We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restful break before Christmas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Plas Talgarth Holiday Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Plas Talgarth Holiday Resort to your Saves list
Plas Talgarth Holiday Resort
Snowdonia National Park, Pennal, Snowdonia National Park SY20 9JY, Wales (Formerly Plas Talgarth Health & Leisure Club)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pennal
Newcastle under Lyme, null, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Restful break before Christmas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We own points with the Macdonalds Vacation Club and we visit this resort at least once a year and mostly twice. In summer we opt for a larger apartment so we can sit outside but in the winter a one bed apartment in the Mansion House suits us better. For two years running we have stayed in an apartment on the top floor to take advantage of superb views over the Dovey Valley and towards Pennal village. It is also very warm in the Mansion House as it is heated by the resort's hot water system. Climbing up and down the stairs keeps us fit! The apartment has recently been refurbished with new sofa bed, table, wardrobe, chest of drawers and nest of tables. The old chairs have not been replaced and they are rather the worse for wear now. Although it sleeps 4 the aprtment is only really suitable for 2 as there is nowhere for clothes in the bedroom and the sofabed and armchair only sit 3 - a 4th person would have to make do with a dining chair. Also, cooking facilities are limited - a microwave combi oven and two rings, toaster and kettle. However, this is fine as we do not do much cooking and the facilities are fine for making breakfast, having a light lunch or a simple supper. If I wanted to do more self catering I would not ask for this apartment. For one week it is just the ticket - we tend to eat out a lot on our Dec break. In the past we have been underwhelmed by the onsite catering facilities so it was with much anticipation that we arrived on Dec 14th and went into the Farmhouse bar now renamed Y Garth. The first thing I noticed was two hand pumps selling real ale! This was definitely a plus for my husband. The staff were brilliant - very friendly and helpful. I then perused the menu - there was a good selection of snacks and main meals. We settled for two home-made pizzas which were both excellent. The next day we had a superb Sunday lunch in the bar followed by desserts to die for. The wine was also very good and reasonably priced. Macdonalds have franchised out the catering and quite frankly it was about time as on previous visits lack of choice and indifferent food meant we hardly used the facilities. We enjoyed a fabulous dinner in the restaurant and two more bar meals during our stay. As MVC members we were able to use our discount cards and got 10% of every meal. For those who have not been before there is also a very good restaurant pub in the village which also serves real ale and excellent food. The leisure facilities at Plas Talgarth are also excellent - we went to the pool every morning bar one to have a swim, sauna, steam bath and jacuzzi. Nearby there is lots to do and see both summer and winter. A visit to Cefn Caer in Pennal is a must - it is a very old farmhouse built on the site of a Roman fort. It has been restored by the owner and is steeped in history. You can learn all about Owen Glendower and see a copy of the famous Pennal letter. The owner gives a very lively, interesting and informative talk and shows you his superb collection of antiques. For walkers there are lots of local walks - you can buy books walks in the Dovey Valley and Machynlleth area published by Kittiwake locally. Mine are now quite old and well used. The RSPB reserve at Ynishir is well worth a visit - we went twice and saw a wide range of birds including kingfishers, woodpeckers, red kites, curlew, oyster catchers and many more. Machynlleth market is worth a visit and no visit to this part of Wales would be complete without a brisk walk along Aberdovey beach! Plas Talgarth with its wonderful grounds and excellent facilites and wide range of accommodation is well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Mansion house is very warm in winter but small apartments have limited cooking facilites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    35
    26
    17
    7
See reviews for
67
31
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Just returned home from a wonderful week here. From the greeting at the check in to the farewells, everything was good, The staff are friendly and welcoming, location stunning, surrounded by hills, trees and splendid views. Lots of access to walks etc. The accommodation has recently been updated, and other than very squeaky floors and noisy water pump, it is of a superb standard.
The Restaurant has recently re-opened and well 5 star is too low a rating, the food, atmosphere and quality is outstanding, whether you are eating in the restaurant or bar.
Went with friends and had a great stay. Even though it was December we had good dry weather except 1 day. There is plenty to go and see in this Snowdonia area.

Room Tip: Heron Apartments if with friends or family are good. Upper floors will have less noise from squeaky...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

From the minute I arrived, I loved it! The accommodation and service are second to none.

The accommodation exceeded my expectations. The Management and staff where truly amazing - i will definately be back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llangollen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Our family had the most amazing and restful break here at half term. The apartment was spotless and so luxurious with everything we could possibly need and more. The kids loved their room, with their own bathroom and made the most of the facilities and the pool. The food in the restaurant was stunning and the staff could not have been more attentive and helpful. Set in such beautiful scenery and with such a restful and relaxing ambiance I cannot think of a better way to unwind or a more relaxing and lovely place to be on holiday

Room Tip: The whole place seemed ship shape and lovely. I'd happily try the same or another apartment next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cropston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I own a timeshare in the Mansion House.
Wonderful location, Facilities are limited but improving with the introduction of the Y Garth restaurant and bar. The staff are good. The grounds first class with an excellent forest walk and wonderful views over the Dovey valley. The area is outstanding with the the coast at Aberdovey a few miles away and the Snowdonia National Park on the doorstep. Fabulous for outdoor oriented people.


The apartments are much better following the ongoing refurbishment programme. However, did think the mattresses in our apartment were showing signs of wear and were quite uncomfortable.
One thing I was upset about. Three weeks before visiting I tried booking my apartment on the MacDonald website only to find that it was being offered for somewhat less than my annual owners fee. Understand that this may be due to timing, demand etc. Same thing happened last year. My apartment is in half term week for half of the country.
I am not convinced that MacD do enough to sell apartments. After all they have the income whether they are occupied or not.
That aside this resort has everything going for it and is well worth spending time at.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The Lapwing apartment was spotlessly clean when we arrived. It was large and equipped with everything we could have wished for. The grounds were beautifully kept and the scenery magnificent. The staff gave a well informed description of facilities and activities available and a most humourous delivery of a local map by a talented young lady!The best "Welcome Morning" I have ever seen. The facial I had at the spa was also amongst the best ever.A most relaxing week with delicious meals served in the bar and Y Garth restaurant.

Room Tip: Lapwing 6 was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

When we first arrived, it was obvious that our bungalow had not been hoovered! There was other people's hair on the cushions and much dog hair and pine needles on the floor. So the first thing I had to do, was hoover. It got worse when we had to move the bed to get our travel cot in one of the bedrooms - inch thick of dust plus a tampon wrapper. We complained, the manager apologised and halved our electricity bill - we saved £6 - thanks!

There are other parts of the bungalow that need attention - some damp penetrating in a corner of a bedroom, stained roller blinds, etc. The movies are dubbed out of sync. None of the Internet radio stations worked.

The children's play area was just a bunch of mostly broken plastic toys.

However, the bar and restaurant are fine. The views, pitch and putt, swimming pool, jacuzzi, etc are fine.

Not sure how they can charge 13p a unit for electricity - surely the local supplier isn't providing it for that cost?

We had a nice stay but re-investment is required!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plas Talgarth Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plas Talgarth Holiday Resort

Address: Snowdonia National Park, Pennal, Snowdonia National Park SY20 9JY, Wales (Formerly Plas Talgarth Health & Leisure Club)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Pennal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pennal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Plas Talgarth Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plas Talgarth Holiday Hotel Pennal
Plas Talgarth Health Leisure Hotel
Plas Talgarth Holiday Resort Pennal, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plas Talgarth Holiday Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.