We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fine place spoiled by a bland architecture” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Falconara Charming House & Resort

Save Saved
You added Falconara Charming House & Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Falconara Charming House & Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Contrada Faino - S.S.115 Km 243, 93011 Butera, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Butera
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“A fine place spoiled by a bland architecture”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I have spent one week in May at the Falconara in a junior suite.
It is located about 20 km from Gela and 120 km from Catana airport. It is a good base to visit the Piazza Armerina villa (recently reopened), Agrigente, Caltagirone and Ragusa.

The hotel has a fine small beach, on two levels : the beach, and somewhat higher, a row of fine gazebos for those who seek a quiet place. By the way, the reservation of the gazebos at 35 EUR/day is a pure rip-off, when it is not high season.
From the beach, there is a fine view on the old castle and the sea; this area is absolutely quiet and mostly enjoyable.
Next to the gazebos, is the "Fattoria", a fine ancient building with presumably the best rooms with seaview; unfortunately, it was closed till mid-May.
Then, there is a large garden damaged by paths covered by orange tarmac (probably a cheap option to reduce maintenance costs).
Close to the road - but there is not so much traffic noise - is a large swimming pool; I do not understand why this pool has not been positioned closer to the beach.
The reception staff is kind and helpful.
The food is absolutely great; the chef Domenico uses local fresh products, and the service is efficient. The wine list strictly Sicilian, which is not an issue; the local production is worth exploring.
And then comes the building that ruins your experience : the hotel's main building, a bland contruction looking like a cheap seventies holiday club. The rooms are so-said "minimalist" ... I would say "minimum" : they lack lighting, and are made even darker by the black pavement; the curtains are some synthetic thing, yellow and lilac; matter of taste. The bathroom is ok, and everything is clean.

It is a pity that a place with such a potential is damaged by poor architecture and interior design.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    58
    25
    5
    3
See reviews for
41
96
3
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

The hotel is beautiful, with views of the dramatic ruined medival castle and of the charming beach. The surrouding gardens of the hotel and well laid out and very pretty. The pool is a good size and we were the only people ever in it. Thesmall private beach is lovely and we swam in the sea frequently during our stay.

We stayed for three nights as part of a two week holiday in Scicily at the end of August 2012. We chose this hotel due to it's proximiy to the Valley of the Temples and the desire to avoid the overcrowded hotels next to the site

The room we stayed in in the old part of the hote, was nicely decorated spacious and well equiped

Warning this hotel is in the middle of nowhere and your choice of places to dine are at the hotel or to drive to the nearest town. Breakfast was of a high standard and plentyful. We ate dinner there each night and the food although good I did not find as great as I had hoped it might be after reading other reviews. We ate off both the a la carte and the daily tasting menus, and the antipasti we had as a starter a couple of times was the nicest thing I ate there the local wines were excellent too.

The staff were helpful and efficient, I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The old part of the hotel has rooms overlooking the sea, worth paying a bit extra for
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

My expectations were high and they have eventually been met and even exceeded. I spent unfortunately only one night, yet enough to fully appreciate the resort. It is perfectly nested close to a dramatic medieval castle along the sea. The structure dwells naturally in the landscape, while the personnel is there to satisfy all your needs and wishes (if not whims). From every room you can expand your view on the blue Mediterranean sea. During my stay, the hotel was almost fully booked, I could though change my room overnight since the bathroom in my previous accomodation had an intermittent flow of hot water. The dinner was a palatable experience : the food was gorgeous and the staff extremely kind and efficient. The same can be said unsuprisingly of breakfast; later on I had sadly to leave, not without deemaing of coming back again soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Great spot with charming beach, warm hospitality, great food, pool and SPA. Morning and evening breeze make breakfast and aperitifs time a really relaxing ritual. Delightful and competent concierge with great restaurant and tour recommendations.

Room Tip: Go to the Fattoria dependance ....worth the price
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Nice little resort, overlooking the old castle, great little beach, from the gardener to the
director - everbody tries to make your stay unforgettable. Best breafkast choice we had on
our several trips though Sicilia. The Restaurant offers very good Italian cuisine. For the 2nd
evening we pre-ordered a typcial sicilian menue. What we got was just outstanding.
Rooms are big or very big. Furnished an equipped in a very modern and trendy style,
as the hotel lobby and bar are. There are several little Patios in the garden where you can
enjoy a coffe in the morning or a glass wine in the evening. Chiristina and her team of the Wellness and Spa center offer latest treatments. Very porfessional these ladies. Also in the
Wellness chilling is everything.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

I did not care much for the area around butera but this hotel was very nice. they tried very hard to be the best they could be. live music at dinner, clean and beautiful rooms, bar at the pool, appetizers at the bar during cocktail hour.

i didn't care much for having to use a voucher to get a towel at the beach or pool but they must have to do it for some reason. the internet service is poor but that is pretty common. i thought the food could be better but eating at the restaurant outside with live music and a view of the castle was relaxing and very nice. They were also great to our 15 month old.
i would highly recommend this hotel if you are staying in the butera area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

Great relaxing atmosphere, nice pool and beach, very private. Gated property, large gate
even to enter with a car. Nice views and view of castle. Staff very nice and polite. Rooms are very nice and modern. Everything clean and large property. A better choice than the crowded Argigento hotels. Only about 45 minutes from Valley of Temples and
Agrigento. Not much choice for dining other than the resort, but is a nice restaurant.
A very nice secluded resort/hotel. We only stayed one night while passing through, but
would have loved to stay another night just to have relaxed and enjoyed the property.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Falconara Charming House & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falconara Charming House & Resort

Address: Contrada Faino - S.S.115 Km 243, 93011 Butera, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Caltanissetta > Butera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Butera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Falconara Charming House & Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Falconara is situated on the south-eastern coast of Sicily, between Agrigento and Ragusa, in an enchanting position overlooking the sea. Its neighbour is the magical medieval castle of Falconara, erected in Norman times to repel the invasion of the Moors. The famous Valle dei Templi of Agrigento, the Villa del Casale in Piazza Armerina with its splendid mosaics, Caltagirone with its craft made ceramics and the pearls of the Sicilian baroque: Ragusa Ibla, Modica and Scicli are all within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Escapio, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Venere, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Falconara Charming House & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falconara Charming House And Resort
Falconara Charming House Hotel Butera
Falconara Charming Hotel
Falconara Charming House & Resort Sicily/Butera, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Falconara Charming House & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.