We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing has changed...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Plas Talgarth Holiday Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pennal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Plas Talgarth Holiday Resort
Save
You added Plas Talgarth Holiday Resort to your Saves list
Snowdonia National Park, Pennal, Snowdonia National Park SY20 9JY, Wales (Formerly Plas Talgarth Health & Leisure Club)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pennal
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nothing has changed...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Patio 11 had not changed since our visit last year. Arrived on the Sunday evening after a long 7 hour drive from Edinburgh to be met by a nice, clean terraced house. Kitchen was clean, patio outside was disgusting though, with dirty patio stones and a horrible barbeque. Absolutely no chance of doing anything out there on our holiday.
Bedroom was clean and smelling fresh, double bed was two twins joined together, with an incredibly uncomfortable mattress and pillows that have definitely seen their best days! En suite bathroom was clean as well, no complaints there.
Went upstairs and walked into a living room stinking of stale smoke, and with an ashtray full of cigarette butts in full view on the balcony through the patio doors. Don't think the cleaners had ventured upstairs prior to our visit! Carpets had small brown circular marks over them which we had no idea of what they were, but it wasn't very appealing. The twin bedroom and the little bunk bed room were fine so our 5 year old had plenty of beds to choose from on our stay which she loved. Upstairs bathroom was nice and clean too.
The small farmhouse bistro bar was ok, despite the dour nature of the girl behind the bar. With children not being allowed in their, we moved to the adjoining area and had a small bar meal which wasn't very nice, and we decided against eating there again during our stay as a result.
The park was closed which was a huge disappointment to our young one as she had really been looking forward to playing in this throughout our stay. I only saw it being worked on and repaired for one day during our entire stay, not good enough during summertime. The swimming pool was a highlight of the holiday, with just the right temperature for us to stay in for ages. Jacuzzi great as was steam room and sauna. Always clean too.
Back to the apartment and our fridge broke down on the first day (Monday), which resulted in our weekly shop for food and drink being transported to a villa close by as there was no maintenance staff on after 4pm to fix it! It wasn't too much of an inconvenience and the lady at reception was very, very helpful in sorting it out. We got a new fridge delivered the next day which did help though.
Overall, this place is in terminal decline it seems and Macdonald group needs to get its act together. I won't be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    30
    25
    15
    5
See reviews for
59
27
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Amazing surroundings, great facilities (indoor pool, outdoor pool, spa, squash court etc.) Staff were very friendly and helpful. There's some great entertainment too with whiskey tasting, quizzes, welsh lessons and much more. Cosy little bar and although we didn't eat in the restaurant we did eat in the bar and the food was excellent and very reasonably priced. Going again next year without a doubt!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carluke, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Villa 37 was disgusting from the minute the front door opened. It smelled of cigarettes and was very damp. There was brown marks smeared on the Walls, dead flies on the window sill and stuck to the bathroom door. Cigarette burns and blood stains on carpets which smelled awful too! We couldn't even give our kids a drink as the glasses were very visibly dirty and covered in greasy fingerprints. The travel cot was stained in goodness knows what and cigarette butts Lined the patio of the allegedly non-smoking villa. We complained on arrival and were told no other rooms were available. Having also complained about the pungent smell the man at reception handed us an air freshener!!!!! We waited on housekeeping to come and scrub the Walls, cupboard handles and wall hand rails as they were dirty and sticky but no-one arrived. This villa is set over five split levels and we had to ask for stair gates to be delivered which we had to fit ourselves. Having slept on it overnight we felt the accommodation was too awful to keep our children in for a week so we checked out the very next morning. The man on reception apologised and agreed he would be embarrassed to charge us - speaks for itself really. Avoid this like the plague!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We have been on our yearly weeks holiday to Plas Talgarth for the last 26 years and I'm sorry to say many things are on the decline and looking tired. This year we were fortunate to have 4 generations of our family there ranging from 88 years old to 2years old. We have a time share week. My review on Patio 2 - sorry to say the cleaning of this patio has really gone down over the last couple of years, the previous people to stay there must be dog owners, there were white dog hairs on the un-vacuumed carpets, the house also smelled strongly of dog. Kitchen sink left a lot to be desired, smelly and dirty, there was also brocolli left in one of the saucepans. Childrens playground was padlocked. We ate in the restaurant Sunday & Thursday - as usual excellent food and service - compliments to the new chef who also catered for a gluton intolarant person in our group, I don't know why more people don't eat there. Beds very comfy and clean, showers good. All in all(apart from the weather) we had a good week, but I do think the cleaners need to be retrained, all the staff were friendly. We will be there next year - hopefully with a better review on the cleanliness.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Had a great time here and will come again. Suprised at the negativity of some of the reviews, everything was first class and slept more than it stated, was very clean and had everything that one could want. My thanks to Plas Talgarth and Dial An Exchange for a fantastic holiday. The countryside is absolutely gorgeous.

Jeff.

Room Tip: Patio 7 has fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Check in guy ( white haired, quite an elderly man) appeared gruff and indifferent on first meeting but he was more helpful when we spoke again later. Studio appartment in mansion house was raving hot when we went in and luckily we caught a maintenance man and he was able to turn the radiator off. Thank goodness as otherwise I just don't think we could have stayed! the views from the apartment were spectacular and we liked the mansion hosue even if it is in need of refurbishment. However.... the sofa bed was another matter! Oh my goodness we have never experienced such uncomfortable bedding and the mattress was so thin you feel every rung and spring and my husband and I after three nights were walking around like geriatrics with aches and pains where we didn't know you have aches and pains. It's a shame they haven't replaced these sofa beds as it just spoils the stay when you can't sleep and are in physical pain from the bed. The mattress cover was soiled. The pillows were not good either.

The resort had good food on offer in the bar and Dyfi restautant but there didn't seem to be any breakfast facilities on site, so it was tea and toast in the apartment each day.

The gardens are beautiful and very well maintained. The resort is one we would potentially try again if we could get a decent bed. The spa staff are lovely and the massage and facial I had from Emily was very good. Faye was very courteous and pleasant when booking me in.

Checking out with the same gruff man on reception wasn't such a good experience. He doesn't smile or make you feel welcome at all. We overheard another couple remark on this as we left the building.

Elmers Court is far superior to Plas Talgarth!! Macdonald need to spend some money here as it is in an outstanding area of natural beauty and could be so much better.

Room Tip: Do not choose a studio until they have replaced the awful sofa beds!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

Greeted at reception with indifference. Allocation of apartment wasn't as expected but this was "beyond our control". Children's play area closed with no explanation - during half term week. Kitchen area tired and needs refurbishing. Heating on full blast constantly - "always a problem here". Gardens are beautiful. No entertainment.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plas Talgarth Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plas Talgarth Holiday Resort

Address: Snowdonia National Park, Pennal, Snowdonia National Park SY20 9JY, Wales (Formerly Plas Talgarth Health & Leisure Club)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Pennal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pennal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 60
Also Known As:
Plas Talgarth Holiday Hotel Pennal
Plas Talgarth Health Leisure Hotel
Plas Talgarth Holiday Resort Pennal, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plas Talgarth Holiday Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.