We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An enjoyable week” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Plas Talgarth Holiday Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pennal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Plas Talgarth Holiday Resort
Save
You added Plas Talgarth Holiday Resort to your Saves list
Snowdonia National Park, Pennal, Snowdonia National Park SY20 9JY, Wales (Formerly Plas Talgarth Health & Leisure Club)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pennal
Somerset
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“An enjoyable week”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We have just spent a week in Farmhouse 2 Apartment Plas Talgarth Resort having exchanged with our time share points. The apartment was a little dated but clean, comfortable and the kitchen was very well equipped. We knew in advance that we would have to pay for our electricity and despite the fact that the weather was quite cold so we had the heaters on every evening (and sometimes during the night), and one day we stayed in the apartment all day, our electricity bill at the end of the week was a mere £27, exactly what we would have paid for electricity at home (our household is fully electric). It is a good centre for visiting mid Wales and Snowdonia and Machynlleth nearby is an attractive little town with some interesting shops. The only down side for us was a visit to the bar, which had two TVs blaring loudly so it was impossible to hold a conversation, and had an unpleasant smell so we were put off eating in the restaurant which was in the same building. We found the staff at reception to be helpful and courteous and any request was dealt with promptly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    30
    25
    15
    5
See reviews for
59
27
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pego Spain
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Having owned here for 26 years this was our first visit in ten years, amd what a surprise!
The gardens and views haven't changed and are good but thag is wnere it ended.
We were due to meet friends from all over europe here before going on to a wedding and were so embarassed to host them in villa 38 (not our normal place we own a different week in a patio cottage)
This place has deteriorated to the extent that we really don't want to be associated with it again
The cleaners have forgotten how to do their job, the dirt, dust, grease and stains were disgusting, tne equipment broken, sub standard and dirty, what was once beautiful furniture has been replaced by tne type found in an elderly care home and the maintenance non existent.
We pay over €600 a year maintenance charges for this, we feel totally ripped off and will ne taking this further
... But not with the staff on site who seem to think thag the the resort is run for their benefit and not for the customers. They even moan about each other, run tne others down and complain if they have.work to.do.
Plas talgarth is an embarassment to MacDonald resorts, and.the owners and should be closed down, totally defurbished and staffed with professionals.
I will never be back and giving away our week to anyone foolish enough to take it on.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This "Country Club" is ideally situated for visiting both Snowdonia and the Coast. Plas Talgarth is a comfortable and pleasant conurbation which has friendly staff, a well stocked bar and good food. The health club and indoor pool are a great attraction as too are the putting course and tennis courts in fine weather.
We were a bit disappointed that due to the Chefs resignation the Restaurant was not open whilst we were there and only bar meals were available. Given that this is run by MacDonalds Hotels you would have thought they could have drafted in a relief Chef!
Anyhow despite this I can heartily recommend a break here which is very relaxing and enjoyable!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

If you like feeling ripped off, visit this place; you'll love it! My family stayed in Lapwing apartments this weekend, and were charged £19 for electricity! Considering we spent most of our time away from the accommodation and cooked only two meals, this is nothing short of highway robbery. How do they get away with this? At no point was I shown any meter reading, just given a bill and a comment from the receptionist that this price was 'about right', when I enquired about the seemingly exceptionally high cost!

I left feeling completely ripped off, but with the knowledge That I shall never return. This is sad, since five minutes before we received the bill we were contemplating bring our extended family for a week or two over christmas. What great business sense from McDonalds! Well done, you have lost a few thousand pounds by being ridiculously greedy. I would love to hear how this company can justify their electricity charges.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Stayed in an apartment, also in Farmhouse. Both very nice. Shame apartment had to make up sofa bed, not provide bed. Nice facilities, swimming pool etc. Staff all pleasant. Great location, also 15 mins to sea. Needed a bit more free tea and coffee. internet was a problem...slow...hard to use

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Patio 11 had not changed since our visit last year. Arrived on the Sunday evening after a long 7 hour drive from Edinburgh to be met by a nice, clean terraced house. Kitchen was clean, patio outside was disgusting though, with dirty patio stones and a horrible barbeque. Absolutely no chance of doing anything out there on our holiday.
Bedroom was clean and smelling fresh, double bed was two twins joined together, with an incredibly uncomfortable mattress and pillows that have definitely seen their best days! En suite bathroom was clean as well, no complaints there.
Went upstairs and walked into a living room stinking of stale smoke, and with an ashtray full of cigarette butts in full view on the balcony through the patio doors. Don't think the cleaners had ventured upstairs prior to our visit! Carpets had small brown circular marks over them which we had no idea of what they were, but it wasn't very appealing. The twin bedroom and the little bunk bed room were fine so our 5 year old had plenty of beds to choose from on our stay which she loved. Upstairs bathroom was nice and clean too.
The small farmhouse bistro bar was ok, despite the dour nature of the girl behind the bar. With children not being allowed in their, we moved to the adjoining area and had a small bar meal which wasn't very nice, and we decided against eating there again during our stay as a result.
The park was closed which was a huge disappointment to our young one as she had really been looking forward to playing in this throughout our stay. I only saw it being worked on and repaired for one day during our entire stay, not good enough during summertime. The swimming pool was a highlight of the holiday, with just the right temperature for us to stay in for ages. Jacuzzi great as was steam room and sauna. Always clean too.
Back to the apartment and our fridge broke down on the first day (Monday), which resulted in our weekly shop for food and drink being transported to a villa close by as there was no maintenance staff on after 4pm to fix it! It wasn't too much of an inconvenience and the lady at reception was very, very helpful in sorting it out. We got a new fridge delivered the next day which did help though.
Overall, this place is in terminal decline it seems and Macdonald group needs to get its act together. I won't be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Amazing surroundings, great facilities (indoor pool, outdoor pool, spa, squash court etc.) Staff were very friendly and helpful. There's some great entertainment too with whiskey tasting, quizzes, welsh lessons and much more. Cosy little bar and although we didn't eat in the restaurant we did eat in the bar and the food was excellent and very reasonably priced. Going again next year without a doubt!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plas Talgarth Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plas Talgarth Holiday Resort

Address: Snowdonia National Park, Pennal, Snowdonia National Park SY20 9JY, Wales (Formerly Plas Talgarth Health & Leisure Club)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Pennal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pennal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 60
Also Known As:
Plas Talgarth Holiday Hotel Pennal
Plas Talgarth Health Leisure Hotel
Plas Talgarth Holiday Resort Pennal, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plas Talgarth Holiday Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.