We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the better options in Flores” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea World Club Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Maumere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea World Club Beach Resort
Save
You added Sea World Club Beach Resort to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Waiara Beach, Maumere, Flores 86112, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Maumere
Podimore
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
110 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
“One of the better options in Flores”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We had travelled through the Eastern part of Flores and this was our last stay. With so much poor and indifferent accomodation on this lovely island this was a blessed relief. Hot showers, cleaned every day, very efficient if somewhat unsmiling reception staff, and good rooms in separate bungalows were all very much appreciated and novel after travelling for three weeks on Flores.
We had a beach front bungalow which was lovely. It had a great view, a fantastic terrace to sit on and was quiet and of a good standard.
Meals were ok though probably no better than that. Breakfast tended to be a bit haphazard though there was a good range of food including some nice bread, which is unusual in Indonesia. Evening meals varied from quite good to average though we were glad we opted our of the beach BBQ where the food looked a bit dire.
The staff in the restaurant were young Indonesians from Tourism school who were being placed to learn the trade. The idea of giving them the chance and experience to train at a place like this is wonderful. However, though quite wiling when prompted they were pretty clueless and we felt sorry that despite us watching carefully there was really no training at all happening and the staff therefore tended to respond to requests rather than anticipate them. Therefore at breakfast one day they sat and chatted with each other amiably rather than serve the guests at the tables. It needed someone to watch and mentor them as to what the requirements were and we did not see this at any time.
There was slow wifi in the reception area but it tended to come and go.
That said we thought this was a great place to stay. It was relaxed, quiet and beautiful and the swimming great in waters that were clear and calm.
A really good place to stay and though not cheap it was worth the money.

Room Tip: The beach front bungalows are worth the extra if you can stretch to afford them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    66
    13
    5
    2
See reviews for
16
62
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Luanda
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights here after 7 days exploring Flores, and had a wonderful end of vacation.
The bungalow is close to the beach, the beach is very quiet, all staffs are friendly. Food is good, big portions (for us), water for drink is always free, just bought 1 bottle of water, and you can refill it for the rest of your stay, a nice, green service! For dinner, the staff will go room to room to ask for your order, so you can save some waiting time. The weather was great, nice and cool breeze, good massage, so overall, a good place to relax and refresh after the long trip!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

First time I visited SWC was in 1992 just after the quake. As of 2005 I come here every year and sometimes 2 times a year. I always book 2 nights when I arrive and 2 nights before I depart. I have slept in almost all the bungalows. The last few year I have a preference for the more expensive front bungalows even if the price is 65-80 euro per night. I think it is my age... The staff is always very friendly and helpful. I can confirm that part of the income goes to local charities (6 childrenhomes, Natvitas Watublapi, Maria Visitasi, Ressurexio Lekebai, Stell Maris Nangahure, Asumptio Wolofeo, Dymphna Maumere. In total they have supported over the years some 3.500 pupils. They now support some 191 children. The rooms are very clean and all the rooms have nets. The property is regular sprayed for mosquito's by an NGO, as are all the other hotels in the Maumere area. I always spray my room to find later in the evening some dead bugs/critters. You cannot avoid this in Flores. The A/C is a blessing and keeps the room cool (even cold). They have even luke warm (never hot) water. The food is good (but order before 6 o'clock if you want to eat at 7. I notice this year that the service dropped a little. This was caused by the change of the restaurant/beachbar staff. The spoken English level of the new trainees dropped dramatically and also their service. As soon as their training is finished the service will see improvement. SWC trains a lot of the hotel staff in Flores. Every few year the staff is changed to give some of the other kids a chanche to learn. They still have not replaced the boat with the engine problem. This means the diving tour is done with a slow local fisherboat. I have noticed on previous visits that the beach is cleaned/swept by the staff and locals for garbage. If you compare the SWC beach today with the beaches lying in the direction of the Geliting market and Maumere you will know what I mean. SWC does not restrict the local people acces to the beach. The beach is still public property for a stroke of some 15 meter. Their neighbour SAO Wisato has enclosed their area last year (which is an illegal act), You see the same happening in Labuan Bajo, Sumba and Nusa Dua where the local people are deprived of their livelihood as they have no more access to the sea. So go SWC.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back are more affordable and as good as the front rooms..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We arrived late in the evening and this place has a very isolated and slightly creepy feel at night. Despite the name, sea world club is actually a selection of cottage/bungalow style independent houses (ie so no room service, pool etc) but the room was amazing. We stayed in the honeymoon suite and it was delightful with wooden floor boards, 4 poster bed and mosquito net, fridge and lounge area with a view to the beach. There is also a front porch perfect for reading a book. The bungalows are so so close to the beach you could literally throw a stone and there are lounge chairs provided on the beach area. If you sit close to the bar you can also order drinks there. There is a small village adjacent but the locals are generally respectful and don't harass guests. There is a massage service on site which is absolutely amazing. I guess my main complaint would be that this place always seemed to have a slightly eerie ghost town feel. The restaurant often appeared closed (sometimes it was and sometimes it wasn't despite the advertised opening hours). The food was pretty good but avoid the pizza. Also important to note is that you should order dinner in advance (no one told us we found out by accident) because if you don't you will be waiting a long time for your food. It always seemed that you had to hunt someone down if you wanted anything but despite this the staff were always very friendly and very helpful. The honeymoon suite is located far from all the amenities and at night the pathways are very poorly lit (to the point of using a phone light to see). We also had an unpleasant experience with a chap called "Cletus" trying to sell us tours on our first night. Breakfast is eggs, pancakes or Indonesian fare with fruit, smoked fish, toast and jams. No complaints about the room at all but the flies were terrible!!! Everywhere! All the time! and in the restaurant which is open plan. Make sure you bring repellant, coils or candles or all of the above.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Good place to stay in Maumere. A bit out of town but easy to get a taxi. Beach front cottage good with space between other cottages. Breakfast good and dinners ok. The room was clean and staff very friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

