We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, but the food let it down.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Old School House

The Old School House
Harbor, Kassiopi, Greece
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 48 restaurants in Kassiopi
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
yorkshirehardys
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good Location, but the food let it down.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

With views overlooking the harbour it looked like the ideal restaurant. The starters were okay, spicy baked feta cheese and cheese saganaki which was very salty. My husband ordered Kelfiko for his main which is usually lamb that falls from the bone and is so juicy and tender. Unfortunately his was very tough and we doubted that it was lamb at all. I ordered a corfu speciality of Sorfito which lacked flavour. It was pre-season and I understand it may not be possible to slow cook the lamb all day as required for the Kelfico. Staff seemed disinterested and never offered desserts or after dinner drinks. Wouldn't return.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

65% Recommend
    29
    25
    18
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Really nice staff and owners, worked really hard and were very plesant and accommodating.

Food was great and the specials were very cheap - fresh sea bass was amazing.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishguard, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“lovely setting down by the harbour-stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

although early in the season we ate here on 4 occasions the food was lovely well cooked and good sized portions ,the staff were very helpful and the prices were very reasonable ,would recommend this tavern to anybody.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, England
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Family run, good menu, well priced, open out of season.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Recommended by the owner of the apartment where we stayed and we were not disappointed. Not much was open at the beginning of April, but this place was, and we received a friendly welcome. Service was good, food well priced (mains in the region of 8 euros, Greek salad 4.50). Local wine was 4.50 for half a litre. Nicely decorated with an outside eating area when the sun is out, with harbour views.





bi

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

although set in a wonderful position i found the service and food very average by kassiopi standard all i can say is that it was ok

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old School House also viewed

 
Kassiopi, Corfu
Kassiopi, Corfu
 

Been to The Old School House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old School House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.