We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT RECOMMENDED AT ALL” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Takis Apartments

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sidari
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Takis Apartments
Save
You added Takis Apartments to your Saves list
Sidari, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 63 Specialty Lodging in Sidari
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“NOT RECOMMENDED AT ALL”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Honestly the worst stay of my life and i have stayed in a 2* before and this should clearly be a 1 the customer service was shockingly bad not getting me started on the organisation and proffesioniality of the owner Effie and her husband Takis was tremendously disgraceful there is no reception desk available so when we arrived at 4:30 in the morning we were left feeling abandoned and lost as there was nobody to greet us and no signs indicating where the owners lived. The state of the hotel left my skin crawling and my friends resulting in tears we spent the night 4 people on 2 single beds as it was the cleanest part of the hotel. Sidari is a great place to stay but you should go up the road and stay in Christakis hotel where it is warm welcoming and will make your stay greater as the owner is delightful and a pleasure to be around. I could not say the same for Takis hotel where we were ignored,talked about, lied to and left constantly feeling negative vibes which made our stay very uncomfortable so we spent most of our time away from the hotel as we felt unwanted. I would never recommend this hotel for anyone to stay in as your smallest expectation will not at all be met.
DONT STAY HERE!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    32
    6
    6
    6
See reviews for
30
27
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Andover, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Takis Apartments
These apartments are perfect if, like my boyfriend and I, you aren't after luxury but just need a week to relax in the sun! We booked last minute and got a very cheap deal, so we knew it would be basic, but it was everything we needed - clean, excellent pool and close to all the amenities. Our apartment had twin single beds, a kitchen (microwave/toaster/crockery/hob/fridge) and small bathroom, with a balcony area. The bathroom was clean (although you can't get away from the fact that in Greece you can't flush loo roll!), and, again typical of Greece, the bathroom gets quite wet when showering and the shower head isn't fixed, but we did not find this a problem at all. Similarly, the bedroom was fine (bed's hard, but not unusual!) and we purchased air conditioning at 5 Euro per night. The complex is small and excellent - no competition for sunbeds, we used to go down at about 10:30am and we were the first there. Dimitri and his wife are very welcoming and friendly, and are on hand throughout the day to serve drinks and bar food. Two slight problems to mention for an honest review, we were in Apartment 3, which can get a bit noisy at night as it is right next to the bar - luckily we usually fall asleep to the telly, so noise doesn't bother us, but I am sure it would others. And sadly, we were overtaken by hundreds of ants on our last day - the hallway, kitchen and bathroom were covered, this was strange as we didn't have any food there for the duration of our stay! We let the owners know twice but they didn't seem bothered, and in the end we bought some spray and mopped up the mess ourselves as we wanted to get ready for our last night there. A bit disappointing as we didn't really want to do this on the last day - but I am sure this would be a one off, and our ground floor location must have contributed - please don't let this put you off Takis as overall it was perfect, and I wouldn't have wanted to stay elsewhere, but just want to be completely honest! I think that's about it for the actual complex, but do ask if you have any questions!

Location
The apartments are in the perfect location, 5 minutes in one direction will take you to the main strip of bars, restaurants and shops, and 5 minutes in the other direction takes you to the beautiful Canal D'Amour area, with more bars, restaurants and shops. The beach stretches right along between each area, so again you are 5 minutes away from here. This was perfect for us, as we like to try somewhere different for dinner each night and enjoy a walk along the beach before a few cocktails! Restaurants we recommend: La Strata in the Canal D'Amour area, and towards the livelier side, beachfront restaurants: Calypso or Greek Village. For cocktails with a laid back feel try Mojito - lovely staff in the perfect location overlooking the beach!

Sidari
I would recommend Sidari to young couples, families with children and even groups of friends who want some lively bars which aren't quite Kavos! Basically, it has something for everyone. It is around 2.5 hours from Gatwick, and around a 1.5 hour transfer, depending on the drop offs! Plenty of lovely bars and restaurants to choose from - though one thing that put us off personally, was the English PR staff who stand along the main strip to try and entice you into the Bars/Restaurants. The Greeks are friendly in their manner, but the English come back at you with snide comments if you don't fancy their place, which we didn't appreciate! We knew we wanted to eat on the beach side anyway, so we learnt to walk along on the beach, where you can read all of the restaurants menus in peace and select the one you like the look of best! The beaches are excellent, as I mention, one long beach, but also lots of pretty coves over towards Canal D'Amour. Lots of watersports available on the main beach, and pedalo's - which we took out for an hour! The beach also has lovely views over to Albania. It was very hot whilst we were there, they were experiencing a heat wave which was tipping temperatures well into the 40's (celcius)!! Corfu is a lovely island, and whilst we didn't take any excursions (we just needed a week to laze in the heat!), it seems there is plenty to keep you occupied from exploring the towns and spectacular views to Aqualand and boat trips. Final tip - don't forget mosquito deterrents - we used spray each evening and kept our room closed up constantly and managed to avoid the bites which some people were getting in the hundreds!

Summary:
Sidari, and Corfu, is the perfect location for a week in the sun, Takis Aparments provide the perfect location for a no frills break, and I would recommend anyone to holiday there! I would go back to Takis, however we prefer to try somewhere new each year! Olympic Holidays looked after us well, taking care of check in/excursions/transfers - and I would recommend sunmaster.co.uk for booking good value on a last minute basis!

As I mention in the title - there seems to be two Takis Apartments in Sidari - so please look at my images to ensure this is the one you are after. Our holiday was through Olympic Holidays, so these apartments are found on their website (not the Takis on Thomas Cook!)

