We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“kanali hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kanali Hotel - Apartments

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sidari
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kanali Hotel - Apartments
Save
You added Kanali Hotel - Apartments to your Saves list
Canal d'Amour, Sidari 49081, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Sidari
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“kanali hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

we stayed at the kanali 1st 2 weeks in september, 2013 its a nice hotel and the location is superb right in the canal d'amour area, the hotel is clean and and the gardens nice just wish the beds were softer, despite that i would certainly go again. ps: theres also a lovely taverna on sight with great staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    23
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
92
87
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burton-upon-Trent, null, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Just arrived back from Kanali apartments in Sidari and can hand on heart honestly say its one of the best holidays that we have had!!! We was made to feel very welcome by all the staff as soon as we arrived. The apartments are well looked after and a clean complex the caretaker was a very hard working man!! The weather was brilliant and a great sea view. The food from the complex restaurant was amazing!! Never had a bad meal! We would all like to say a big massive Thank you to George, Spiros, Kelly and Nikos and all there family for making our holiday perfect and we will be booking for next year!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Just returned from a week here, and must say I have not been so relaxed and chilled on a holiday for a long time!.
Firstly every room has a fantastic sea view of the mountains and the beautiful rock structures.
The rooms are a good size, yes a little basic, but well equipped for a self catering holiday. However with so much available for eating cooking inside is a rarity. Many supermarkets available within a small walking distance.Good bathroom with great shower and no lack of hot water.
The pool area is well looked after but it's gem is the Aquarius bar and restaurant, which is open from 8am until well after midnight..The staff there were fantastic. Welcoming, friendly could not do enough for you.A good range of food, not Cordon Bleu but exactly what was needed.The stunning views across the Coast D'Amour is stunning.
Sidari itself is what you make of it!..To the north of the Island, it has a main strip of numerous restaurants & bars which you cannot walk the length of without being hassled to eat and drink..Lots of variety, but the endless hassle to see second rate tribute acts was wearing. This is common practice these days to entice you in, as with so many restaurants etc, the fight for the euro is always there. Each to their own whether it be in a traditional British pub...(???) to watch the football or have a pint of Guinness..(surely that is the reason to travel..to leave that far away at home!..not for me, you would have to drag me in one of those places!)
I am glad we went late September as the season was coming to a close, but all places still open, and the area quieter.
To be honest i would not even think about going in July/August as apart from the heat the area must be jam packed solid with tourists.
There is a little village style hamlet just outside the Kanali apartments which has ample places to eat rather than hitting the main strip. In fact this was much more comfortable to stroll around with no hassles.
There were plenty of excursions available, but do ask what the TOTAL amount is going to cost because the prices quoted do not include the "add ons"
We went on the boat trip to Albania which we thought for 22 euros each was good value as the information at the tour company said, "see the ancient monument and Roman ruins, get your passport stamped, indulge in the duty free goods..etc etc"
What they did not say was that as soon as you got on the boat there was another 10 euros each to pay "port tax". Then to go to the ancient ruins you needed to be on the tour which was another 20 euros each. If you did not do the tour you just were left at the Albanian port to fend for yourself for five hours, which there was not much to do and mostly closed.
There was no passport control for stamping of passports and the Duty Free was closed!
The tour was interesting and the salad buffet included for lunch (drinks extra) was ok, but at nearly £90 for two people not exactly value for money..
However you take your choice..etc
So the Kanali 9.9 out of 10...Sidari itself 6 out of 10...
Would I go back..yes more than likely and probably at the same time of year..We had blue skies every day, and a great temperature of 29/31..couldn't have been better!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We have been going to Sidari for almost 20 years and this is the first time at Kanali and I have to say its topped them all, the view was out of this world , I wanted to bottle it and take it home, waking up to the sunrise and the sound of the sea for a week made my holiday perfect, the staff and cleaners do a great job and we thank them all, I will most certainly stay again, the rooms are a good size and one of the best showers, an actual cubicle! brill, and perfect location away from the noisy town, perfect, Frank and Evelyn 20th-27th Sept 2013

Room Tip: Highest floor in middle is probably the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Kanali Apartments were one of the best self catering places I have ever stayed at.The whole complex was spotless ,our apartment was cleaned every day with fresh towels being left every other day. We took a kettle and hair dryer but didn't need them as they were supplied,they also supplied a toaster small cooker pots and pans and a small tea towel.The staff were so tuned in with their customers and could not do enough to make our holiday a special one.There is a lovely swimming pool and a wonderful little beach just below the apartments ,the sea was very warm with lots of little fish swimming around our feet!
There is a supermarket just a few minutes away with every thing you may need but the Kanali has a wonderful Resturant with amazing views and great food so you might decide not to bother to cook as the food is very good there.We will definitely be going back .Just watch out for the Mosquitos and take lots of sprays!

