We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very friendly family owned appartments in quiet location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Haroula Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Haroula Apartments to your Saves list
Haroula Apartments
| Sidari, Sidari 49801, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 43 Hotels in Sidari
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“very friendly family owned appartments in quiet location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

family oriented appartments. ,Clean with a good selection of amenities in your room, cooker, tv,toaster, kettle, safe and air conditioning to mention a few, You will be well looked after by very friendly and helpful staff. Snacks, meals and drinks are available all day with specials on the board, Sunday roasts and special evening events like barbaque nights, \the pool is clean and a good size for the number of appartments with seats, tables, umberellas and loungers all available. A childrens pool and play area is also available.
The location is about a 5 minute drive to the beaches and shopping strip, A small mini market is a short walk along the road. A taxi is 5 euro from the appartments to the beaches but I would recommend car hire.You can now book the rooms direct with the hotel and get a cheap no frills flight from several airlines that fly out of many UK airports to corfu.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    7
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
21
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

We've had an excellent holiday at the Haroula. Dimitris and Makis are great hosts, they are both friendly and helpful and also great fun. They are helped by the whole family who are all friendly and nice. There are about a dozen or so apartments/studio's which are all set around the pool; everyone mixed in and got to know each other which made it very sociable. The apartments are spacious and well furnished, a maid comes in every day, towels and sheets are changed frequently. The pool is a good size, it is clean and safe and perfect for children, there is also a small baby pool. The area around the pool is clean and well maintained with plenty of sun loungers. There is a bar area which serves a good choice of drinks at reasonable prices. You can also order cooked breakfast, snacks and evening meals. The mousaka we had on our first evening was home-made and absolutely delicious. The apartments are about a half-hour walk from the main part of Sidari. We hired a small car; online for 20 Euros a day picked up from Corfu airport - Thomson transfers are £20 each! The hire car was a great idea, we could get into Sidari easily for meals out and shopping; we also got to see Corfu which is absolutely stunning. We visited St. Georges Beach, Palakastritza, Bella Vista and saw much of the NW of the island. The roads are well surfaced but narrow and the verges can be ditched or lead down cliffs so a small car is best. Sidari is clearly struggling at the moment, many of the restaurants were almost empty, there are many which offer set menu's for 7 to 8 Euros and you get three courses. All the meals we had were good quality and value with the exception of one at Dorothea's corner which was poor. Dimitris and his cousin George work at Memories, which is owned by the family; the food was very good and George is a brilliant dancer, you get a fantastic view at the back over the beach and sea to the Albanian mountains. When you compare the cost of food and basics in the supermarkets with the price in restaurants you realise that many places are just keeping their heads above water, if that. If you are a family that wants a relaxing, holiday then the Haroula is perfect; especially if you rent a car.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2009

We have just returned from a lovely holiday at the Haroula Apartments in Sidari on 5th September 2009. I cant complain as Greece is known for laid back basics and you pay for what you get. However on this occasion I felt this hotel was over priced but under rated. The hotel is rated as a 2T by Thompson but I would at least expect it to be a 3T, then the price would also reflect this. People are put off by ratings from the holiday brochures but you can only review it when you take a holiday yourselves. I have nothing bad this hotel, the family Dimitri, Maki, Mama, Papa and Georgia, where the most friendly welcoming people I have met and they would bend over backwards for you. If something was wrong they would fix it, there was not a rep present at the hotel only on the welcoming day, but you didnt need her because an issue presented was always resolved by the family. The rooms are basic most sleep 4 with 2 bedrooms, kitchen, bathroom and patio area and as many pillows as you want. They are really clean, maid service 6 times a week, towels changed 2-3 times but if you wanted them changed more you just asked and they obliged, sheets once a week again if more you could have them. Hot water takes a while to come through you need to run it a good 5 minutes and then its boiling. Food is lovely here and yes you can get it cheaper down town but certainly not the portions or the real quality meat which is from the butcher just down the road, and mama's chickens. Food is no more expensive then down town, meals cost on average the same. Beer is a little more e2.50 compared to some down town at e2.00, and spirits are e3.50 compared to down town at e3.00 but the size of the G&T or Vokda and Cokes are to die for, Maki is the spirit size king. I felt deflated down town with the drink feeling as if no gin was in it, so trekked back for a real drink. Food here is lovely Mama's chicken, and Steak with mushrooms and onions lovely. Mama makes her own lasagne, and Mousakka which is nice., most things are cooked fresh so you wait a while to be served but I think that in its own rights is worth it as down town a lot comes out of the freezer as frozen food. Down town toasties are toasties two flat pieces of bread with a filling, Haroula is Uncut fresh bread and Baquette Melties. These people make you feel special they have so much respect for the British, they ring for taxi's which are e5.00 to get down town. If you cant get home, just ring them and they pick you up. Their knowledge of the island is excellent and they tell you who to book with for car hire, scooter hire and excursion, whose most reliable, cheaper etc. The hotel is a distance from down town about 2.4 kilometre, and took us about 20 mins walk, so if you are not one for walking then the taxi is for you. You can hire bikes down town (push bikes) all week for little money and keep them at the hotel great way to get around. Cars from as little as e20 a day or cheaper for week deal. Places to eat down town are Bavia so traditionally greek and just out of the town, Salt n Pepper, Red Lion Pub, Dimitri's, and lots of others. Excursions Thompson exclusive pricey but worth it, Theo's Boat and BBQ trip, we died with laughter, be careful though as he is very out spoken, more adult based but does have water fights with the kids. Blue Lagoon, East Coast Cruise, Corfu at night, Catamaran, Glass boat trip, do these down town far cheaper than Thompson and can be purchased opposite the three brothers hotel from a booking centre we used and really looked after you. This was our second trip to Corfu our first at the Haroula but we will be going back as we have never received such excellent hospitality. If you want to be left alone, you are if you want to make friends you can, if you want to know anything just ask. Cant fault it, basic, but clean, friendly, and oozes with personality.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2009

