We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect get away!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Koh Yao Yai Village

Save Saved
You added Koh Yao Yai Village to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Koh Yao Yai Village
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   78 Moo 4, Ko Yao Yai 82160, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Honeymoon 2night package
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Ko Yao Yai
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“The perfect get away!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Travelling around Thailand can be tiring. Be sure to have a couple of days on this super serene island and at this fabulous hotel. Stayed here in January for a friends wedding. The staff could not have done more for the happy couple! The surroundings are gorgeous, it's very very chilled, tiny island so a trip around is a must. You will have some early nights, good food will leave with fully recharges batteries. Staff are fab, facilities are great and rooms are lovely, the out door shower is superb. Give it a go for a rest, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    120
    90
    23
    10
    5
See reviews for
59
137
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Phuket, Thailand
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We just spend a weekend in Yao Yai village the place is on an island about one hour from Phuket , this island is nothing like phuket there is only only little road almost no cars and most of it is covered in forest.
We had the ocean view villa and it was just perfect for the kids, the room is huge , there is a little sort of kithen on the side , two showers one of them open outside great fun for the kids.
The swimming pool was one of the best things ,we spend hours there, the views form the restaurant are good too.
The beach is ok not the strongest point, what we like best was the tranquility of the place, the forest, and pool , and the vistas too.
Great for families and if you want to get away from the noise.

Room Tip: We had the ocean villa and it was excellent really excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This nice hotel is located on a peaceful island with very friendly locals!

The staff at the hotel are very friendly, they do speak English and always happy to help you.

The bungalows have eco-friendly design with the shower just under the sky, which makes it feel close to the nature.

Nice breakfast.

Bycycles and motorbikes available for rent to explore the island.

We were more than satisfied with our stay in this hotel on the way from Phuket to Crabi.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We decided to treat ourselves and stay at this quiet and luxury resort after spending 11 days at Koh Phanghan (known as a party island) in a hope to have tranquility and relaxation for a few days. We read the reviews in advance and were impressed with the stunning photos of the hotel on TripAdvisor. However, we didn't realise how huge this resort is - big village in the jungle. There are certainly good and bad points about this hotel.
Koh Yao Yai - a resort - village with beautiful and stunning green grounds but, unfortunately, full of insects and reptiles. For example, there was a friendly lizard who lives in the bungalows and is supposed to kill the mosquitoes. However, it was impossible to go for a shower in the evenings (the spacious bathroom had a big open gap between the roof and wall) without killing mosquitoes for at least 15-20 minutes or otherwise you " will be eaten" by them. There were really big spiders that were the size of my fist (even at the reception!) everywhere in the village (the staff reassured us that they bite any worse than mosquitoes! What luck?!). We were offered the furthest room in the village despite requesting the closest bungalow to the front of the resort with a sea view. The bungalow was very spacious, however, it was in the jungle under the shadow of trees and we didn't have any sunshine at all so we could't enjoy spending our time in bungalow during the day! Another disappointment was the long distance from our bungalow to reception or restaurant. After two days of being very unhappy about all this we complained to the hotel manager (it was very difficult to find him) and after a long unpleasant conversation we were given our last night free of charge.

The swimming pool with a sea view was absolutely stunning. The breakfast buffet was the best we had during our 4 weeks trip in Thailand. The restaurant is the biggest let down. The menu is very limited and the waiting staff barely speak any English (you would imagine for the money you pay here per night that the service should be on a very high level and that you wouldn't need to explain to the staff for 15 minutes what you would like to order and then get the wrong food ). The staff definitely need to be better trained. The prices are expensive plus on the top of that you are paying 20% surcharge on everything.

Despite all of this criticism we loved this place and I believe that my feedback will help to improve the poor management.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Koh Yao Yai Village is one the best places I have visited in my life. The atmosphere and energy in the resort is like home. All the personal was very pleasant and friendly. I loved the theme of the resort, gives a feeling of being in the village and away from big rush cities. We stayed in a huge bungalow, I believe #707. The colors or the room were so calming, the view from the deck was straight to sunrise on the sea...!!! It also had 2 showers, one outside, one inside. The outside one gives amazing feeling! Food was also delicious especially with breathtaking view of the sea and infinity pool. Yes, infinity pool is just cherry on top! The spa is extremely relaxing and massages were energy restoring :) I would defiantly go back to Koh Yao Yai Village resort and I would recommend everyone! You will not regret it!

Room Tip: Defiantly the one by the see, I believe we stayed in # 707. It was close to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This is the hotel that gives you relax during the holiday.
Full of privacy for the bungalows and private beach with the gorgeous environment, you can feel how peaceful and sounds relax in the resort.
The staff are very nice, polite and helpful, especially they are good babysitter and they were well-explained the details for the hotel facilities.
We appreciated the excellent transport services with their considerate.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Before our trip we read several reviews in which people showed their disappointment with this hotel. We were not disappointed. We did not expect crowded beaches or steamy nigth clubs; what we wanted was tranquility and a reasonable level of luxury in rooms (bungalows) and services. All that we received. The bungalows were marvellous, the food was good and reasonably priced and the staff certainly did their best. We also appreciated the excellent transport services to and from the Phuket airport. The only point of criticism is about the beach: the hotel should tell the customers that during the low tide the beach is not available for swimming.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Koh Yao Yai Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Yao Yai Village

Address: 78 Moo 4, Ko Yao Yai 82160, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Ko Yao Yai
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Ko Yao Yai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Koh Yao Yai Village 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Koh Yao Yai Island is a yet-to-be-discovered tropical haven utterly untouched, offering guests a rare opportunity to step back in time and join in traditional Thai island life. Far removed from the hustle and bustle of holiday destinations such as Krabi and Phuket, Koh Yao is a charming area of outstanding natural beauty consisting of a cluster of small islands nearby Phuket in scenic Phang Nga Bay. Ko Yao Yai Village is perfectly situated in a sheltered spot offering accessibility all year round with the resort carefully created to echo rural island life whilst ensuring guests are comfortable and well-taken care of with plenty of luxuries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your Koh Yao Yai Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Yao Yai Village Hotel Koh Yao Yai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koh Yao Yai Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.