A well managed hotel in Flores; good size rooms, nice bath, and comfortable bed. Good storage space as well. Bed had mosquito netting, and the rooms was equipped with an electric mosquito zapper -- however we saw no sign of the nasty critters while we were there for 3 nights in late April.

Nice beach for swimming and sunning (no waves, current -- kind of like being in a bathtub) ; beach towels provided.

Free wifi in common areas, which actually does reach some of the rooms; but I think my email address was hacked there so watch out.

There is a restaurant and bar which was quite reasonably priced; go for the fresh fish,...

Free taxi service if you book through their web site ; otherwise do ask them to provide a taxi -- it will be chepaer and nicer than what you find at the airport.

Inthe category of hotels in small places, it was very good....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Sea World resort as part of a photo tour to Flores. Expectations were not high so we were quite happy with the accommodation.

Flores doesn't offer many dining options, but the food here was quite good. They even had a selection of wines from Bali, at reasonable prices. Breakfast was also good with some cold cuts and home baked breads. Rooms were clean, but not fancy as you'd imagine given the price. Internet is also available

Good value for money.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea World Club Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea World Club Beach Resort

Address: Waiara Beach, Maumere, Flores 86112, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > East Nusa Tenggara > Flores > Maumere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Maumere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea World Club Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 2 hours flight from Bali bring you to this tropical beach paradise on Flores Island where you will enjoy peaceful & relaxing holidays. Flores island is a green jewel in Indonesia Archipelago and has something magical, it is so close to Bali but you wonder yourself in a different world. We offer our guests: comfortable beachfront cottages and bungalows, authentic Florenese hospitality, simplicity, a slow and easy way of life, free spirit, mind & soul, good music, good food and cold bear, always accompanied with a warm smile.The hotel and the island is really 'away from it all': peaceful and relaxing. If you want entertainment and sophistication don't bother - this resort is not for you. The hotel is a casual , read, swim, dive and relaxing beach destination. Enjoy the folklore and smile of the people. Leave the hectic, modern lifestyle behind, take your snorkel or diving equipment and lots of books, stay with us and enjoy relaxing holidays on a calm volcanic beach. This beach and dive resort is the perfect holiday place for those who look for silence, peace and recreation off the beaten track. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sea World Club Beach Hotel Maumere
Sea World Hotel
Sea World Club Beach Resort Maumere, Flores, Indonesia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea World Club Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.