We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont stay here” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Alexia Palm Grove

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sidari
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alexia Palm Grove
Save
You added Alexia Palm Grove to your Saves list
Sidari 49081, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 43 Hotels in Sidari
Liverpool
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Dont stay here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

Arrived at 1 in the morning to be told that we were in room 3 the smell from the room was sewerage in the bathroom was disgusting the owners son told us this was the only room left we complained to his father who it was obvious they knew about they smell, contacted our cosmos rep who was great and dealt with they owners got us compensation and got us moved to the room that cosmos had booked us in the first place we were only there for a week but first 3 days were ruined, the owners are very smiley but are only interested in making money from people staying there, the husband tried to over charge us for the air con 20 euro for 3 days when his son had quoted us 5 euro a day, Sidari is a lovely part of Corfu but Palm Grove is not

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    21
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
18
13
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
dragonfist
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2009

As part of this review I have got to say that the people at the Alexia where very nice and always helpful so think this review in its negatives is not all their fault but obviously there are some things that could be changed for the better.

On first arriving we where welcomed with a cheery welcome and a help up to the aprartment with the bags from Spiros. They where aplogetic as they thought we where only a group of 4 and did not realise we where 5 (2 adults a children of 15,12 and 2) and to be honest we where too shattered to bother at that moment in time so we agreed we would sort it in the morning. In the morning we had a little agument over cot (who was going to foot the bill ! as we had booked as 5 with a child of 2) but by mid day the rep had it all sorted and a cot arrived and we put it down to an oversight.
Having stayed in Greece before we knew what to expect with facilities and found we had a two ring hob and an electric kettle (althought the two ring hob was sat on a four ring gas hob ,oven and grill which did not work!). This limited us somewhat cooking wise as it was either fried or boiled food. Most large meals we ate out anyway and found that The Ark and Valencia (small childrens play area here also!) two really great places to eat along with the Indian for take aways.We also heard that the Salt and Pepper was also good food but a bit pricier.For a good breakfast you cant beat Sea Breazes near the Town Centre and overlooking the beach.
I am a fit bloke and can run around 3 miles without a problem but found carrying a two year old up and down on my shoulders on a 20-25 min trek into town a bit of a chore in the heat and the road is extremely busy with no real footpath.I certainly did not feel safe walking along it and on one occasion saw a wing mirror miss my wife by an inch! There was no way I could let my 2 year old out of my clutches for a second while on the road and some nights were like being camped on the A59.
We had some Italian lads staying at the complex who thought it great fun to zoom up and down on motorbikes and quads while revving their engines in the early hours or chase girls around the pool (not on their bikes for that one thank God). I know a few people who complained about it but nothing seemed to be done, needless to say there was some quite sheepish moments when they emerged in the afternoons around the pool (especailly when they where shouted at after a near mutiny of Brits one morning! which still didnt work.)
We booked a few trips from the travel agents in town and saved £30 by shopping around on one trip alone for the 5 of us.The time keeping of the coaches for the trips is not always brill and expect them to be late by up to forty mins (after that ring them up !).

As I said the family at the Alexia Palm Grove where always happy to help but be expected to ask when you need something like loo roll or fresh towels as our room was only cleaned twice in 10 days and on one occasion my wife asked the cleaner if she was going to clean it (with kids the bedding gets dirty from their feet). The pool area was great and much better than those around but there was two pool parties in the space of the 10 days we stayed when we where decended upon by coach loads of young Slovenians whose antics you would not want the kids to see.
This would not be so bad if you spend the day out but this happened on our last day so we where basically skint prisoners watching from a balcony (our neighbours kindly lent to us while they where out) when instead our last day should have been enjoying the last rays of sun and the pool which we paid for.....bit of cross perposes here and this is where I think the Alexia needs to decide which market it is catering for becuase we for one family lost 2 days of a facility we paid for and had one good night of sleep(strangely enough our last night)!
Would we go back? In weighing up the good and bad we found more downsides so the answer would be no merely because we wanted something nearer to the shops, beach etc and could only relax when on trips or around the pool. Some people go on holiday to party and some to relax and I can respect both ways, its just a shame others cannot also.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

These apartments were very basic, but clean (although cleaners only empted the bins most days) , they were a bit too far out of town fo us, with a walk of 20 mins. The owners tried to be as helpful as possible.

The main problem was the noise- if anyone was in the bar at night the owner's son and girlfriend seemed to think it a good idea to crank up the volume from 2am onwards! Most nights we would get in aroud 1.30 am when the place was reasonably quiet, but by 2.30 the walls were vibrating and we were being tortured by karaoke.

To add to that, on 3 occasions during our break there were pool parties- 5 coachloads of Slovenian youths would arrive complete with mixing decks and take over the small pool area for 5 hours during the day. It was impossible for us to stay during these, as we didn't consider the raucous pool games suitable viewing for our 11 year old daughter. Even when they had left we couldn't use the pool until the next day as it was so dirtly we couldn't see the bottom.

These apts have potential, and could be very nice, but the owners need to decide party or family, they can't be both

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

A very nice clean basic self catering hotel. Very welcoming family and staff. Clean sheets and towels twice a week. The music was at times a little loud but went off at midnight. If the sub woofer was turned down all would be well. We would like to go back for another visit!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

i thought i would write this review ,as when i booked to stay here i wasnt happy with the reviews.
The hotel is excellent both for familys and couples,the owners are excellent especially spiros and iris they are lovely nothing is too much trouble.
It is about ten mins from centre but if too tired get a taxi back.
They dont play loud music till 6 am in the morning as previously stated.
All in all we had a great holidays and would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2008

we stayed at palm grove in june 2008 for two weeks had a fab time. the family are very friendly. rooms basic but spotless. we would definatly go back. very relaxing out the way of the hussle and bussle some excellent restuarants further into sidari.

  • Liked — the family where excellent
  • Disliked — nothing we both really enjoyed it
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2008

We stayed at the Palm Grove from 19th May for 1 week, it is a family run property and they are very friendly and helpful.
It is perfect for a chilled out holiday, the rooms are basic but very comfortable and clean, with maid service 6 days per week. The pool is excellent with a railed off shallow area for small children, there are plenty of sunbeds and also plenty of grassed areas to relax on. The bar is good it has full selection of drinks and also satellite TV and a pool table.
We had 2 rooms in a fantastic position over looking the pool area and with balconies that got the sun from morning until night. The nearest supermarket is about a 15 min walk and about a 20/25 min walk to the busy town centre with all the night life.
Sidari itself has something for everyone, bars, restuarants, night clubs etc. A 3 course set meal can be as little as 6 euros, the best restaurants are B.E.D or Sea Breezes, both serving excellent food. Transfers from the airport are about an hour.

  • Liked — Location, cleanliness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alexia Palm Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexia Palm Grove

Address: Sidari 49081, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Sidari
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 43 Hotels in Sidari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 72
Also Known As:
Alexia Palm Grove Hotel Sidari
Alexia Palm Grove Corfu
Alexia Palm Grove Sidari, Corfu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexia Palm Grove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.