We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Holiday in 7 years” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alkyon Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Alkyon Hotel to your Saves list
Alkyon Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Alkyon A.E., Sidari 49100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 43 Hotels in Sidari
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“First Holiday in 7 years”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

The first time I had been away in 7 years and loved every minute of it,7 nights at the beginning of August so right away the weather was hot hot hot, the hotel far exceeded what we had in mind bearing in mind it cost hardly anything staff were amazing and so much close by will be returning for sure

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    104
    36
    9
    7
See reviews for
84
138
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

First of all, thanks to all the active members of the site! :-) We have choosen this Hotel absolutely based on the comments. They were overall positive, and we can just validate them. The hotel is very nice and clean. The receptionists are helpful, waiters are nice in a 'greek' way. The breakfast is basic and almost the same each day, but satisfactory. However, the dinner was excellent to our taste, good choices, diverse enough. The only problem we faced was with the room wifi (around the pool it was OK most of the time). We also liked our room, which had a nice view of the pool, and was comfortable enough for us and the 2 kids. There were some evening/night programs which were loud indeed, but no problem for us, the kids were tired enough to sleep calm. All in all we recommend this Hotel, you'll have a great time there! :-)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke on trent
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

we stayed in in sept for 1 week lovely location near strip and short stroll to beach .Lovely pool the room bit dark bathroom ok lovely balcolny . The breakfast was adequet but you could buy English for 2 euros and it was vey nice we didn't have half board but the evening meal looked lovely .Very friendly staff and girls on reception would definetly go again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

we stayed in the Alkyon in september and over all it was a very nice hotel. the room was large and clean with a good bathroom and aircon. the pool was very nice , if a little cold, and there was always spaces for sunbeds. the alkyon is at the bottom end of the strip by the 3 little pigs about a 5 min walk to the centre of the strip with all the bars and restaurants. the food in the hotel is very nice with a good choice of main , but the deserts are a little bland.
now for the down points . the food in the evening is canteen style and they normally have music blearing out like you were in a disco instead of nice background music. and you have to pay extra for the safe deposit box, and aircon. but apart from that it is a good Hotel.

Room Tip: be at the back of the hotel and not above the main bar as this can be noisey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Had a really nice week at the Alkion (or Alkyon, not even the hotel can decide!), stayed on half board and was pleasently suprised by most everything. The pool area is lovely, the pool is great (although unheated, so a little fresh of a morning!), the evening meals are varied as they can be and tasty, the bar food isn't going to win a Michelin star, but is tasty, well cooked and as good a value as anywhere else, the staff are happy and helpful. Even our room that overlooked the kitchen and delivery access was tidy and comfortable. It's ten minutes from the beach, there are quiet tavernas over the rad and more lively ones the same ten minute walk as the beach. I wasn't a great fan of breakfast, but I never am of the continental buffet, so its nothing against the Alkion itself. Also, people compaining about having to pay for a fry up, get real! It's two Euros for god's sake! Anyway, it's a nice hotel, in a cosy resort, on a fabulous island.

Room Tip: Try to get off the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Just returned from 10 days at the Alkyon Hotel and was very pleasantly surprised. On arrival we were disappointed as our room was very small but they changed it to a larger one the next day with no trouble at all. Breakfast was pretty basic (although you can get a nice English breakfast for 2 euros) but adequate but the evening meals all week were fantastic (we were expecting to eat out but ate at the hotel every night as there was plenty of choice even for my very fussy husband!). Soups especially were gorgeous and staff couldn't do enought for you. Sidari itself was pretty quiet but only to be expected in mid-Sept. Would definitely return to the Alkyon again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoddesdon, Hertfordshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Just returned from Alkion Hotel, went with 2 of my sisters and had a good time, found the Alkion to be nice and clean was in room 322 on the top floor the room had 3 single beds in as requested and seemed freshly decorated and quite roomy , not a noisy room the view was good apart from being over part of the car park/refuse bins, there was no smell at all from the bins which was good. Food was quite good, but there was no fresh fruit available at breakfast only tinned, one of my sisters has a dietry problem and could only eat white chicken meat which was not a problem and they couldn't be more helpful and cooked it fresh for her every evening.

On the downside, I have never slept in such an uncomfortable bed in all my life, they were very hard and my sister and I came home with sore painful backs ,also the sun loungers have a metal support which when you wanted to lie down was very hard and uncomfortable as well. The glasses from the bar had a few lipstick marks on them, they didn't seem to be washed properly, staff friendly. Return journey was O.K.until we reached Corfu airport, complete chaos, lots of people, lack of organisation and quite a delay the airport is very small. Have been to many places in Europe for holidays and found Corfu not to be my favourite, I suppose each to their own opinion, would not return to Corfu again. Be careful when you go out along the strip where the shops/bars are as there are a lot of pot holes, all the shops much of a muchness nothing different.

Room Tip: We asked when booking to be on top floor over looking pool, but only got top floor, when looking at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alkyon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alkyon Hotel

Address: Alkyon A.E., Sidari 49100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Sidari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sidari
#10 Family Hotel in Sidari
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sidari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alkyon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alkyon Hotel is considered one of the finest in the locality. Once you have experienced its excellent facilities, friendly atmosphere and great location, you will agree that the Alkyon Hotel is a superb choice for a memorable holiday.For those who enjoy a family atmosphere in a lively resort, whether you are ‘Couples’ after that quiet break away, ‘Families’ looking to spend some special time together or ‘Friends’ after that fun filled holiday, the Alkyon Hotel is the place to be.The hotel is situated in a quiet area of Sidari yet only a stones throw away from all the essential holiday amenities. You will find Sidaris beautiful stretch of sandy beach barely 150m away, and the resorts center, occupied with its many shops, bars and restaurants barely 250m away.Our luxurious ‘Jacuzzi’,‘Wi-Fi Access’,‘Daily Entertainment’ and fun filled ‘Children’s Play Area’ are only a few of the excellent facilities that we have on site; guaranteeing that the Alkyon Hotel has something to satisfy everyone’s needs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alkyon Hotel Sidari, Corfu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alkyon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.