We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Garnavos/Paradise Apartments

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sidari
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Garnavos/Paradise Apartments
Save
You added Garnavos/Paradise Apartments to your Saves list
Sidari 49081, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 43 Hotels in Sidari
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Got moved to this hotel after a terrible experience at the Mimosa Hotel in Sidari, after such a horrendous time in the Mimosa wasn't expecting much of this hotel. However the hotel exceeded my expectations, women on the check in desk was expecting us when we had arrived, had our room sorted for us and escorted us up there. Room was spacious and with a lovely large balcony. Pool area was always clean and tidy, with maintenance men cleaning the pool every night. All the members of staff were very helpful and more than willing to help. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    33
    5
    4
    7
See reviews for
28
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, Devon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Me and my partner arrived at the Garnavos at 7am Corfu time tired after an overnight flight in a raging thunderstorm, we were slightly disappointed at the basic standard of our apartment.Mismatched tired looking furniture, tiny kitchenette and even the balcony was only a shared one.However we collapsed into bed and woke 4 hours later to bright sunlight which changed our point of view considerably.I had misjudged the quality of the apartment when I booked but in all other respects we were not let down. The complex is shared with the Paradise apartments and the two are owned by the same family. Our swimming pool was impessively large with plenty of sunbeds and parasols so no problem booking your spot to sunbathe.We went in the second week in September so not high season.
Positioned on the complex was the Paradise Restaurant which we used once on the Sunday when they held a Greek Night. This was great value.No extra charge and 20% off your bill if you stayed on the complex which meant that a 3 course meal for two with wine came to less than 30 euros.
In hindsight I would have booked the Paradise as it was a much newer block built to a higher spec and far more modern. It too has its own pool but not as big as Garnavos.The main reception and bar area was located at Paradise and was very clean and modern, indeed the toilets there were easily the best we saw in the holiday in Sidari.
Air Con in the room was extra around 35 euros for the week but we didn't need it even though we had 3 really hot days, it does get rather cold at nights.Safe boxes are located in main reception and were dirt cheap at 1 euro per day.
All staff were very friendly and courteous which always makes a difference to your veiw of a holiday.
The cleaners were in the room every day bar wednesday and did a good job but were tight on replacing the t/roll so you might have to keep an eye on this or pack some of your own as we did! The towels were not of the quality you would have at your home.Rough to the touch so if your baggage allowance will allow, bring your own maybe.
Shower was basic but adequate.Be aware that no shower curtains in Greece so water gets everywhere and on marble floor can make things treachorous!
As we were self catering we were out to eat every day/night.Without exception the food was great and very cheap, only 8 euros each if you chose the set menu. All served in a vey welcoming atmosphere,the Greeks take their customer care very seriously!
Wine and local beer was also very cheap and very palatable.Stay away from spirits as they are not.
The complex is situated at one end of the main Sidari strip and is far enough away to get a good nights sleep without fear of loud music getting in the way.The night life was lively enough but it is no Ibiza you may be relieved to know.I would say not too loud and not too quiet.Plenty of tribute entertainment in the bars to amuse you after your meal.
One day of cloud led us to explore the locality and we found plenty of scenic areas to look at and a couple of beaches to stop off at as well as bars/cafes to get refreshment from.
All in all we had a great and relaxing time.Our only regret was in not booking the Paradise instead and only because of the better standard of accomodation on offer.

Room Tip: Book at the Paradise instead of the Garnavos if it makes financial sense for you to do the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Went there with my girlfriend in the last week of September and we absolutely loved it. We went self catering. The rooms were basic but they were fine as we only used them to sleep in and wash in. They are cleaned more or less every day and they are well kept. The staff are excellent and very friendly. The pool is a good size and there is always sun loungers free. The food in the pool bar is decent at a decent price and the food in the restaurant beside the apartments is even better. We would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

I visited the Paradise Apartments back in May this year and was extremely impressed!! The apartments are in the perfect location, very close to the beach but just off the main strip of Sidari - so you can actually sleep at night!
Maria who works at reception is lovely! All the other staff are lovely and friendly too and are great with the children.
We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment and had lots and lots of space, even our balcony was massive!
The rooms were cleaned every day except one day in the week.
We stayed Half Board, but when we go again, we would probably just do self catering as we ate out every morning and almost every night aswell - nothing wrong with the food on my part (just that my partner is fussy!!)
Looking forward to returning, hopefully very soon x

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

after the hair raising coach transfer which took us up and over a mountain, arriving at the paradise apartments was great. good looking apartments and our large studio was massive, a really great start.air con was 35 euros for 1 week and safety deposit box 7.Took precautions for the mozzies every night and only got bitten on the last night! The air con wasn't cold enough for my taste stuck on 16. Great resort and the canal d'mour beach was a great hit with my teenagers.safe beaches clear water and lots of watersports on sidari main beach..Our favourite restaurant was right at the far end of main strip called medeterrneo. lovely food and great service. went on 2 trips with vlaseros travel.Corfu town cruise and paleokastrisa. well worth it. downsides health and safety a bit lacking sometimes in corfu and no many public toilets so you have to use restaurant facilities. weather first week in september was 30 34 everyday, bliss. the paradise pool did turn my kids white costumes green, a bit of a worry. would definatly go back to paradise again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We had a lovely week at Paradise apartments, excellent staff, clean rooms and balcony facing pool. The staff couldn't be more helpful. Bars are also very good with plenty of entertainment in almost every place. Food is excellent in most Restaurants with friendly staff. Premier Bar has entertainment every night and thanks to Dave for being very helpful when we needed it. Only down side to holiday was Vlaseros Tours Booking Shop in Sidari cancelled our day trip to Corfu town because of the weather and we had a lot of problems trying to get our money back from Phillip. I would definately go back to Sidari but remember your mozzie cream and antiseptic cream for bites the place is teeming with them.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Like linda s we got well and truely shafted on aircon (room 210) paid up front for two weeks use and had the maintenance man out four times and he still didnt fix it ,never had a refund as the rep kept making excuses as to when the manager was around so was useless.This was our 5th visit to sidari as we really love the island and the people but this was the worst due to the poor accomodation, after the aircon the fridge door kept falling off, then the shower was temperamental sometimes working sometimes not, the floor of the apartment never got mopped and was always filthy and the bed had about 5 slats in it so it felt as if it was going to break at any minute, also the linen smelt awful after coming back from the laundry !
Worse to come was the pool cleaner swilling out ashtrays in the top pool which always looked dirty with a permanent green line of algae around the edge (change your filters eh !) after witnessing this we went to the beach everyday which was brilliant.Staff always miserable looking seeming very reluctant to actually serve drinks, but im not surprised working at this hovel, I am honestly gobsmacked by the good reviews about this place they must have been wrote by friends or regulars, do yourself a favour unless you like slumming it and the worst dive in blackpool is you cup of tea give it a miss theres a lot better places to stay for this price in sidari with friendlier staff who try there best for the paying customer.

Room Tip: Any room in a different hotel !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Garnavos/Paradise Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garnavos/Paradise Apartments

Address: Sidari 49081, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Sidari
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 43 Hotels in Sidari
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely apartments. Garnavos are the older apartments, paradise apartments are newer but shared pools reception etc. same place ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Garnavos Hotel Sidari
Garnavos/Paradise Apartments Sidari, Corfu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garnavos/Paradise Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.