We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Encumeada

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Encumeada to your Saves list
Hotel Encumeada
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Feiteiras, Serra d' Agua, Ribeira Brava, Madeira 9350-000, Portugal (Formerly Estalagem Encumeada)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Ribeira Brava
Burnley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Fantastic location, the staff are very helpful and patient. Was here for a wedding reception and it was all fantastic. The rooms are a good size and the views from the balcony were simply amazing. The beds were very comfortable and clean. The hotel is located in the mountains and so wildlife is to be expected but given the wonderful location it is just a minor thing. There are plenty of walks you can take in the area and stunning views to be seen.

Room Tip: If possible ask for rooms on the top floor and to the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    30
    23
    7
    5
See reviews for
5
33
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

The Hotel Encumeada is definitely the best place to stay if you are keen on Madeira walks.
This was my second visit to this hotel and not much has changed since September last year. The staff are very helpfull, the food and drink are inexpensive and quite good, and the mountain views are breathtaking.
The general decor of the hotel is a bit tired, but I was told by the hotel manager, whom I happen to come across in the restaurant, that they had started to refurbish the hotel slowly; This was already noticeable judging by some minor building noises during the day.
I really love the isolated and beautiful location of this hotel and I am looking forward to my 3rd visit next year. I stayed in room 111.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

Lovely setting, amazing view, not expecting too much from the restaurant or hotel. Very clean and comfortable but does need some attention soon.

However, what was a big surprise was the fabulous wine selection available. The wine is displayed on shelf and rack system in the corner of the large restaurant. The range and quality was amazing. The staff are very friendly and I would particularly mention Ricardo whose knowledge of wines was impressive. Worth staying there for the wine collection alone!

Room Tip: The balcony rooms behind the reception have lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

I went with an open mind, having read the very mixed reviews, and can honestly say i was impressed all round. My room, the restaurant (amazing breakfast!) helpful staff...but above all the location, such great views and so near to several waymarked paths.

Room Tip: I can only speak for the ground floor - where i had a balcony and a bath as well as shower. This wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Back after a 4 years absence for a third visit because the Estalagem Encumeada is what I want for a quiet, relaxing holiday ... high in the fresh, mountain air of Madeira.
No great changes with the Inn noted - the positive features being a basic but comfortable, spotlessly clean, affordable room with daily domestic service. My mountain view room looked refurbished fairly recently (wasn't there a small fire last year?).
I asked for a quiet 'location' in the Inn which was granted .. if you exclude door banging by thoughtless guests.
Although there were several weddings and christenings, there was no noise intrusion into my room at any time. I was invited by the bride's father, on one occasion, to approach the top table and offer best wishes to the happy couple from 'Santa Claus on holiday' ... must have been because of my white beard. Ho ho ho!
As before, I chose B+B with a reasonably priced a la carte menu in the good restaurant - a basic and adequate breakfast of staples, hot and cold, eat your fill. (One point .. what's wrong with taking a roll filled at breakfast to eat later? It's something I have paid for?)
There's a wide enough choice of freshly cooked a la carte that should satisfy most people - including the portions. The wine list is good with a bias towards reds - however prices, again, are affordable - 13 euros for a tasty, 2011 Dao!
In addition to its spectacular location with ever-changing cloud and shadow vistas over the valley, the major asset, here, is the Inn's staff - folks who recognise me with a warm welcome, good advice and conversation. The front of house staff's English is so much better than my Portuguese ('Google Translate', I'm afraid, makes me a lazy learner) and the backroom girls are equally friendly when you speak to them. A few basic Portuguese words and a smile help. Many thanks to Clive, Susanna, Jose, Ernesto, Barbora (sic), Zaylia, David, Aldonio and unnamed others.
So, what's the rumour? A reliable source tells me that the Inn is to be refurbished in the months ahead. If correct, this is good news and I look forward to visit number 4!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet location in the Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

I spent a week here on holiday and i found it comfortable and perfect for our needs, despite the room being basic.

The views of the mountains and trees from the balcony was stupendous and the hotel is surrounded by totally breathtaking scenery. It is perfectly located for nature, walks and birdwatching.

A car is a must as it is far from towns and the bus service isn't very regular. The location is not correct as shown on the internet, but if you follow the mountain road towards encumeada pass you will see the big pink painted hotel with red tiled roof!

The restaurant areas are in very good condition and the food was adequate for me (i am vegetarian) - for breakfast there was cornflakes, yoghurt, fried or scrambled eggs- plus meaty stuff. I wish boiled eggs were offered at breakfast and dinner, plus beans for breakfast would have bulked up my meal. The main meal was good with quite a variety and nice puddings, but again i wish a vegi pasta option was offered with every dinner- i mainly ate plates of vegetables. Still.. ok for me.

The staff were polite and helpful, though they seemed taken aback when i gave my contact details when off on a levada walk for the day- but you should do this as people get injured on these walks and nobody would know where to find you.

The free wifi in reception area was quite useful and not too slow, there was also some info boards on the area with maps of walks, though most paper reading was in german.

The room itself was adequate, even though it was quite dated- we only used it as a place to sleep and wash which was all you would want from it really. The bathroom was well equipped, although there was always a smell of sewage. When we went the hotel was not busy and the hot water was fine, however it then got busy on the last two days and hot water was harder to get.

The room was cleaned and fresh towels every day which was nice. We got extra pillows and towels from reception at no extra cost.

All in all, it was a wonderfully located hotel with budget rooms for a fantastic adventure value holiday!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipping Norton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Sea views are all well and good but the mountain and laurel forest scenery from this hotel were some of the best views we have ever had from a hotel room. The rooms were basic as was the breakfast but perfectly in keeping with a 3* hotel and the very low price we paid for our advance booking. Our room had a private balcony which we thoroughly enjoyed drinking madeira wine on in the late evenings whilst looking at the shadowy mountain silhouettes and shooting stars when the clouds cleared. We ate in the restaurant twice, once a la carte and once the buffet. Food was tasty and well cooked and the buffet at 13euros provided an abudance of food which was much appreciated after we'd walked to Pico Ruivo and back (23km round trip!). It can be quite cool (we were there late June), especially in the evenings so take a jumper or two but we found that great for getting a good nights sleep and you're only 10/15mins drive from the coast where it's much hotter if you need a warm up!
The smell of eucalyptus trees on arrival was also a nice surprise and kept our airways clear all week!
In summary - if you want 5* luxury don't book here. This is a 3* hotel and the facilities and food are perfectly in keeping with that. If you are happy with basic comfort but want amazing scenery and a great base for walking in Madeira then this is probably right for you. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would go back. My only real 'complaint' would be that the restaurant can be a little bit 'soulless' it's so quiet - some soft background music would really just lift the feeling / atmosphere in there and whilst the staff are predominantly very friendly they could do with smiling a little bit more at the guests.

Room Tip: Only stayed in one room but our's was on the second floor about half way down the corridor and w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Encumeada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Encumeada

Address: Feiteiras, Serra d' Agua, Ribeira Brava, Madeira 9350-000, Portugal (Formerly Estalagem Encumeada)
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Ribeira Brava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Ribeira Brava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Encumeada 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Encumeada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estalagem Encumeada Hotel Ribeira Brava
Residencial Encumeada Ribeira Brava
Hotel Encumeada Madeira/Ribeira Brava, Portugal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Encumeada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.