We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab place amazing people, felt like family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ionian Blue Taverna

Ionian Blue Taverna
Melitsa, Sidari, Greece
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 68 Restaurants in Sidari
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Email: blue.skyh@otenet.gr, Tel: 26630-99277 Excellent greek taverna in Canal D'Amour region of Sidari, little known so would be great to spread the word!
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fab place amazing people, felt like family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

Amazing family restaurant where nothing is too much trouble, they were so lovely. They played with our son Charlie, The food was lovely home cooked and fresh. A true gem of a place

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    9
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alstonville
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

Family run Taverna on outskirts of Sidari, adjacent to our appartment (Polyxeni). Sam, Dianne and son Marco made us feel so welcome and spent a lot of time with us discussing the local area. The food was superb, atmosphere great and their hospitality amazing.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire, UK
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Friendly taverna, Excellent food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

We went here on a recommendation and loved it. It is a five minute walk past the Saxaphone bar in Canal d'amour, on a quite country road. The owners and waiters are all very friendly. We visited three times. Once as a couple and twice with our young girls. The souvlaki is very moist and tender.and the other meals we had were also lovely.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“ionian blue taverna the best meals i tried”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

I read the positive comments about this taverna before visiting Sidari and it lived up to it's brilliant reputation and more. I ended up visiting this taverna several times for lunch & dinner. It's a little further out of the centre of Sidari (about 10/15 minutes walk) and very worth knowing about! The owner is very friendly, the food was amazing and reasonably priced. I would really recommend a visit, very authentic Greece! From the centre/ busy part of Sidari if you walk over the bridge and then left up the main street, you'll eventually find this hidden gem on your right hand side next door to the Polyxeni hotel. Its worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Awful Food! Don't go there!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

We had spaghetti napoli for our two children and myself, as well as vine leaves. spinach pies, greek salad and olives. The spaghetti was a huge portion but the sauce looked very dark for tomato. We tasted it and it was inedible! Absolutely distgusting. We told the waiter who got the lady out to show us what the sauce contained. It was a yellow packet! It must have gone off but when they collected our plates and we said it was inedible they refused to give us a full refund. Instead they offered us one euro off each meal and then sensing we were unhappy offered us one euro fourty off each spaghetti. We should not have paid for these spaghettis atall! My two children left were left hungry and we had to go and buy them another meal elsewhere. Lovely surroundings but they cant serve packet sauces which have gone off and expect people to pay!!!!!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ionian Blue Taverna also viewed

 

Been to Ionian Blue Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ionian Blue Taverna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.