We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice beach bungalows and superb service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea World Club Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Maumere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea World Club Beach Resort
You added Sea World Club Beach Resort to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Waiara Beach, Maumere, Flores 86112, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Maumere
Certificate of Excellence
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice beach bungalows and superb service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We chose the See World Club (SWC) for our two first nights on the beautiful island of Flores. It's proximity to the airport (ca. 20 minutes drive by car, pick up service provided by SWC) and the availability of beach cottages were the key reasons for this choice.

1. Cottage
We stayed in the premium beach cottage number 7. It absolutely met all the criteria:
- beach front location,
- beautiful terrace with two comfortable chairs, a couch and a coffee table. Sitting there with a cup of coffee (complimentary provided in the room) and looking at the waves is a rewarding experience after a day of travelling or sight seeing,
- comfortable king size bed is big with mosquito net,
- ceiling fan and A/C: whatever you prefer,
- refrigerator,
- hot water shower,
- towels and beach towels provided,
- the cottage was clean, nice and cosy.

2. Food
Food in SWC is perfectly fine. We had two dinners. The first evening we had a buffet dinner (ca. 95k Rp per PAX) which was not only very tasty but also offered a rich choice. One could start with an aromatic fish soup and then move on to the main dishes: beef stew, grilled fish, sea food and chicken satay, and "classical" nasi goreng, mie goreng and some grilled or fried vegetables. On the house was arak (local strong alcohol served with a tiny halves of lime), on the base "all you can drink :-). All took place in the beach bar lit by candles, with a band playing local music (quite a refreshing experience after so much exposure to gamelan!). The other night we ordered grilled fished which was very fresh and tasty, along with marvellous gado gado!
Breakfast highlights of this place: real ("European style") bread and cold cuts! Ideal for those longing for the taste of home.

3. Beach
Black sand beach. what we liked most was the fact that local people (fisherman, women and playing kids) were passing by, happily waving at you with a "hello sir" which made us feel being in a natural surrounding and not in a tourist exclave.

4. Service
Service here is exceptional! Although Indonesians are in general exceptionally positive and friendly, we experienced the SWC's staff even above average. The front desk man Joseph, Erman, the restaurant manager, all the staff we had contact with were fully professional, always helpful, speaking English perfectly and SO kind! They help you to organise onward transport (rent cars with drivers, air tickets) and excursions.
The place is being managed by a German couple of Polish origin and was founded by a German Catholic Priest who - aged 83 - lives at the site and gets in contact with all guests to welcome them.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
See reviews for
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

You might expect a fancy resort after seeing the website. It's not that fancy but for Flores' standards it's a nice place.
The garden is lovely and their is good beach access. It's nice to have a drink on the beach .
We had a superiour garden cottage, which was old fashioned and needed some renovation. Hot water didn't work because the water heeter failed. All in all our garden cottage was too expensive. Never seen so much mosquito's as we've seen here.
Diner facilities were good, wifi was really fast. Breakfast was oké. You need to book in advance because they have many visitors and it was fully booked.
The hotel is outside the city of maumere. It's about An 20 minute ride to the airport of Maumere.

Maumere is not a charming place and there is not much to see or to do except for swimming/ snorkeling. If you're planning to visit other places in Flores, consider spending more time in bajawa and Moni which are much better.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
104 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed for one night for 225000 in a cold water bungalow. Clean, nice garden surroundings, nice sea and good breakfast. They helped us to organise trip to Labuan Bajo (some negotiations needed, but at the end satisfaction). Helpful staff and good accomodation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the SWBH for 4 nights in Beach House 2 and had a wonderful stay. Do not expect a modern resort with lots of luxury, then you have come to the wrong place. No, this is a "hotel" with a nice last century feel. The beach house was right on the beach with a wonderful view. Local fishermen and their families were bringing in their nets, children and dogs were playing, which made you feel you were really on Flores and not some anonymous resort.
The accomodation is simple but clean. The local staff, with the help of many young students of the "tourism high school" was extremely helpful and always smiling, although their knowledge of English is very limited.
One day we made a tour with the driver of the hotel to an Ikat weaving village, Watuplabi, which was very worthwhile and an other day we went snorkeling with a fishing boat, great fun and all organized by the hotel.
Father Heinrich, a german priest of 81, runs the place and a great part of the money made goes to charity. For example the area is now malaria free! There are two albino monkeys in cages, who are well taken care of, because they would be without a chance let free in nature.
Every day between 4 and 6pm, there is "happy hour" in the bar on the beach, when large Bintang beers are served at a reduced price. Lacking are some small snacks. When we were there a BBQ on the beach was organised, with music and traditional dances performed by young school kids in ikat sarongs, very nice!
The restaurant is ok, food is nice but but nothing special, but the service makes up for that big time!
The receptionist, Joseph, has the nicest smile on the island!
All in all we had a lovely time, and I hope they will not change too much with time.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
105 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed there for 1 night in July 2012 in the Honeymoon Suite Bungalow which is really fantastic! It is at the western corner of the hotel ground and it overlooks the sea; it is built with coconut wood and has lovely rattan and coconut wood furniture; there’s a large canopy bed with mosquito net, AC (though not very strong), ceiling fan, refrigerator, lots of storage space, a lovely balcony with armchairs and table; the bathroom is very large and comfortable, hot water is provided by an electric water-heater. Sheets, bath towels and beach towels are of good quality. There is free wifi at restaurant, beach bar and reception. We had lunch and dinner at the restaurant and it was really good and not expensive. As we left early in the morning, they gave us a “breakfast box” (only 2 slices of bread, 1 slice of cheese and 2 bananas!!). The beach is good but not something to dream about!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

