We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Holiday!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palmar Apartments

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sidari
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Palmar Apartments
Save
You added Palmar Apartments to your Saves list
Sidari 49081, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 63 Specialty Lodging in Sidari
Birmingham
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Lovely Holiday!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

We booked the Corfu Palmar over a year ago as our main holiday for 2011 for 10 nights. The reviews were enough to encourage us and are in our favorite part of Sidari which is the Canal D'Amore area. We arrived early Saturday morning 3rd September and was shown to our room by the Thomas Cook Rep. There were tea and coffee making facilities and orange juice on the table so we could at least have a drink which was a nice touch. We were in a studio which was quite spacious for the two of us. There were twin beds which were pushed together. The kitchen area was big enough although there was a lack of utensils, my husband had to go and ask for 2 knives and there were no bowls for a cereal or for use in the microwave. The table on our balcony only had 3 legs and was wobbly so we had to wedge it up against the railings.We did mention this to Costas so he was aware so it could be replaced at some later date. The bathroom was very slippery when wet so you had to be very careful and we were a little dissapointed in the cleaner not sweeping the floors, as when you walked around without anything on your feet they ended up filthy!!. Maybe this is the reason they supplied you with a paper like pair of slippers for your feet on arrival. The shower curtain was mouldy around the bottom, and the hair dryer didn't work either. The good thing was the bins were emptied daily and the bed linen and towels were changed on a regular basis so overall it wasn't too bad. We had the aircon as it was far too hot without it and when we enquired about the cost we were told it was 10 euros a night, after saying we thought it was too expensive it was reduced to 8 euros a night. It might be worth asking for a discount if you are considering having it.. The pool at the Palmar is lovely and we never had to put a towel down to reserve a sunbed as there were always plenty. The bar area is a great place to enjoy a bite to eat and a relaxing drink. Costas and Spiros were great hosts and always made you welcome and never tried to rush you at the end of the night they knew you were on holiday and encouraged you to enjoy yourself.The Greek night was a real treat with some of the entertainment being supplied by the family themselves and we thoroughly enjoyed it and have made some new friends. The family make you very welcome and ensure you have a good holiday which we certainly did. We sampled Maria's cooking which was lovely and we ate out many times and never had a bad meal. The only thing I felt stopped me from giving this place a full 5 out of 5 was the small issues with the room, maybe a quick check now and again by the management would ensure things are always kept in full tip top condition.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    7
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
43
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

Spent two weeks here with my family in August after reading the excellent reviews.
On arrival we were greeted by Spiros who was polite and friendly. He showed us to our room and it was nice to see that they had supplied us with some cake and a few bits and pieces to make drinks. We arrived in the middle of the night so we didn't look around, we went straight to bed.
The next morning we had a good look around the rooms. There really wasn't enough storage space for a family of four for two weeks. Drawers were very limited. There was a hair dryer but the kitchen area wasn't really set up for self catering. There was no oven, hardly any worktop and a toaster that was border line lethal! The cutlery and mugs have definitely seen better days and the shower curtain was very mouldy. The apartment did have a damp feel to it most of the time because we were on the ground floor so we couldn't leave doors/windows open to air it. The bathroom floor was always wet and slippery. We had twin beds pushed together in the bedroom and a sofa made into a bed and a camp bed which was absolutely awful. I really don't know how my daughter managed to sleep on it, she would have been better sleeping on a lilo! The cleaning lady was brilliant, emptied the bins daily, changed the towels every 2 days and sheets every 3.
Next we went to our welcome meeting while the kids enjoyed the pool. We were shocked to find the cost of air conditioning was 12 euros a day which worked out very costly for two weeks. The pool area is lovely. It very rarely got busy and was always clean. Same with the bar area. We did need to put towels out early to ensure we got sun loungers together. The Hotel is on a fairly busy road but didn't really bother us.
We ate there a couple of times and the food was nice. Maria works extremely hard and was always friendly.
The biggest mistake we made was turning down the Greek night. After that we were not treated the same by Evie. She hardly spoke to us and made us feel really uncomfortable whenever we saw her. It was no offence to the hotel that we turned it down, it just isn't our sort of thing.
There was, on some nights, quite a lot of noise late into the evening. Loud music, the owners children playing outside the apartment until early hours of the morning and some groups of drunken teenagers making noise. Didn't bother us too much but people with younger children or older couples may want to consider this.
Spiros and Costas were very nice and there children are all lovely and the two youngest girls kept us very entertained on our final night with there singing and dancing.
We did enjoy our time and wish there had been no Greek night then we might not have been outcasts. If we return to Sidari, it won't be to this hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derby
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

fantastic place to stay , went with 4 grown up sons and girlfriends , and neighbours with their 2 teenage boys . fun for everyone . great family running the apartments , tastiest food in corfu , thanx to maria .will def go back next year

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Had a fantastic holiday here nothing was too much trouble for them. I cried too when I left the family were so lovely to us!!
Apartments very clean & spacious best I have stayed in in Greece. Food fantastic.Drink fab too & very reasonable gorgeous dry white wine!!!!
Visiting Sidari again in Sept but Palmar booked up Boo Hoo so having to stay somewhere else I will certainly be eating & drinking at The Palmar though .
See you in the bar 12th Sept Evie!!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

BEST HOLIDAY I’VE EVER HAD - I CRIED AS I DID NOT WANT TO LEAVE.

