We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Chartreuse du Val Saint Esprit

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added La Chartreuse du Val Saint Esprit to your Saves list
La Chartreuse du Val Saint Esprit
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 rue de Fouquieres, 62 199 Gosnay, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gosnay
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel and dinner was very special.
The setting was perfect and the very pleasant staff managed the impossible by always being there when wanted and invisible when not. The food was divine, even the vegetarian option was lovely.
Would definitely recommend and we will be returning – hopefully sometime soon!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    63
    18
    4
    3
See reviews for
28
117
4
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed overnight before going to a wine fair in Lille. It's a large building and slightly lacking in warmth but the staff are helpful and rooms are well appointed and clean. Our group of 6 were all very pleased with the restaurant, the service was very efficient and the cooking excellent. The wine list was extensive and looked expensive but our selection of premier cru Chablis and Bandol proved to be really top wines and compared very favourably with other restaurants and hotels where such prices do not always guarantee a good wine. After dinner coffee and digestifs were taken in the bar and that also proved to be a great experience with an entertaining bar steward.
Next time we need a hotel fairly close to Calais we'll definitely go again not expecting a low cost but prepared to pay a fair amount for a superb dining experience. We had taken advantage of low rates for non-refundable advanced booking which worked well for us, not so good, obviously, if you have to change your plans at the last minute. The receptionist told us that for warm summer evenings the restaurant serves outside on the terrace. We might time our next trip to try that.

Room Tip: Book in advance if you are sure of your plans and enjoy a lower room rate. The larger rooms are very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Just returned from a two night break, Hotel was excellent, room was big and very comfortable. Dined in the hotel on the first night, food and service excellent. Only down side is that it on the expensive side, two G & T 22 euros.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Stopped in for two nights en route from CH to UK over Remembrance Sunday and visited war museums etc.

Hotel staff were very friendly and accommodating, esp considering we were travelling with dogs, child and 2 weeks luggage...

Lovely room, great food - we ate in the two less posh restaurants, which were more than adequate and also very friendly. The wines list was quite expensive but had some good, reasonably priced offerings from Margaux and St Estephe which may not be the obvious choices for scallops and lobster but it takes all sorts.

Near the Autoroute but not obtrusively, an hour from the ferry and plenty of parking means that this may become our new rest stop when going to and fro.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I went to the restaurant for my 50th birthday with my 4 siblings and we had a really fabulous experience. The only downside was that we could not stay the night as the hotel was full due to a wedding that night. So we booked into another hotel 30 mins away and we drove to La Chartreuse. The dining room Robert II is their fine dining restaurant, it was beautiful and we had a big round table in the middle. Although we ordered 4 courses we actually had around 8 due to all the amuse-bouche they brought us. Every course was delicious and truly outstanding but it was the cheese trolley that was breathtaking. Unfortunately we were so full we cold not take full advantage of the many varieties of cheese on offer (see my photos) but we did force ourselves to try a small portion of a few. The staff are not shy to give you as much cheese as you wish but there's just nowhere to put it after so many fantastic dishes. This is a formal restaurant so please dress up, we were in suits and nice dresses and felt comfortable, the other guests were very elegant and had nice jewellery & shoes. It's a romantic setting too, you could easily fall in love being wined and dined in this restaurant! The only thing is the toilets are downstairs in a kind of celler which was a bit creepy if you go by yourself! FYI the evening worked out about 120GBP each which we considered to be outstanding value considering the setting and the food and wine. I would definitely recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Booked Gourmet weekend for our Ruby Wedding celebration. Impressive old building and polite Reception staff.
We were supposed to receive champagne & pastries as part of deal - never arrived. When I queried on leaving was offered them as we were about to climb in car! No credit offered despite my request.
Double room booked but when we got in bed found it was two singles joined together at different heights! They were so hard sleeping on floor might have been better. Additional shower jets in shower clogged up and did not work.
Quality of food delivered (when it arrived - 1 hour wait for first course) acceptable but we have eaten better at half the price in France. With wine ranging from 55 to 1100 Euros we at least expected the wine to be poured for us - it wasn't. Broke tooth on hard bread roll.
Overall a disappointing stay and definitely not worth the money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentford
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed one night on our way home. Very easy to find off the motorway and amazingly has three restaurants. We had a large room, with comfortable beds and a large bathroom. We ate in the gastronomic restaurant, expensive but very good, with a slightly Asian influence, served in a lovely panelled room. It was warm summer evening, but we were told we could not eat outside! Unfortunately, our waitress was not trained fully, so the service at dinner was a little haphazard. The hotel is a 19th Century copy of a much older chateau and there is a slightly musty, charmless atmosphere. The gentleman who ran the bar and also provided room service was outstanding. But we did not like the plastic flowers in our bedroom and told Reception, who implied that the owners like them!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Chartreuse du Val Saint Esprit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Chartreuse du Val Saint Esprit

Address: 1 rue de Fouquieres, 62 199 Gosnay, France
Location: France > Nord-Pas-de-Calais > Pas-de-Calais > Gosnay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gosnay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Chartreuse du Val Saint Esprit 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hôtel de charme 4* situé au cœur de l’euro région sur l'axe Paris Calais Londres. Situé à 5 minutes de Béthune et de l'autoroute A26, La Chartreuse du Val Saint Esprit, classé aux monuments historiques et rénové avec soin en 1986 par les propriétaires actuels, est en plein cœur d'un parc de 6 hectares.Le domaine propose un vaste choix de restauration avec 3 restaurants d'atmosphère et de cuisine différentes: Le Robert II, restaurant gastronomique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Chartreuse du Val Saint Esprit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Chartreuse Du Val Saint Esprit Hotel Gosnay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Chartreuse du Val Saint Esprit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.