I come every other year and i must say that this family owned place is not only hospitable but the perfect place to stay for any getaway .Everyone is extreamly freindly wheather its the staff or your fellow neighbors. The location is ideallllll, literally 5 minutes away from Sidari with a motor bike and honestly ur on an island guys, you should rent a motor bike. .....theres so much to see and really its not expensive...... you dont want to stay right in the heart of sidari cause it gets out of control sometimes......alot of fun yes but then you do want some quite when its time for bed .....trust me!
The apartments are extreamly clean and have all the necessities that you need ...... a beautiful pool with great lounge chairs for sunbaithing .. The food is delicious and the service is phenomenal ......when i say phenamenal i mean that .....im not being generious with my overall ratings either....as long as your not looking forthe Plaza , you ll be very happy ..
I seriously hope that whoever reads this review take it into consideration , i never write reviews but i felt that this one deserved one and that all these other reviews gave no justice . So.. if you plan on staying by sidari this would be the perfect place to stay
Have fun and Enjoyy!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, Wales UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

My husband and I spent a week in these apartments, supposedly 2*.(The 1* in St George's South, Corfu was nicer). We came as a couple and were not really interested in making friends, so we kept a lot to ourselves. If you are a couple or family looking for friendship and companienship on a holiday, this is your place. It is 2.4km (40min walk)out of town and you can spend all your time beside the pool with the bees and wasps. You can eat on site, which is much more expensive than in town.

The rooms were ok, the beds as hard as rock, but ok. The kitchen had a rusted stove, so we did not enjoy cooking on there. As for the bathroom.......the warm water took 10-15min to heat up and the toilet roll kept on falling on the floor. The accessories were very basic and cheap. We did not watch TV, since it was a mission. The TV was tied down in the kitchen, so we could not move it to the bedroom. We would have had to sit on the stairs with our heads tilted to see the screen, it was so high. We rented a fan for 6 nights for EU 10 - not too bad. Make sure you cover up in mosquito spray as the sun sets.

The bar stayed open from 9am till late - so if you don't take part in Kareoke, be prepared to hear howling/screeching noises till 1am. Taxis cost EU 5 to Sidari. Also, on the Haroula menu, if it says 'special for 2 burgers', it does not mean 2 burgers - it means one double burger. Ask exactly how you will be getting your food. A full English breakfast in town costs EU 2.80 (no coffee/tea included!).

In town, the shop owners are very rude, never greet nor smile (the south is much nicer). The food is good and reasonable - we paid EU2 for a chicken gyros for lunch, absolutely devine. The beers are usually EU 2-3. If you want to do any excursions, go with the red coach or any other tour operator, BUT not with UK tour operators, their prices are 3-4 times more expensive (seriously). Book in town, they are well worth it. Especially the East Coast Boat Cruise and the Paleokastritsa Coach Tour. We ususally rent a scooter on Corfu, BUT not in Sidari. They drive like crazy people (80km/hour on side roads) and there are so many potholes or poles sticking up a few cm in the pavement. If you are walking from Haroula into town, be VERY careful of the cars and scooters, you might have to dive into the ditch on the side of the road.

We had a great time, since we did not spend much time in our flat. We either went to the beach each day or on tour every odd day. We did our own thing. But next year we will be back in the south of Corfu - where people actually smile and enjoy life!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preston
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2008

Basic greek style holiday accomadation mainly 2 bed apts run by a friendly family. Thomson say it,s a 20 min stroll out of sidari BUT they don,t say that you have to walk down a very busy 2 car wide country road with no pavements and ditches on each side, not good for those who are hard of hearing or not good on their legs the other alternative is taxi and at 5 euros per trip this can add to the holiday cost , as all the resturants and shops are in sidari you have to make the trip. Sidari is a tired holiday spot in corfu its hardly worth the effort to go there

  • Liked — frendliness of staff
  • Disliked — remotness to nearest resort
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2008

I have just returned from a week at the Haroula apartments.
They are located a fair way out of Sidari. It is a good 30 minutes walk to the centre or a short 5 Euro taxi ride.
Don’t let this put you off staying here. It is in peaceful countryside location. There are only 14 rooms with 4 beds (I think) in each. The rooms are basic but adequate. Ours had a twin room upstairs and one down, a small bathroom (Shower only) and a mall kitchenette/dining area. This had a fridge microwave, oven hobs, kettle, toaster and a large fast fan. There was also a small TV which we never used. On the stairs there is an air conditioning unit which again we never used. There is a free safe for you to use.
Outside there is a nice pool with sun beds. There is a bar/dining area adjacent to the pool area which serves drinks and food all day (no food from 15:00 to 18:00). It has a large screen TV with Sky. It is a family run business each of whom are very friendly and go out of their way to make you welcome.
Due to the small amount of people staying here everyone spoke to each other and seemed to get on well.
I would recommend the Haroula to anyone wanting a simple peaceful break. Again I reiterate don’t let the distance from Sidari put you off the place.

  • Liked — Friendliness of the owners
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Haroula Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haroula Apartments

Address: | Sidari, Sidari 49801, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Sidari
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Sidari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Haroula Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haroula Apartments Sidari, Corfu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haroula Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.