We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above and beyond” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Carlos 96

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Melide
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Carlos 96
Avenida de Lugo 119, 15800 Melide, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Melide
Edinburgh
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Above and beyond”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

What friendly staff! Good honest food, almost too much. Excellent value. My wife was ill with a touch of heat stroke and without any request the offer was made to take her chicken soup and lots of water. Very thoughtful service from lovely people

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    23
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
15
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

What made this inn stand out from others along the Camino was Luis' amazing gift of hospitality. He is the ultimate host - cheerful, competent, welcoming and caring. The meals he provided were enormous and delicious, and he entertained us before dinner with tales of the local wines and cheese. Our room was large and clean, with an ample bath and a patio overlooking the street. A wonderful overnight respite when walking the Camino.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longford, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This was one of the finer places we stayed on our Camino walk, good value for money, rooms clean - staff with good English and helpful. Generous breakfast and good selection of beers in bar after long day on the dusty Camino!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic host. The guy was multitasking amazingly. He was entertaining and hos English was brilliant. The room was lovely with a bath and the food portions were huge. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

After a wet and cold day on the camino we were greeted with our room key and sent to our room before any formalities...for which we are eternally grateful. Luis was a great host, generous, kind and accommodating with a great story about a wine we chose for dinner. The room was clean and well maintained and hot water aplenty. All that was needed. While breakfast was simple it was sufficient. The pilgrims dinner the night before was ample - we tried the salmon...very good. Don't be fooled by one star rating.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Just returned from a Camino trip and this was one of our stops.
Very pleased with good value and quality of food - no skimping.
The set lunch is too generous and there was a good breakfast selection.
Also got treated to the Witches Brew ceremony.
English speakers, which is a bit of a relief in the area.
The hotel is located just inside the eastern town limits but only 5 mins walk from centre.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is a bit off the Camino but not bad. The rooms were small and the bathrooms weren't the best but they did have a bathtub! We were here on a bad night for noise but it's not really the hotel's fault. They had an entire tour bus of kids that were on a Camino field trip.

The owners of the hotel were a pair of brothers that were great. Very friendly and helpful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Carlos 96? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlos 96

Address: Avenida de Lugo 119, 15800 Melide, Spain
Location: Spain > Galicia > A Coruna Province > Melide
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Melide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel en el Camino de Santiago (Saint James walk) ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Carlos 96, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Carlos 96 to your Saves list