I hope that is helpful, and do let me know if you have any questions!

Room Tip: Avoid Apartment 3 if you need peace and quiet - I would probably recommend a top floor room elsewher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

Holiday was relatively cheap, so we didn't have high expectations. HOWEVER!! After a 3 hour transfer we get there at early hours of the morning.. It's dark, misty and completely desolate so as six girls we just wanted to get into the rooms and sleep.. There was nobody anywhere to be found.. We waited half an hour or so and decided to walk up the road carrying all our luggage to ask another hotel if they were aware as to why nobody was there.. He was no help so we walked back down.. After an hour or so of waiting we began calling out 'YOU HAVE CUSTOMERS' and still nothing.. Eventually after who knows how long an English lady came out and showed us where Effi stays so we knocked on her room.. She ignored us for ages so we banged on her door as its obvious she has been hearing us.. She eventually comes to the window and tells us were not on the hotels list and that she has no rooms for us.. At this point I'm sure you can imagine how we were feeling.. For one of the girls this was her first ever holiday and she was scared and in tears.. She EVENTUALLY gets out of bed and walks us to the bar and showed us her books and kept telling us we weren't staying here.. We showed her our tickets/hotel vouchers/receipts the lot!!! She said she wasnt paid.. So whether she was lying and trying toget more money out of us we werent sure but we weren't having it!! She led us to two rooms and left us and went back to bed.. Now the rooms... DIRTY, dead bugs all over the sheets, cobwebs everywhere.. Dirt all over the bathroom.. And you get ONE ROLL OF TOILET PAPER PER ROOM then you have to pay for the rest.. She made the cleaner clean it the next day who tried to blame us for the dirt and claimed it wasn't dirty.. The cleaner was very rude and made it clear she hated her job! They had the cheek to complain at us on the second night for closing our doors too loud bearing in mind they creak extremely loud anyway.. Yet the night before she had us waiting hours in the dark shouting and making out she didn't hear us.. TALK ABOUT SELECTIVE HEARING.. The day before our last day we asked about keeping the room until our transfer comes and she said well discuss it on the last day.. 11:55am on our final day she knocks on our apartment and screams at us telling us we have 5 minutes to leave the hotel or she is putting our suitcases outside with all our stuff and phoning the police. We are a group of 6 girls, a little loud at times well admit but we are not disrespectful or rude and we got along quite well with the other customers... So we know there was no need for her to shout at us this way.. After keeping us waiting on the first night and putting us through all that and she can't even let us keep the rooms for a little longer? Completely out of order. DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!!! WORST SERVICE I HAVE EVER EXPERIENCED. And because we didnt have time to tidy up due to our 5 minute warning.. The cleaner grabbed one of the the girls and tried to drag her back into the room and she was trying to give us Our rubbish back to take with us.. REALLY????? On our last day we had to find a hotel who will let us out our bags in.. CRISTAKIS up the road was amazing!! We stayed with him for our last day and wished we spent our whole holiday there!!! Food and service was amazing.. They loved their work which makes you love staying here... DON'T STAY AT EFFIS HELL HOLE!!!!! SHE AND HER CLEANER ARE FULL OF HATE AND THEY MAKE IT COME ACROSS VERY CLEAR.. Not the service you want.. :) enjoy your holiday to Sidari though... Amazing place!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

I went to Takis in June 2011 and we absolutely loved it!
Effie and Takis are very nice owners. The place is clean and basic, but that's what you need, as really you only sleep there.
Food and drinks are very cheap, so if you want to stay in the hotel the whole time, you can. Effie is also cooking her special dishes if you asked for them.
Lovely place to stay!
Would go back and recommend to friends.

Room Tip: Number 2 is very spacious, as has two double bedrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coventry uk
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

ive been to takis appartments 3 times now and find them to be clean and tidy. run by effy and takis and family they make you feel part of the family and will go out of their way to make you enjoy your holiday.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

When we arrived at the appartments we were sure that there must have been a mistake.
The place was tired and old. The WC was so small that i had to sit on the toilet at a 45 degree angle as the door was so close. There were the remains of a moskito smered accross the bedroom wall (just after feeding time and that little bug must have been hungry!) it looked like something from a horror movie!

The cocktail menu at the bar is just for looks, the old lady that runs the show does not know how to make any of them!

Another couple that stayed in the apartment beind ours tried to move to a different hotel, they got shouted at and abused by the people running Takis becasue they had gone to the rep instaid of the people at Takis.

Do not visit this place! there are much nicer places for not much more money!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

Have just returned from one week at the Takis Apartments. There seemingly are two apartment complexes in Sidari called Takis and the one this review refers to is run by Effie and her husband. Location and pool area of apartments are excellent. We had a studio apartment which was very basic but would not say clean. Had to ask for clean towels during the course of the week. Cleaner had a very haphazard way of doing what could be only termed as 'a quick flick over' the apartment. Did not see her brush or mop down the floor once when we stayed. If staying here take antibacterial wipes to clean down everything. The sheets on the beds were grey and see through - again these were never changed during the week. Not of an acceptable standard. If spending money on food and drinks at the complex then owners quite happy - but dont get on the wrong side of Effie - would not make for a happy holiday!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Takis Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Takis Apartments

Address: Sidari, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Sidari
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 63 Specialty Lodging in Sidari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Takis Apartments Hotel Sidari
Takis Apartments Sidari, Corfu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Takis Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.