We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Escape

The Escape
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pennal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Escape
Save
You added The Escape to your Saves list
Tower Road, Pennal, Snowdonia National Park SY20 9DP, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Pennal B&B and Inns
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Value for money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

We had a pleasant stay at the Escape. Fortunately the local pub/ restaurant ( two minuets walk ) was very good otherwise we would have had a long drive for evening dinner.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teapot35, Owner at The Escape, responded to this review, November 27, 2010
Just for information there are plenty of places to eat that are very close so we are surprised and disappointed by the misleading content of this review. Information on all of these restaurants, including telephone numbers, is provided in our guest folders in each room.

We have listed below a selection the various restaurants close to us and the distances to them, as stated by AA Routeplanner for others to see for themselves. There are several others as well!

The Riverside, Pennal - At the bottom of our road, 2 minutes walk
The Plas Talgarth, Pennal - 0.3 miles, 2 minutes by car, 15 minutes walk
The Taj Mahal Indian Restaurant, Machynlleth - 3.8 miles, 6 minutes by car
The Wynnstay Hotel, Machynlleth - 3.9 miles, 6 minutes by car
Plas Bistro, Machynlleth - 4.2 miles, 7 minutes by car
The Penhelig, Aberdovey - 6 miles - 10 minutes by car

Information on our location and the many activities, places to vist and recommended places to eat can be found on our website or please feel free to call us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
32
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spalding, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

A match made in heaven - Bed and Breakfast at The Escape, beautiful scenery and locations in Wales and evening meal at The Riverside Hotel 2 mins walk from The Escape. In just 3 days we were able to completely relax, thanks to Lucie and Stuart for making that possible.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

Having previously spent considerable time in Pennal when children were young,we know the area quite well.
The Escape is well positioned to explore this part of Mid Wales.
This quiet and friendly B&B has a charm that belies it`s exterior,excellent bedroom a Welsh breakfast freshly cooked to your taste.
Lucie was the perfect host ,we unfortunately never met Stuart.
As we are both in our seventies we found the TV to br small and were unable to get Subtitles on the digital channels,this though is a minor complaint and no way interfered with our enjoyment.
Would recommend `The Escape` to anyone who wants to escape from their busy lives.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

Beautiful, quiet rural location run by a lovely friendly family who do their upmost to make your stay a happy one. Great biking and running from the door with the seaside only a short drive away. Great breakfast and service.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, West Midlands, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

Owners Lucie and Stuart were very welcoming and wonderful hosts. Our room overlooked rolling hills and countryside with a smattering of sheep grazing happily. The room was very elegant and tastefully decorated, great attention to detail. We relaxed immediately in the surroundings. Great location between Aberdovey and Machynlleth (where they were holding a festival) and also great Vegetarian food at the Quarry Cafe in Machynlleth. Would recommend a visit to The Riverside in Pennal, (2 mins walk) modern contemporary pub with great choice of meals - would recommend booking. The breakfast was superb with a good choice of food. Recommendations - coasters for bedside table, local art in bedroom and some veggie sausages for breakfast. A very pleasant, enjoyable stay, would revisit and recommend highly.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

Our stay at the Escape was perfect. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the Owners very welcoming.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

The atmosphere was warm and friendly,and Stuart and Lucie were excellent hosts. The location was very quiet, with excellent views of the surrounding countryside, the room was comfortable, clean and tidy with tea and coffee making facilities provided. The breakfast was excellent with lots of tea and toast.
The village of Pennal is quiet with a pub that serves excellent food and good beers.
We really enjoyed our stay at the escape and will definately return next year.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Escape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Escape

Address: Tower Road, Pennal, Snowdonia National Park SY20 9DP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Pennal
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Pennal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Guest House accommodations just outside of Aberdovey. The Escape is a magnificent Georgian guesthouse of immense charm and character set in the peaceful village of Pennal. Here the guest really does come first and there is no time you won't be made to feel welcome. Our aim has been to create a high quality, small, friendly guesthouse offering stylish and comfortable accommodation with the very best of hospitality and service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Escape Pennal, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Escape, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.