We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long wait, even though half empty” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Dorothea's Corner

Dorothea's Corner
On the Beach of Sidari, Sidari, Greece
Improve this listing
Ranked #64 of 68 Restaurants in Sidari
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Long wait, even though half empty”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We thought we would treat ourselves to a nice meal on the sea front, but what a dissapointment and hassle. After waiting well over an hour for our meals, we enquired when we could expect to be served, and was told "good food takes time". We then spotted the head waiter returning with a bag of shopping.The food arrived 15 minutes later, 2 meals were luke warm, 2 meals were not as ordered, with only one of the five correct. Needless to say we were not happy, and negotiated a heavy discount. The head waiter saying they couldn't cope as they were busier than expected for a Saturday night. I think he must have rose coloured specs, because it was only half full when I was sitting there, and I had plenty of time to look around as I was not out shopping for food! There are plenty of other restaurants in the area, so avoid this place unless you have a spare couple of hours and don't mind cold food that you didn't order.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    8
    4
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“What a great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Great food and hospitality, beautiful setting. Would highly recommend.One of the local car hire lady told us this restaurant was open and that it was well worth a visit. The service is professional and friendly and the food is amazing.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Tasty food & great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We ate here on our 1st night in Sidari & where most impressed. Great location on, beachfront, there where only 2 other tables occupied. I had one of the specials - sole & prawns in a curry type sauce. Hubby & kids had plated gyros - all where delicious. We didn't eat a desert so can't comment on them. The bread issue is neither here nor there really. We ate ours - it was lovely & fresh. The service was excellent & the complimentry Ouzos where very welcome.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Food was lovely, very reasonably priced. Location was right on the seafront which was lovely. Although their greek night was nowhere near as good as paradise restaurant

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“you dont get what you order !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

In a nice position on the quiet part of the beach, varied menu, higher than average prices & abrupt owner. I ordered anchovies as a starter but was served fried sardines, they were ok but2/3 euros less than the anchovies, when i pointed this out to the owner he tried to say that they were anchovies but i have had both on many occasions and know the difference, i was charged for anchovies all so i was charged 2 euros for bread which i neither ordered or eat (all other restaurants during our stay asked if we would like bread) The main course was from the specials board and we chose sole in fish sauce with potatoes and veg, but although very nice again the fish was not the advertised fish as it was to thick and to moist for sole,after the response we got for questioning the starter and the fact it was very tasty we did not complain. The wine was the most expensive we had and tasted medium/sweet although we ordered dry. on leaving the owner commented that the british are meat eaters and not used to fish, although i eat various fish around 3 times a week i decided to ignore the comment.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dorothea's Corner also viewed

 

Been to Dorothea's Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dorothea's Corner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.