Room Tip: All rooms face the sea,but if yo don't like steps ask for ground floor rooms ,still a goos view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Great location , fab staff and the restaurant is one of the best in the areas!...rooms cleaned 3 times a week and bedding changed same. The air con isn't the strongest but still worth having and the entertainment nights are well worth it. Beds are very hard but this is the case of most hotels in Greece.
It is near the canal d'amour area which is ideal as far from the main strip of Sidari...which was my idea of hell!!..tacky and run down and pushy reps trying to get you in their bars and restaurants .The walk there involves a walk over the canal bridge which is dark green and stinks to high heaven!! and mosquito haven!! I got bitten and never ever do normally and few there were covered!!!.
We spent most of our time at the apartments in the peace and quiet. We were lucky to have room on the bottom floor so we had a few steps from the apartment to jump in the pool!.
All in all a good holiday and apartments are great just disappointed with Sidari.

Room Tip: All rooms are great loved our near the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicester
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed 9 - 17 September 2013

Perfectly placed right next to the Canal D'Amour and only a ten minute walk to the main strip in Sidari.

A few of the not so good things:

1. We arrived very early morning. Booked into the room without a problem.
Then they came; I was the main course for the mosquitos. Yep, I know they are a problem throughout Corfu and that's why I recommend an electrical mosquito thing that emits a scent that puts them off. It was 5 am or our arrival so no nearby shops open etc. Once we bought one it reduced the bites to only a few over the week. Cost €7.

2. Air con; Not powerful enough or cold enough. Room was only slightly cool and I still sweated over the night without covers. Cost €40.

3. (Minor point) It was out of peak season so there was only one night of entertainment. However step outside the hotel and there's a whole resort buzzing for you to choose from.

4. (Minor point) For those that like their TV there are only 3 channels and they're pretty crap.
Not that we cared as weren't in long enough. Too much to do.

Now the good and important stuff:

1. All the staff were excellent, always smiling, courteous and helpful.

2. Cleanliness of the hotel, rooms, restaurant and pool was spot on.

3. Restaurant wasn't over priced on food or drinks.

4. Our shower was hot and powerful. Just what was need after a adventurous day out and getting ready for the night.

5. Our room was cleaned every day with the linen and towels changed every other day.

6. The Rock Night!
A live band with talented musicians. Worth seeing even if you're not staying in the hotel. Best night of our holiday!

Recommendations:

1. Take a mosquito zapper if you are due to arrive early or if not get one as soon as you arrive.

2. Quad bike; We hired one for 3 days and toured the northern part of the island to see:
Sunset Beach, San Stefanos, St Georges Bay, Paleokastritsas, Roda, Kassiopi, Mount Pantokrator and Corfu Town to name a few.
We did this on roads, tracks, through woods, anything to see some stunning views.
Bike from Top Gear in Roda.
Cost €110 for a 350cc. (You may get it cheaper) Fuel €30

3. Baby wipes and dog/nappy bags if you don't like the smell from the toilet bin.

4. Sailing for 3 hours from the Yellow Boat Co, Sidari.
Visit beaches and areas that you wouldn't be able to get to.
Cost €70 for a 25bhp boat.

5. Go to The Rock Night!!

We had a great holiday because we saw other things that Northern Corfu has to offer.
A great base would be, and was for us, the Kanali Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kanali Hotel - Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanali Hotel - Apartments

Address: Canal d'Amour, Sidari 49081, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Sidari
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sidari
#2 Family Hotel in Sidari
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sidari
Number of rooms: 28
Also Known As:
Kanali Aparthotel Sidari
Kanali Aparthotel Hotel Sidari
Kanali Hotel - Apartments Sidari, Corfu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kanali Hotel - Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.