Just got back from a 2 week stay at the Corfu Palmar apartments in Sidari
(July 8th to 22nd 2011). Me and my boyfriend booked this holiday purely by the reviews placed on trip advisor, and we are so pleased that we did, as its been the best holiday we’ve ever had.

When we got off the coach we were met by Spiros who then showed us to our room, which was immaculately clean and surprisingly quite large for a studio.
The air con for a studio if you wanted it was 8 euro a day, not bad as I really needed it for when drying my hair, far too hot without it girls.

The hotel is about a 5 min walk along to a small trip of bars & restaurants, then over a little hump bridge & a further 5 min walk passed the 3 little Pigs onto the main strip of bar’s the likes of Madison’s / Bed-bar & loads more restaurants,
too many to mention. If your into Tribute Acts there was loads, some of them were Take That, Lady GaGa, Abba, Michael Jackson, to name a few, also pub quizzes, comedians, Drag-queen acts you name it Sidari seem to have it
great for Couples and families.

I’ve been to Greece before but never sampled the authentic greek food, we could not get enough of it, main meals about 6 – 8 Euros, & massive portions, Mama-Maria’s cooking at the Palmar was lush, as other reviews have stated all home made to perfection.

While we were there Costas & Spiros organised a Greek night with BBQ and greek dancers, who then got everyone involved in the dancing around the pool &, doing the conga along the pool area, really good fun for all, Costas & Spiros were also greek dancing around fire, with Costas Wife Eveie & their 2 girls also joining in with greek dancing, best night ever ! It was a real family atmosphere.
I think we were still up drinking around the bar at 4-5am that night I think that’s when I got my new nickname Cinzano ! which Costas called me for the rest of my stay (Yamas For that Costas but I loved it).

I have always stayed at big hotels, and you never seem to see the same face twice, Not here though as we met some lovely couples, everyone who was staying there strangely always seem to meet back up at the bar about the same time as the atmosphere at the bar was brill, we always seemed to end up drinking with the same couples every night, also Costas & Spiros kept us laughing all the time, the banter that these 2 brothers have between them
makes you forget to go to bed on a night, Oh and on a few occasions everyone seem to end up in the pool in the wee hours of the morning, really good fun.

Quite a few of the guests were return visitors which says a lot for the hotel, now we know why they keep returning, as we cant wait to get back ourselves, I’ve never said that I would go back to the same hotel to repeat a holiday but I would at this one. The bar area must be one of the posh’est I’ve seen in any hotel, very modern & the pool area is always kept immaculate. Costas & Spiros say they are always thinking of new ways to improve the hotel year after year.

You little bugas Costas & Spiros, as you got me crying on the last night as I did not want to leave.

Miss you all at Palmar & can’t wait to come back.

Cinzano
xxx

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcatle
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Have stayed here twice & have booked up for next year. The whole family make you feel so welcome.

The apartments & studios are nice & clean, pool area also nice & clean, with it being a small friendly hotel there are always enough sun-beds.

The greek night is a brill night, ended up doing the conga round the pool & a few people ended up in the pool for a midnight swim, so much fun.

Spiros & Costas mainly run the bar with Evie Costa's wife helping out, Maria their mam does the cooking & what amazing food she cooks, her Lamb Kleftiko YUMMMMY just absolutley delicious.

I am totally dumbfounded that anyone could give this place a bad review!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

We have just returned from the Pal Mar apts and i have to say everything was second to none . My son and his fiance have been twice and last year saw a wedding there and decided to get married at the apts.Spiros,Costos Maria and Evie did everytthing they could to make it a special day, as it was it was a special week. forty friends and family came and every last one of them had a fantastic time. Spiros ,Costos and their family could not do enough . The apts are spotless the food exellent, the atmosphere is amazing , you feel like part of the family as soon as you arrive. My wife and myself normaly do not return to the same place but this time we will be going back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palmar Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmar Apartments

Address: Sidari 49081, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Sidari
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 63 Specialty Lodging in Sidari
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Palmar Apartments Hotel Sidari
Palmar Apartments Sidari, Corfu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palmar Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.