We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great meal at the Riverside” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riverside Hotel

Riverside Hotel
Aberdyfi Road, Pennal, Snowdonia National Park SY20 9DW, Wales
01654 791285
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Pennal
Cuisines: Brasserie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: info@riversidehotel-pennal.co.uk
Tywyn, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Another great meal at the Riverside”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

My family dined here for a celebratiory birthday lunch. The food and service were fantastic. The staff and owner were so kind, friendly and obliging. Excellent quality food at reasonable prices. Lovely outside seating area. One of our favourite places to eat.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    32
    8
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely Family Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We had a really lovely family Sunday lunch here whilst holidaying in Aberdovey. The food was delicious for all of us. Brilliant choice for vegetarians and children. Our 3 year old loved her meal and I noticed that all of the children in the restaurant were thoroughly enjoying their food-often the kids menu is an afterthought but here children were very welcome. We look forward to returning very soon.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Lovely place and good service - both hotel and pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

My partner and I Dave, visited the hotel and pub on 7th May. B&B is over the road but a very short walk. Lovely stylish and comfy room. Welcomed by the owner, who explained everything really well. Pub food was really nice and good service. We sat in the bar area, which was a bit quiet and local, so would recommend the restaurant seating as more intimate. This was our choice though so no fault of the pub. Pub is again stylish and food was great, but a bit expensive.

Breakfast, again at the pub, was lovely, plenty of choice and cooked fresh to order.

Would recommend

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant welcome.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We came upon the Riverside by accident having been let down by a restaurant in Aberdovey, we just drove until we found something promising. They could not have been more helpful and welcoming, by the time we arrived we were ravenous and were served quickly and in a friendly way, although they were extremely busy. The fish and chips were delicious and my husband was able to construct his own vegetarian option from various parts of the menu. We were only slightly disappointed that the lamb had sold out!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A bit pricey, but good food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We called in on spec and managed to get a table for 2 at 7pm. The dining room was rather plain and characterless, but clean and functional. Food was ordered and we had a bit of a wait, but when it came it was of good quality and nicely presented, although portions were not large. Price was at the higher end of my expectation and I have had better value elsewhere, so overall I would probably not return.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riverside Hotel also viewed

 
Pennal, Snowdonia National Park
Machynlleth, Powys
 

Been to Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.