If you are looking for a easy going, friendly and chill out place to relax in front of the sea.....this is the place for you. Nice grey sand beach, super friendly staff , good breakfast and very clean comfortable bungalows by the sea shore. Also we went to do a lovely boat-snorkelling trip around the nearby islands for a reasonable price (20$ per person - we were 4 people). Be aware that the resort is 8 km from Maumere so you will end up dining here most of the time. The food is decent but don't expect a professional service. It can be slow at times.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

This hotel was better than I expected given the mixed reviews. I recommend it, but with a few cautions.
My first caution is this: do NOT go out of your way to head to Seaworld thinking exotic resort, stunning beach, awesome snorkeling.... we actually met a family who had flown in from Bali for two days especially having heard how good the snorkeling is. It isn’t! There are some nice corals if you swim out a hundred or so metres, but the fish are fairly sparse. The beach is actively net-fished by the villagers every evening, which probably accounts for why there are not millions of fish. What fish are there are interesting, but few compared (for example) to Amed in Bali, and not a patch on what can be seen on islands around Labuan Bajo or Riung. I’m sure, if you were into diving or wanted to take some snorkeling boat trips, you would see more - we didn’t do that. As for the beach, it’s a greyish pebbly thing that won’t get Australians excited. It’s pleasant enough, but not spectacularly beautiful.
If you are passing through Maumere, though, Seaworld makes a great place to spend a few days. It is genuinely peaceful and relaxing. During the day you might almost think you were alone, and yet the place was fully booked. There was plenty of room for my kids to safely go exploring. The grounds are well kept with lots of good shady spots. The beach bar is a top place to be during happy hour (4pm-6pm) and sunset, which can be very pretty.
The staff were excellent. There are a number of Indonesian staff who speak excellent English, including in the restaurant where the young man in charge there has a bachelor’s degree in English. The place really had the feel of being well-managed. Everyone really went out of their way to help us and make us feel relaxed and looked after. This was from the more senior Indonesian staff, the German owner and the young work experience people who were delightful. Seaworld was one of the few places in Flores where the high school work experience kids really did seem to be being trained at least in some form (coming out to listen to experienced staff take orders in the restaurant, for example), rather than just being used as free labour as seems to be the case everywhere else.
The food in general was good. We stayed four days and sampled most of the menu. One exception was the pizza. I imagine the person making it had never seen nor eaten a pizza as the pastry was almost an inch think and kind of wet. Steamed in a pan under a lid was my guess.
Free WiFi is available. It was good enough to watch the Hawks beat the Magpies (Australian football) on my laptop!
I also liked the fact that they would refill water bottles in the restaurant without charge.
We thought our room was hideously expensive ($90 USD), but that’s because they were fully booked on their cheaper rooms and we had to take a fancy room. What we got was way too extravagant for us. Two bedrooms, an indoor lounge room and a front porch lounge room. It was really very tasteful and nice to be around. We also got a fully cooked breakfast for four people included. So while it was expensive, it was probably not enormously overpriced for what it was.
One big negative for me... The presence of two white monkeys in 19th-century-style cages. I really, really hated seeing that. Maybe being white, they would not survive in the wild... maybe there was a good reason for having them there, locked up for life.... if so, would love to have seen something to explain... It bothered me the whole time I was there.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maumere
1.4 mi away
Budi Sun Flores Diving Resort
0.0 mi away
Luwansa Beach Resort
Luwansa Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in Labuan Bajo
4.0 of 5 stars 153 reviews
167.3 mi away
Hotel Waecicu Eden Beach
Hotel Waecicu Eden Beach
#7 of 13 in Labuan Bajo
3.5 of 5 stars 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
166.5 mi away
Bintang Flores Hotel
Bintang Flores Hotel
#5 of 31 in Flores
4.0 of 5 stars 207 reviews
166.4 mi away
Laprima Hotel
Laprima Hotel
#5 of 13 in Labuan Bajo
3.5 of 5 stars 251 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sylvia Hotel
Sylvia Hotel
#5 of 5 in Maumere
3.0 of 5 stars 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea World Club Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea World Club Beach Resort

Address: Waiara Beach, Maumere, Flores 86112, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > East Nusa Tenggara > Flores > Maumere
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Maumere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea World Club Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 2 hours flight from Bali bring you to this tropical beach paradise on Flores Island where you will enjoy peaceful & relaxing holidays. Flores island is a green jewel in Indonesia Archipelago and has something magical, it is so close to Bali but you wonder yourself in a different world. We offer our guests: comfortable beachfront cottages and bungalows, authentic Florenese hospitality, simplicity, a slow and easy way of life, free spirit, mind & soul, good music, good food and cold bear, always accompanied with a warm smile.The hotel and the island is really 'away from it all': peaceful and relaxing. If you want entertainment and sophistication don't bother - this resort is not for you. The hotel is a casual , read, swim, dive and relaxing beach destination. Enjoy the folklore and smile of the people. Leave the hectic, modern lifestyle behind, take your snorkel or diving equipment and lots of books, stay with us and enjoy relaxing holidays on a calm volcanic beach. This beach and dive resort is the perfect holiday place for those who look for silence, peace and recreation off the beaten track. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sea World Club Beach Hotel Maumere
Sea World Hotel
Sea World Club Beach Resort Maumere, Flores, Indonesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing