We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice midtown hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Alandia Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Park Alandia Hotel to your Saves list
Park Alandia Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Norra Esplanadgatan 3, Mariehamn, Aland Island 22100, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Mariehamn
Espoo
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice midtown hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

A cosy midtown hotel near the ferries. The outside of the hotel didn't promise much, but the interior was nice and clean. We coud park the car beside the hotel. The breakfast was good: fresh breads, eggs, porridge, youghurt etc.
In Mariehamn almost everything is within walking distance: the ferries to mainland Finland and Sweden, restaurants, cafes, shops, library, swimming hall...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    25
    23
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
14
2
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
-
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

From the ferry it's easy walk to the hotel (well, you can take the mini train if you like). It's not a five star hotel but to expect 3 star it's easily that, and something more.

We travelled with kids and we had a room with two extra beds. There was enough space even then. Bathroom was basic, with bathtub. Breakfast was basic, excellent bread. Staff was friendly and thanks to the reception. What we really liked was sauna and pool. We booked in advance and whole family took a swim after the day. Pool was not crowded, we were actually the only ones there - private pool. Great service. Centre is right behind the corner and easy walking distance to everywhere in the city.

There was no air-conditioning, but a big window to open. It was ok.

Room Tip: I guess a room away from the bar is good if you want to sleep well. Enough space for extra beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stayed here two nights in June 2013, early in the season. Hotel is in good condition, certainly rates its 3-star status. Clean, quiet and the staff was friendly and helpful. The location is in the center of town, just about across the street from the Tourist Bureau, a couple of blocks from the interestingly designed church, and about 3 minutes from the Viking Line terminal.

I am a bicycle tourist and they had a great place behind the building in a courtyard for my bicycle.

Room Tip: I had a room on the west wing, away from the restuarant, bar and street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa, Finland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

One fine thing was that you could leave your key at the reception as in "good" old days. To small space for clouths and some dificulties to charge the mobile. Had to crawl on the floor to get the connection.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

This was the second time I visited Mariehamn and Aland. It really seemed like nothing was changed in 25 years. Everything was just like forgotten, worn out and outdated.

Just like the Hotel, which probably was renovated last time quarter of a century ago. Of course normal upkeep and maintenance was made in between, but the overall look was stale and worn out. The rooms are small, there is no A/C temperature control for the rooms. You can pop open a window but view is usually to some parking lot or back alley. The bathroom was outdated and the worst part of the room. Bed and linen were comfy enough for good sleep.

When looking at the other hotels it surely looked like tourists and visitors were only the necessary evil - not really the most welcoming tourist site.

The hotel is just a walk from the Lilla Holmen park which is a nice place to spend time and relax. Kids will love the animals.

Mariebad Swimming pools and Spa is located some 1,6 km from the hotel. Actually all the hotels are quite closely to each other so there are no major differences.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Me and my friends have stayed here two years in a row for our annual golf trip to Marienhamn. Everything in the hotel has been perfect. Rooms have been clean and spacious. Location is also very good for hanging out at the city centre or at the beach. Each year the hotel has arranged a early breakfest to us because our early tee times.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I had a business trip to Mariehamn and stayed at Park Alandia. I really enjoyed. The room was ok, the staff was very kind and the food in the downstair restaurant exellent! I had a dinner and a lunch in the restaurant, both were tasty. The breakfast was the usual good finnish level. They let me keep my room tol

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Park Alandia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Alandia Hotel

Address: Norra Esplanadgatan 3, Mariehamn, Aland Island 22100, Finland
Location: Finland > Aland > Aland Island > Mariehamn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Mariehamn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Alandia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Park Alandia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Alandia Hotel Mariehamn, Aland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Alandia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.