great especially the beef bacon from the breakfast bar. the seafood at the Krachang restaurant was very fresh and tasty. the staffs are very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel to everyone who want to have a peaceful relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KYY M, Manager at Koh Yao Yai Village, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

your praises just confirms that everything we do is worth it! Seems like everyone that stays at Koh Yao Yai Village becomes friends, not just hotel customers. That is one of the very special things about our resort. Thanks for the kind remarks and best bunny wishes.

Warm Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We highly recommend it! If you and your partner both looking for a island trip / life then you should definitely go to Koh Yao Yai Village! We stayed there for 7 days. You will never get bored there seriously, as there's an Activity Center, over 10 tours that you can reserve! We reserved 4 tours in total - Island Exploring, Sunset Cruise, Village Tour and Canal boat. Room are amazingly great! We stayed at Seaview Bungalow, what we loved most? Its outdoor rain shower for sure....a best resort for city people for relaxing....For dining part - great great great. We had breakfast, dinner at same restaurant during the trip, there are lots of choices like pizza, pasta, burger, salad and Thai food! At first, we were bit worried about the dining, because the resort is far away from Phuket City and the last ferry is 5pm...don't worry about it. We are not the only couple dining in this way - every guests who stayed there are dining in this way too :)
I know some of the guests might consider about the security, VERY SAFE we can say! There's a security station at the entrance. Excellent service, friendly staff! Please stay at Koh Yao Yai Village. You will feel like you are a VIP....enjoy!

P.S...one thing should be worried is WEATHER! It rains a lot during Nov...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KYY M, Manager at Koh Yao Yai Village, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

thanks for your fantastic review on Tripadvisor.
Your kind words will give us even more motivation to strive for excellence. Please let us know if we can be of any further assistance as we are happy to service you at anytime.
We will be looking forward to welcome you back to our "Koh Yao Yai Village Family".

Warmest regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Koh Yao Yai Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Yao Yai Village

Address: 78 Moo 4, Ko Yao Yai 82160, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Ko Yao Yai
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ko Yao Yai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Koh Yao Yai Village 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Koh Yao Yai Island is a yet-to-be-discovered tropical haven utterly untouched, offering guests a rare opportunity to step back in time and join in traditional Thai island life. Far removed from the hustle and bustle of holiday destinations such as Krabi and Phuket, Koh Yao is a charming area of outstanding natural beauty consisting of a cluster of small islands nearby Phuket in scenic Phang Nga Bay. Ko Yao Yai Village is perfectly situated in a sheltered spot offering accessibility all year round with the resort carefully created to echo rural island life whilst ensuring guests are comfortable and well-taken care of with plenty of luxuries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Koh Yao Yai Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Yao Yai Village Hotel Koh Yao Yai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koh Yao Yai Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.