We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little Oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Henera

La Henera
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Juan De Ortega
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Henera
Calle La Iglesia, 4, 09199 San Juan De Ortega, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A little Oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

A beautiful stop off, in the middle of nowhere on The Camino de Santiago. The accommodation has clean bedrooms all with their own balconys, just a short distance from the local bar. The service was very good, for lunch and also for the evening meal, which was excellent. Best Black Pudding ever. JB/CB, Dublin

Room Tip: Make sure you book in time as it may be booked out
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Manuel P, Gerente at La Henera, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por su comentario. Esperamos haya tenido un buen Camino de Santiago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    8
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
3
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This is the only accomodation in the town of st juan de Ortega apart from the Albergue. To access the room you have to go to the bar in the village to register and get the key . The accomodation is very comfortable , clean and secure. There are two vending machines with coffee and snacks and a lounge in which to relax. The only place to get a hot meal is in the aforementioned bar, which has five/ six tables and gets very full, very quickly. The meals are very good value and very tasty. There is an interesting church and historical display but otherwise it is quite a sleepy town. I'd imagine it fills up pretty quickly in the peak season and so it would be advisable to book. If I had to stay in the area again I would go 3km further and stay in AGES, which is a little bigger and very pretty.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

La Henara is a lovely Casa Rural. All the rooms have nice balconies looking onto gardens. The rooms are clean and basic. However I had booked DBB. Dinner was pretty digusting. Unlike anywhere else I stayed in the region, this was a 2 course affair with no choice. I was served a plate of lettuce, tomato, cold pasta, a tinned tuna in pastry thing and 2 large pieces of black pudding. The whole thing was extremely unappetising. Dessert was a small tub of ice-cream or a yogurt. All table were sharing and wine was limited to one glass per person. The next morning breakfast was hanging on my bedroom door! It was a ham sandwich and a jar of OJ. The only coffee available was from a machine. Advise anyone to book room only and eat in the village restaurant or bring your own with you!

Room Tip: Room 5 and 10 have dual aspect which is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bountiful, Utah
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

My brother and I booked 2 rooms here during out pilgrimage trip through Spain. For starters, there is only coin operated Internet available in a kiosk outside the family owned bar. Even though a wireless signal is available, they won't even grant access to paying guests. Frankly, they were a bit hostile when asked about it by several guests. The biggest issue is the lack of facility to provide meals. We were told to arrive at the bar by 7PM to eat. First come, first serve. Their bar could only accommodate approx. 20 diners at a time. That would be fine if they didn't invite bus tours and other travelers nit staying at their inn to eat meals there. No priority was given to paying guests. Upon arriving at the specified time, we were given a waiting time of approx. 3 hours.
The most ridiculous part of the whole arrangement was that we went back to our rooms to wait, and found the next morning's breakfast hanging on our doors. They had made chorizo sandwiches, and packed one in each bag with a bottle of water and a bottle of juice. Ridiculous! Don't stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

A lovely resting place after a long hot day on the camino. The owners also own the one and only bar in the village - which does a fantastically popular cheap and hearty meal for the peregrinos. Accommodation very comfortable and good value.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Henera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Henera

Address: Calle La Iglesia, 4, 09199 San Juan De Ortega, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Burgos > San Juan De Ortega
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty lodging in San Juan De Ortega
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Henera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added La Henera to your Saves list